Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Pretty good hotel but not too convenient

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Breakfasts, quiet, pleasant staff
Cons: Location.
The Sana is a fairly good hotel and was good value BUT it is not as convenient to the subway as one might think from a map. The Sao Sebastian metro stop has multiple exits, well separated and two lines - one direct from Airport. Even from the nearest Metro exit the hotel is not very close (5-8 minutes walk) and actually getting to the right exit inside Metro is complicated. If you do not want to go downtown much it is fine and the breakfasts at 8 Euro are very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel, a short walk from metro.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Room very comfortable with extra large double bed.
Cons: There was not enough fresh fruit salad at breakfast. Tinned fruit is disappointing!
Nicely appointed hotel. The breakfast was varied, the homemade yogurts were delicious. Pleasant and light dining room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Functional hotel with car park

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to some very good restaurants.
Cons: Please provide tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom or lobby.
Average, clean, functional hotel - what you would expect from a corporate three star hotel. However, there were no coffee/tea making facilities in the room or lobby which is a big minus for me. But staff were pleasant and breakfast was good. Big positive was the hotel is located close to some very good restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Parking limited

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Some restaurants in the area & museums.
Hotel is modern & comfortable. Bar facility in lobby small. Over 3 block walk to Hop on Bus. Parking very tight in basement underground for mid-size cars. Hotel seemed more suited to business travelers than tourists.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Our second stay at this hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: A good location; pleasant place to stay.
Cons: Our room could have done with a little refurbishing, and the lift is a bit frustrating at times.
Location: Guilbenkian Museum is very nearby; excellent collections. There's good access via the Metro to any part of the city.
This is a pleasant hotel, close to the Guilbenkian Museum. While not in the centre of the old part of town, there is a very good Metro service from the nearby station. Rooms are comfortable and a good breakfast is available, including some hot food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Small, quiet hotel.

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Very nice continental breakfast buffet with wide selections of items, especially nice breads. There is a bar in the lobby as well as minibars in room.
Location: Hotel only serves breakfast, but there are many places to buy snacks as well as a variety of full-service restaurants nearby.
I attended a conference at the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, which is just two blocks away. I enjoyed the walk to and from the hotel along a shady low-traffic street. Rooms were furnished in modern styles with lovely bed linens and a terrific shower. English-speaking hotel staff were very helpful and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Great hotel, not the easiest to find though. Location is perfect, lower parking lot is extremely tight and narrow so be prepared. Front desk guy was not very friendly but everyone else including room staff were delightful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Just ok stay

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Orbitz
I booked this hotel for the last night of our trip. I was specifically looking for something close to the airport with free parking. I was very disappointed when we checked in. The hotel is in the city, and the free parking is on the pedestrian street in front of the hotel, but it very limited and was already full. Our only choice was to park further down the street away from the hotel. Luckily we found one spot, and it was in a lit area. But, I was nervous about leaving our rental car in the street overnight. The meter starts at 9AM in the morning. My husband went out at nine to put money in the meter, and the police were sitting there waiting to ticket cars as soon as it was 9. Would have been nice to have been warned about this practice. As far as the room, it was ok, clean, bed was hard, pillows were comfortable, halls and room were dark. Breakfast was ok. Enjoyed the fresh tomatoes. The outside breakfast area was not kept up, and there were weeds growing along the edge. Somewhat run down. They didn't keep up with the food, were out of some fruits, coffee (several times), glasses, spoons. And, they didn't quickly clean the tables. When we checked out my husband asked for directions to the airport. The guy at the desk said don't you have a gps? He gave us directions, which ended up being pretty simple. But, was reluctant to do so. There were no other customers, so he wasn't busy. I would hesitate to stay at this hotel again, and would not stay more than one night
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Efficient. Close to a nice museum.

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
There was construction which was a bit loud...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near the great Gulbenkian Museum

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Chose hotel to be close to Gulbenkian Museum (one block away). A very good choice as the neighborhood is almost Parisian and has really good restaurants on the same block. It was an excellent 3-star hotel with a very decent breakfast, and the Gulbenkian was 5 minutes away.