Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Orbitz
This hotel was good for us for one night. Located only 10 minutes walk from the square. Great rooftop terrace overlooking the city. This is more like a hostel, but definitely suited our needs. Very clean and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

no AC, noisy street

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Clean hotel, modern, nice staff
Cons: AC in the rooms
Location: Nice location close to the city center
The room was narrow and the inside room has no window, no AC, was hard to breath, when the window open the noise from the street was very strong, couldn't sleep
4 out of 5
by Patrick from london

great hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed the hotel so much we are already planning to come back, friendly staff,charming location, in 10 mns you can be in center lisbon shopping
4 out of 5
by Tim from Sheffield

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Good location. Top of steep hill though. Wi fi a bit dodgy. No hot water last morning. Lovely building and layout.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Great location , friendly and affordable

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: The location. The friendliness of the staff.
Cons: The water in the shower was hard to regulate to get a warm temperature (hot and cold not mixing well and sending shots of heat or cold too frequently)
Location: Excellent location to explore the non commercial downtown Lisbonne on foot. Close to street cars and tramway lines.
The hotel is very well located, on a hill, within walking distance to many areas of interest. It is small, does not have an elevator, and is old. The terrace offers a great view of Lisbonne. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple, but kept very clean, and the bathrooms are modern and clean too. Breakfast is additional , but we had plenty to eat for 5 euros. The neighborhood is very typical Portuguese, colorful and friendly, with cobbled sidewalks and streets. Several very small restaurants are further down the street and serve locals as much as tourists. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to experience Lisbonne fully.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay:)

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful staff, lots of restaurants to choose from, beautiful architecture!
4 out of 5
by Ann Marie from Wisconsin, USA

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice stay at Lavra. Note that reception opens at 8am (we arrived on an overnight bus and had to wait an hour) and there is no lift. The terrace is lovely and the wifi is specific to all floors (which is nice). Staff was very responsive to all our inquiries.
2 out of 5
by Jessica from Canada

Wouldn't recommend.

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel staff were available and could answer most questions. The hotel location was pretty terrible. It was hard to find and it was up a long steap, winding road so it took a long time to find and drag our bags up. There is no elevator so we had to carry our bags up and down 80 steps to our room and when we got there, our air conditioning wasn't working properly and there were no other rooms. I mainly rated this hotel low due to the lack of air conditioning and the less desirable neightborhood. On a plus, there was a nice view and it wasn't far from the major roads.
5 out of 5
by Nik from boston

Great choice

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to spend a week in Lisbon.
4 out of 5
by Katherine from Toronto, Canada

Great staff

Posted May 16, 2015 on Hotels
Lavra Guest House is very close to main tourist attractions so location is great. Though it's on a hilly street, we loved that there are restaurants and a convenience store just a few steps away. The bathroom is very spacious which is good, but perhaps add a bench or a small table so guests have a place to put toiletries on. The glass shelf by the sink didn't do much justice as it wasn't level so things kept falling off. Other than that, it's a good place to stay after a long day of doing touristy activities. Staff was very helpful!!! Myriam, Paulo, and Peter were all very accommodating!