Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy, but not great.

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
It's very loud. You can hear everything from your room. The breakfast is overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Cardiff, Wales

Nice and cheap, right in the center

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Excellent location and staff, simple rooms but clean and comfortable. Good wifi, simple but tasty breakfast and free tea/coffee all day was a big plus
Cons: Only 1 bathroom/1 breakfast table between 5 rooms so sometimes you had to wait a bit for your turn, but you're on holiday so not in rush anyway :-)
Location: Location is excellent. Walking distance to
The hostel is located on the 4th floor with a quite steep stairs so not for older people, children or those with limited mobility. Good exercise for the young though ;-) During our stay they were doing some works in the building just opposite our window and every day we would be woken up by loud banging, drilling and hammering noises that lasted until late afternoon, but it wasn't hostels fault, those things happen - plus you don't go to such a beautiful town like Lisbon to sit in your room all day.
5 out of 5
by Jay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Excellent location, but very basic

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Super location in Lisbon for ease of sightseeing.
Cons: Air conditioning, more cutlery, quieter doors.
Location: In the heart of the pedestrian area of old Baixa. Handy for the metro for all the city sights, plenty of restaurants nearby.
It is a proper backpackers hostel (in retrospect didn't suit us). We had the one en-suite room but there was a lot of noise from other rooms and bathroom. If you have the window open there is a lot of noise from neighbouring air-con units. Kitchen was useful but there was not enough cutlery or chairs if everyone wanted breakfast at the same time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, great price

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Hostel is clean, kitchen is modern and facilities very good. Not a fancy hostel but it has everything you need. The location is perfect, half way between the shore and the main bus stop/public transport hub (martim monitz) while still being a reasonably quiet street, closed to the traffic so you don't have cars rumbling past the window all night. Also very affordable.
3 out of 5
by sophia from chicago, il

mildewy smell

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels
First I'll start with the positives. The loxation is EXCELLENT! So easy to get to Rossio Station, cathedral Se and Praca Comércio. The price is reasonable if you book other than Hotels.. I didn't know about Hostelworld but it was 7 euros cheaper for my room. So the bad is the room looks like it had a leak through the ceiling and my room (#3) smelled slightly mildewy and was cold and damp. Not enough to get me to move but enough to notice. You have to walk up 4 flights of stairs which may or may not bother you depending on how many bags you brought. The cleaning staff was nice and thorough but the shower water wasn't very hot and you had to share the single stall bathroom with 6 rooms (however many people that is, meaning if someone went in there and locked the door, you are SOL for however long) and the whole place was a little cold - maybe not an issue in summer. I did get a space heater the second night. The bottom sheet was really worn and pilled. Breakfast was okay but nothing special - some fruit might have been nice. With all the competition out there, it seems like you could get more for your money-newer, nicer bath, better breakfast and more services. Having said that, if I had paid 15 euro instead of the 22 euro (due to hotels surcharge) I might say differently. So it may be a good deal for the location based on price but not at the price I paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Celine from Sydney NSW, Australia

Recommended

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Fantastic staff, great area, great value. A nice simple and cheap place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lone female traveller

Posted Sep 4, 2012
Pros: Clean & tidy, nice guests & staff
Location: In the centre, easy walking distance to everything
Sweet Home. Great staff, all guests were very pleasant and considerate, everyone was respectful and kept the notice down, will definitely be staying here again; felt safe at all times Be warned though, steep stairs, no lift, which for me is fine, but something you should consider if you have mobility problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

A Pleasant Christmas and New Years in Lisbon

Posted Jan 8, 2012
Pros: Very nice owners. You really feel that they are concerned about you having a pleasant stay.
Cons: The hotel is on the fifth floor and no elevator.
Location: In the middle of everything, a good neighborhood with attraction on both sides - also easy access to major transportation hubs.
For Christmas and New Years, I spent in Lisbon. Other than flying Delta (Doesn't Ever Leave The Airport on time) and being overcharged by an airport cab, the experience at Sweethome Hostel was great. The proprietor of Sweethome Hostel were excellent host for my 14 night stay. The place is centrally located, very clean, always someone on staff at all hours, felt safe, and overall quite. Anna was very receptive to addressing your needs or concerns and wanted to ensure you had a good visit to Lisbon. The price was great for the accommodation. I would definitely go stay at Sweethome again, but would not fly Delta (always delay excuses and missed connecting flights from Madrid) and would be more savvy with the cab drivers or take a bus.