Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

beautiful location

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Improve food quality, change the menu to a more traditional food, and tempt people to eat there by lowering the prices.
Location: Location is superb, beaches and history all around. Lisbon 30 minutes away and all of the tourist activities such as golf, tours,shopping etc close by
The location and surroundings were great, the rooms were good and the staff very helpful. However the quality of the food was poor, the lunch menus were very disappointing( unless you like burger and chips) and the price of both food and drink was ridiculous. We have never had any issues with paying good money for quality, but this was not. We felt that the whole business model of the hotel was to trap you into pay,pay,pay. Fortunately for us we had already organised a hire car which meant we could stay away from the hotel for lunch and dinner, plus experience the truly beautiful and historic country, and the fantastic people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Great staff, great food, lovely experience

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Really enjoyed the golf course- great way to start the day.
We stayed at Penha Longa only one night, but it was a fantastic one. From the second we got onto the property, the staff were incredible, accommodating and responsive. We ate at the Italian restaurant that night and it was very good, with an impressive wine list. A very spacious, nice room and the grounds are very serene. The only drawback is that if you want to explore Sintra, you have to take a cab or car in to town as it's a bit more secluded/not walkable. That said, it's a golf resort so that's to be expected, and I would recommend this to anyone who wants to 'get away' and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with great amenities and staff

Posted May 12, 2017
Cons: Billing in the restaurant, increase in indoor pool timming.
Location: Amazing,just perfect!
Great Hotel and for sure one of the top three I have every seen in the world, great breakfast, great staff, great amenities, only billing in the restaurant by the pool was a big issue and was taking more than 30 minutes to get the bill, rooms are amazing and Golf experience is unforgettable! Would recommend to any one looking for the best hotel in Lisbon area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Most wonderful staff and beautiful property!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Property is a 10min taxi from main town. Best travelled my personal car or taxis. MUST VISIT Pena Palace and Quinta de Regaleria while in Sintra!
This is a Ritz Carlton property - well managed and cared for. Each staff member made an effort to make us feel welcome and cared for. Mariana, at the front desk, was especially wonderful and accommodating. She made our stay most special. We even stayed a second night, even though we had a paid-for hotel in Lisboa! Breakfast buffet was great. Dining options in hotel are expensive, but again - staff made the experience worth it (thank you Midori!)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UPPER MARLBORO, United States of America

Very very nice hotel, a memory i will cherish for

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Please to visit Kascia or Cashcia , a restaurant called o priscado
Am amazing hotel, one of the bet you can ever imagine, my best memory is the suspended pool over the mountain. A remarkable piece of architecture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great to place

Posted Oct 2, 2016
This is our 3rd time to stay there. As before the people and property were awesome. Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl

This is a Ritz Carlton property is excellent.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
You can't ask for more. Everyone bend over backwards to be helpful. This hotel has a beautiful golf course, five restaurants, spa, pool, and all amenities. Standard rooms are very large. It is in a short, easy drive to all make area attractions. I would recommend this hotel without reservation and I would stay there again without hesitation.