Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

No complementary water or coffee!!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
The reception staff was efficient but not particularly friendly. We weren't even asked if we enjoyed our stay when checking out! The bar staff were unprofessional and unfriendly. The room was a good size but dated and the bed was awful. The bath was dirty and the light on the shaving mirror didn't work. The fire alarm went off at least three times on the first night with no explanation. The coffee provided in the room was nespresso but you had to pay to use it! Luckily we had read about this in a previous review and brought out own capsules. Breakfast was very over priced and the food and selection was average at best. The coffee at the lobby cafe was a disgrace. Dinner at the roof top restaurant was delicious and great value. Staff was efficient and professional. The Fado singer and musicians were fabulous!! The room service was sporadic and on one occasion our towels were taken away and not replaced. On one occasion there was unsavoury red/brown staining on a 'clean' towel. The towels were old and scrappy with plenty of holes. I could never call this a five star hotel. You might be treated differently if you are on the more expensive upper floors ... we once saw a porter nearly falling over himself to press the button on the lift for a couple on one of the upper floors. He stayed in the lift and pressed the button to their floor. Don't get me wrong, I don't need someone to press the button for me but it goes to show the different treatment you receive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Rui de Sousa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your candid review about your recent stay experience in Lisbon. Our aim and goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations and surely your review does not reflect that goal. We regret to read that our room did not meet your expectations in terms of size and price/quality ratio. In addition, we are truly surprised to read that you did not appreciate the attitude from our staff. It is not a regular situation since most of our guests cherish the service provided by our staff members. Nevertheless this information will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to welcome you again in order to regain your trust. Kind Regards, Rui de Sousa General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Close to the Red Frog speakeasy bar, ten minutes walk from the river.
Good location, very comfortable rooms. Friendly and attentive service. WiFi is not free unless you join their loyalty program, which is a bit annoying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Rui de Sousa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Firstly, we would like to thank you in advance for your preference for Tivoli Lisboa. It is rewarding that we were able to provide you a greatin Lisbon! All feedback is important to us, and even better when clients let us know how their feel during their stay. The Hotel Tivoli is indeed located in the main Avenue of Lisboa and it is just a short walk to explore the historical area and all the landmarks of the city! Best Regards, Rui de Sousa General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine Hotel with Good Central Location for Drivers

Posted Oct 3, 2016
We stayed at Tivoli for three nights at the very end of September. The rooms are relatively small, but comfortable. Our room had electric roll-down black-out shutters and was on the back of the building, so sleeping was quite comfortable. It took us a few days to get the coverings on the bed right, as they started, like most European hotels, with a down comforter in a covering which was 'way to too hot to sleep under. Eventually we got regular sheets and a light blanket which worked great. The location is very good fro drivers, as it is a bit on the outside of the city center so easy to drive to. It is a short walk from the hotel to the edge of the Barrio Alta (mostly uphill) or to the bottom of the funicular which takes you up to the Barrio Alta. The older areas of town and downtown are a bit of a walk, but do-able. We chose not to use the hotel breakfasts, as it was too expensive. Instead we drove one morning and taxied another morning to Belen and enjoyed Nata pastries-- and the whole bill each day for four of us was less than the cost of one breakfast at the hotel. The ladies at the concierge desk were very capable and friendly, pointing us in good directions several times and finding us a great Portuguese restaurant (Velhas) a few blocks from the hotel on short notice on a Friday night. We did make good use of the roof-top SkyBar for drinks in the afternoons and evenings. At the airport a young lady there said that the SkyBar has the best views of the city
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Rui de Sousa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Firstly, we would like to thank you in advance for your preference for Tivoli Lisboa. It is rewarding that we were able to provide you a greatin Lisbon! All feedback is important to us, and even better when clients let us know how their feel during their stay. The Tivoli is indeed located in the main Avenue of Lisboa and it is just a short walk to explore the historical area and all the landmarks of the city! Looking forward to welcome you again! Kindest Regards, Rui de Sousa General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trenton ontario canada

