Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

It was OK.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Staff, breakfast, history, common rooms.
Cons: Renovations in the bathrooms, improved heating.
Location: Right in the heart of downtown Sintra
The hotel was quite old in a charming way, but it also had an unrenovated 80's feel. The staff was great, and breakfast buffet was excellent. Location was excellent. The only downside was the lack of renovated bathroom, the coldness of the room and no hair conditioner! Overall, it was a pleasant stay but not worth the price of the room. The common rooms were beautiful, but that is not why we stayed there...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel built in 1764.

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is excellent and the breakfast is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor

Lovely historic hotel at a great location

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Lovely hotel, great room and breakfast, great service
Location: Perfect location in Sintra easily accessible to sites and transportation
Very attentive staff, excellent breakfast, exceptionally lovely room with personal terrace
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, but my stay was troublesome

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: 1. Big rooms 2. Very charming 3. Good breakfast including the coffee 4. Great cross breeze from Windows on cooler nights
Cons: 1. More parking or a better solution to what is already in place. 2. Better staff for when David is unavailable to help on bigger issues
Location: Castle of the Moors Pena Palace Exploring Sintra and its restaurants
Lawrence's hotel is very charming and quaint. My only complaints are that they: 1. First gave me a room with no working Air Conditioning. They told me to set it to 22C as that was their magic number to get it working. Far from the truth. 2. This room also had a bed as hard as a rock. Never in my life have I ever laid down on such a hard mattress. 3. The room was located in the front of the building, so when we opened the Windows to attempt to cool the room in 90F degree weather, we were woken up by motorcycle/scooters traveling. It was very very loud and made for a terrible first night. After we complained about the horrific room, they gladly put us in another called "Eden". This room was very nice and big. We especially liked the balcony over looking the wooded backside of the hotel. This would have changed my entire rating to 5 stars if it hadn't been for one more issue with the Hotel. 5. Parking. You should not be allowed to list that the hotel has available parking when it only means 2 spaces. Do you know how lucky you have to be to claim those 2 spaces in Sintra? Very! Their solution is to charge 20 Euro a night to park your car in the Garage, which you wont find out until you arrive there already with your rental car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the Lawrence's hotel for one night. It is a very nice boutique style hotel. The staff was great and the room was nice. We had a quiet, relaxed breakfast on a terrace facing a lush green scenery. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Enjoyed eating. very good location
Cons: -
Location: location excellent - walking distance to Palacio Nacional and Ribiero estate (5 mins to each)
Excellent. Very helpful staff. Really good location and good food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel but breakfast not recommended

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was excellent, what a great hotel and room (we stayed at a suite). The breakfast goes on till 10:30am, but when we arrived at 10am, the breakfast buffet table was near empty. No worries, we asked for some basics such as eggs and mushrooms and juice, but it took them over half an hour and several requests to arrive. This is the peak of tourist season, with guests coming in throughout the 30 minutes after we sat down; breakfast table should be replendished quicker and service needs to be more attentive to fit the bill of a 5-star hotel.
5 out of 5
by ChrIstine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jessica from Markham

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
What a wonderful place with great history! I particularly enjoyed the breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central location, character hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2016 on Wotif
Very central location, cute character filled hotel. Very well priced for location and comfort, beautiful building. Definitely not 5 star more 3 star, but prices are very reasonable, would stay again and recommend for a 1 night stay. Only negative,mattress very hard and pillows small and terrible and the outdoor terrace was not maintained, weeds and not kept.