Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Splendid!

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Location, building, room comfort, breakfast ... but most of all the exquisite hospitality and care of the stuff.
Cons: Nothing ... too difficult to find something that could be improved ...
Location: Two minutes walking from Cascais train station and two minutes walking from the most picturesque part of the town. Plenty of restaurants all around.
Impeccably run by a team of lovely Portuguese ladies (all belonging to the same family), this wondrous BnB delivers a flawless, extremely comfortable, pleasant stay. Certainly an experience worthy to be repeated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Patricia Gonçalves, Hotel Management
Dear Guest David, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Best regards, Patricia Gonçalves General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sw

Beautiful B & B in the centre is Cascais

Posted Oct 25, 2016
As you ring the gate bell to gain entry and look at Pergola House from the outside the beautiful garden and house is stunning. The inside is like walking into the family history. Centrally situated, caring staff, clean and great breakfast to start the day. A great choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Westminster, BC, Canada

Great B&B in Town & Close to Beach

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Location, food, staff, and presentation of B&B
Cons: Would like cream for my coffee but that is a North American thing.
Location: Close to train with no whistle or other noises. Beach, shopping, transportation, souvenirs, food all with in walking distance.
My husband and myself spent four nights at the Pergola House B&B which was one of the best experiences we have had with B&B's. We would stay again in a heart beat, only Portugal is a once and a lifetime trip for us. The mansion with its marble stairs and full of antiques, with modern comforts made us feel like we had stepped back into the past. The breakfasts were as expected and we were not disappointed. Lots of fresh everything and plenty of choices. I met a man while having my sherry one evening who he and his family were on there third visit to the B&B. The next morning I could see the staff greeting them like family, a pleasant site to see. The grounds are very well kept and so peaceful in the heart of Cascais. We were able to walk to the beach in just a few minutes. The train station was just as close and took us 40 minutes to get to Lisbon on clean well kept trains. Walking all over town was easy with lots of choices for restaurants. Have to admit we tried Japanese and Indian food which we should have left for trips to those countries. Or have in Canada where we are use to the Canadian interpretation. Only sorry that Portugal is so far away. We did meet family living in Sintra which could make a return trip one of these days possible. Thank you again all the staff at Pergola House we will be talking about you and your town for a very long time to come. Regards Eleanor & Ben Sherry at the end of the day to wind down was a treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wheat Ridge, CO

Absolutely BEAUTIFUL!

Posted Oct 5, 2015
If you are traveling in the Lisbon area, consider this hotel. It is historic and gorgeous, inside and out, in a wonderful area. It is a ways from downtown Lisbon, but this area is lively and charming as well. Heartily recommended for all. Great breakfast as well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Adorable little hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: The staff, patio area and location
Cons: The rooms could be updated just slightly but still nice
Location: Right down the street from the best Gelato in Portugal (Santini) as well as about 3 minutes from the best Indian food I have ever eaten (Masala's)
We only stayed one night in Cascais but very glad we chose to stay here! The staff is absolutely wonderful and accommodated us with having breakfast ready earlier than normal since we had to leave before it started to catch a train. The patio area is beautiful and their happy hour in the afternoon is lovely to sit with a glass of wine and snacks. You are in a perfect location in the heart of Cascais close to the beach, shops, and wonderful restaurants. They do not have an elevator though so be prepared to carry up your suitcases to your room. The rooms were pleasant and the bathrooms are fun authentic tiling that fits the house perfectly. Not your large fancy hotels but definitely the way to experience Cascais in my opinion!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Billericay, UK

This is a unique house & right in the town centre.

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Such friendly & lovely staff.
Cons: It is in its own niche market & should not be changed in any way.
Location: The town is right on the coast & the beach is 5/10 minutes walk away. Bus to Sintra is 40 minutes & train to Lisbon is 35 minutes.
The house offers comfortable & fairly spacious rooms with sizeable bathrooms. There is an elegant lounge for the guests. The staff are absolutely terrific - so warm & welcoming that we will return just to see the staff again. The breakfasts are served in the lovely gardens. Caiscais is a lovely little seaside town just like an old fashioned British resort. It is only 35minutes on the train to Lisbon. The station is just around the corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head SC

A Classical Portuguese Experience

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: It charm
Location: Make sure you have a good GPs.
A large house, in the middle of town, with a large garden in the front to sit in the evening for a glass of Port or eat breakfast. Need to stay at least 2 days. Good parking garage up the street . but not easy to find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Beautiful house, beautiful location, great staff

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Everything, but specific thanks to the staff for making us feel so welcome and the gardens are just beautiful.
Cons: Nothing from my experience.
Location: It is centrally located, in Cascais. You can walk to the beach, enjoyed many restaurants, shopping. Sintra is about 20 minutes away, as well as Lisbon
We stayed in Cascais for 2 nights, and we truly enjoyed this guesthouse. The service is extremely friendly, helpful and professional. The gardens are breathtaking, and its location is perfect. The breakfast was excellent, and we enjoyed eating outside in the gardens. I have nothing negative to say about this guesthouse, we were 100% impressed and satisfied we our choice. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Beautiful home that is an experience to share.

Posted May 13, 2015
Made to feel very welcome by the delightful ladies who run the business and nothing was too much bother. A beautiful family home with so much character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Very nice family-oriented hotel

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Very clean and quiet place to stay, but near a train station (Cascais).
Cons: I was not able to access the Internet from a room this time. (Last time, it was OK). Anyway, there were plenty of things to do when I was in Cascais.
Location: The hotel is located near a train station, which is very convenient to visit from Lisbon.
This is my second time that I stayed at Pergola House. Staff always welcomed me with a big smile. They remember me clearly.