Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall UK

Elegant Hotel With Great View Over The Tagus

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The Staff.
Cons: A/C and coffee. Also, the drapes/curtains are horrendous!
Location: On a hill overlooking the Tagus River. Concierge recommended small Portugese restaurant a walk away. Fish to die for!
Wife and self stayed for 3 nights. Excellent hotel with well trained multi-lingual staff. Facilities as one would expect from a 5* property. Comfortable, spacious room and good bathroom. Air conditioning somewhat archaic, but adequate. Restaurant a little sterile, but food and service excellent; personally dislike piped music! Why? Breakfast buffet first rate, albeit coffee needs attention. Bar snacks really good and Barmen efficient and helpful, as were the various Reception/Concierge staff. Overall, a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at this well run hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A gem of a hotel on a hill overlooking the sea

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The calm and style
Location: On the hill overlooking the old city - easy to get everywhere in a short taxi ride
Warm reception at this small but luxurious hotel. The hotel has a character of its own and has been finished in a portugese style with blue and yellow tiles. It is built on a hill with reception on floor 4 and then terraces down to a garden with a lovely pool. It is set in a central but peaceful residential area. It has a bar and terrace overlooking the garden where a pianist entertains guests in the evening. I had stayed for business and decided I would like to return. My wife and I were there for a three day break and it was perfect. The staff looked after us well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Quiet location, fabulous food and very helpful staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Outstanding

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The hotel is worthy of the name "palace" and the service level outclasses most Ritz Carltons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Wonderful hotel, spacious rooms, very clean and comfortable. Very nice and cordial staff. Quiet and beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A Lovely, Friendly Hotel in need of investment

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location and size. Big enough to have all expected facilities; small enough to feel intimate.
Cons: Ban mobile phones from being used in the bar and terrace areas. They disturb the peace for everyone.
Location: In the 'Embassy' quarter, so quiet (apart from being near the flight path ... but so are many Lisbon hotels!) Time Out market easy walking distance.
The hotel is in a quiet part of Lisbon, not too far from the main shopping & 'exploring' parts of the City. It isn't too large, which gives a sense of intimacy, and the staff are generally very friendly. It could do with having a bit of money spent on it: the breakfast room chairs all felt like they needed re-upholstering, and the sound system in there sounded a bit like when an irritating neighbour has left the radio on in the garden! Audible but tinny. The AC in our room wasn't working properly, which would be a real problem in summer. We reported it, and were assured a maintenance man would fix it: but no one ever showed. The bedroom was comfortable with a lovely view of the river. Bathroom was huge, but with a pretty 'pokey' shower cubicle (the door didn't go down to the very bottom, so there would be a huge puddle after every shower: Daft!) We really enjoyed our stay, and would recommend this hotel to anyone, but it would have been better still with a bit of money being spent on it.
5 out of 5
by joaquin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Wonderful!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Great location, very helpful staff, very good restaurants and amazing garden. Had a very unexpected upgrade and a Birthday surprise! Overall, this is real 5 star service!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Nice hotel, great staff, great location.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Piano bar is great. Knowledgeable staff. Great location. Some of the decor is over the top. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Luxury hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016
I was really relaxed. If possible, I want coffee maker or boiling water machine.