Lovely classic hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The bed and bedding were exquisite. Breakfast buffet had a good variety and served in beautiful room. The concierge and doormen were most helpful.
Cons: Restaurants are pricey!
Location: The Avenida de Liberdade is in exclusive area of designer shops. Some good typical Portuguese restaurants are within a short walk.
Enjoyed an 8 day stay in Lisbon at the Tivoli Lisboa. The hotel is located on the beautiful Avenida de Liberdade just north of Rossio Square. An easy walk to restaurants and shopping. Very professional and attentive staff. Hotel is well appointed and very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Rui de Sousa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is rewarding to receive such a wonderful review! We warmly thank you for your preference for Tivoli Lisboa and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that that we provided you an excellent stay and you are willing to stay again at Tivoli on your next trip to Lisbon. We are also happy to read that you have enjoyed our location and infrastructures; we are definitely blessed to be in the most central area of Lisbon! Kindest Regards, Rui de Sousa General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in excellent location

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Have stayed at the TIVOLI several times over the years. Although still nice and comfortable, the hotel is definitely getting to look and feel worn. Hotel staff is excellent and always helpful. Location great for shopping and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Rui de Sousa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at Tivoli Lisboa! We look forward to welcome you back at Lisbon. Best regards, Rui de Sousa General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great lication

Posted Sep 20, 2016
I enjoy stately hotels. Friendly and professional. They know how to do it right. Breakfast was great. The only one complaint is that the bed seemed to have a hump going down the length of the middle. If I return to Lisbon, I would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Rui de Sousa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Tivoli Lisboa. It is rewarding to read that we met your overall expectations! We strive hard to provide great comfort and high level of service to our guests. We kindly inform that the Tivoli Lisboa has a feather top mattress, which many of our clients value, nevertheless we are pleased to remove it on request as some guests rather sleep without it, for this we are truly sorry. Kind Regards, Rui de Sousa General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta, GA

Great location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Sky Bar view amazing. Restaurants have great service and delicious food.
Location: Shopping and restaurants a short walk away. Open air dining with many choices of foods.
Hotel just a short walk to main shopping/tourist area. Beautiful park across street. Sky Bar offers a wonderful place to have a drink and relax. Whole city of Lisbon right there for you to view. Lots of restaurants and things to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Rui de Sousa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing such in detail your great stay expeirence at Tivoli Lisboa. It is rewarding to receive such a marvelous review! We are thrilled that you and your partner truly enjoyed staying with us in the charming city of Lisbon. Looking forward to welcome you again in order to provide you another pleasant experience. Kindest Regards, Rui de Sousa General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faded luxury

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Location: Great location to water.
Physical items at hotel not attended to - one set of elevators very worn, electronic room lock not reliable, housekeeping not check lights. Roof restaurant restaurant and bar are spectacular.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Rui de Sousa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We warmly thank you for sharing such in detail your recent stay experience at Tivoli Lisboa. We consider our guests’ feedback truly important since it provides us a valuable insight that helps to improve our service and performance. We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we were able to provide you an excellent service! Regarding your concerns about the lift, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. We assure you that we already took the appropriate measures to address this issue. Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcome you and your family! Kindest regards, Rui de Sousa General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen UK

Plus points for Tivoli

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Location, service,bedrooms.
Cons: .One thing- although the hotel obviously want guests to use the rooftop bar- which is great, I think more could be done to make the lounge bar in the
Location: Ideal central location many eating establishment nearby. Places worth visiting in walking distance.
Although the hotel is very central which is great for the multitude of restaurants , cafes , bars etc it is very quiet in the evening.Pool can be very busy but there is usually enough sunbeds to go round.Staff very pleasant & helpful.Breakfasts very good, with great choice
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Rui de Sousa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We warmly thank you for sharing your review concerning your stay in Lisbon! All feedback is important to us, and even better when clients let us know how their feel during their stay. We appreciate your preference for Tivoli Lisboa. Looking forward to welcome you back! Best regards, Rui de Sousa General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tivoli Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Great location, excellant detailed service well informed concierge .We did not try the restaurant we did enjoy the rooftop bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Rui de Sousa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Firstly, we would like to thank you in advance for your preference for Tivoli Lisboa. It is rewarding to read that you had a great stay with us in the charming city of Lisbon! All feedback is important to us, and even better when clients let us know how their feel during their stay. Our team works hard, every day, to make sure every guest feels special. Your satisfaction is our best reward! We look forward to welcome you back anytime soon! Kind regards, Rui de Sousa General Manager