Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice hotel with a balcony

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: the balcony
Cons: a small table on the balcony
Our room was small but very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the view from the balcony is incredible! I read that the elevator was slow, but we did not have to wait that much for it. The breakfast was good. The location is great, near the metro station Marques de Pombal, just cross the park and you are there in less than 10 min walk. The only thing we would have like is a small plastic table on the balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice and cozy hotel.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: close to everything, very professional and friendly staff, very clean rooms, excellent breakfast
Cons: The elevator is small and one it's not enough for everybody, but that's something that nothing can be done about it.
Location: close to everything and lots of things to do nearby.
Our experience was very good as always. Every time my wife and I go to Portugal we stay at Sana Rex. The staff is very professional but I have to say that mister Joao Grande goes out of his way to help us. Dealing with mr. Grande is like talking to a long time friend. Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Nice location across from the Park
Cons: Reception Clerk kept insisting she had given back my passport and I had to repeatedly tell her that was not the case. She finally found it.
Location: Short walk to San Sebastio and the shopping center there.
Nice smaller Hotel on the same block at the Ritz. Surrounding neighborhood was safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Great breakfast, good friendly staff, nice room

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Just a nice quiet place to stay with friendly staff
Cons: Stop housekeeping staff blocking the lift in the morning
Location: As above regarding restaurants
Nice spot opposite the park, walk to the restaurants takes about 20 minutes [downhill[ taxi back [uphill] cost 5 euro's approx.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

not was nise wiev

Posted Jun 19, 2016
satisfaed to stay , will be better if dinner will be posible
3 out of 5
by Stephen from New York City

Only OK.

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok, but there are comparable hotels closer to the subway & restaurants
3 out of 5
by Michael from Sydney

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Central location, walk to tourist buses, shopping.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Good breakfast helped start the day off right.The staff was very nice. Walked to the busses, local transportaion. The taxis were right outside 24/7.
Cons: Coffee maker in rooms. Change faded carpets to tile or wood.
Location: Corte Ingles shops via EduArdo VII Park, 5 mins. Hop on/hop off bus, local 711 & 736 to Baixa, Rossio. Tip: take taxi backEURO 5-20 steep hill!
Luis, Juan and Lourdes were so kind and helpful. They gave us many tips that made our stay, easier and more pleasant. It was like visting nice cousins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Nice hotel good location

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: Small and friendly Clean and welcoming
Cons: Kettles in the rooms to make tea
Location: well within walking distance of the city centre there is a lovely park next to hotel that is worth visiting
Would recommend a trip to Lisbon. Plenty to keep you occupied Food and drink excellent Only down side is the plague of pickpockets that are about. If you play safe you'll be fine.
3 out of 5
by Mikhail from Denver, Colorado USA

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
Out stay was generally good, but at the moment of departure we were extremely frustrated because night desk clerk did not wake us up in proper way at 5:30AM as I ask this person when came back in hotel in the previous evening. As I have seen, the clerk even made written note in the journal. For my understanding i was unbeilivable mistake of the clerk or very cruel his/her mulfunction in professional hotel business. So,we left hotel at 7:00AM instead 6:00AM, as was planned, and unfortunately we were late to our flight. Today we must arrive to Seville in Spain as yearly as possible, where we booked and paid for rental car and hotel. To continue our trip from Portugal, which we waited almost for one year, we booked yearly TAP flight. Instead to have fun and joy of our trip we became extremely nervious and must buy new two air tickets for evening TAP flight to Seville and spent more 348 euros, as we both retired persons did not plan. As the final result we arrived too late to Seville and lost our free parking for rental car.