Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

4 day Lisbon city break

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Hotel was nice, although wouldn't give it 5*. It's close to metro station from which its easy to travel around. I recommend buying 24hr travel card. We didn't eat in the hotel, food outside isn't expensive. Lovely trip, would recommend and go back. Hotel was ok, close to city cenrte and airport; very clean, staff nice and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Ghost town 2 star max!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Big bed, blackout blind, shower oh and the exit door
Cons: Generally everything needs to be improved from the staff right through to the mini bar
Location: nothing to do near by, we didn't feel safe walking around.
We arrived to the hotel to find 1 of the 3 restaurants open, they offered us buffet service that was cold. The waiter was very apologetic and arranged for us to eat from the main menu. For the following morning we ordered tea and cereal, this came to the room with a continental breakfast and a bill of 45 euros and no milk for the cereal and tea. Reception wasn't interested at all. We then tried to get into the SPA the staff were not helpful at all. So we gave up on that idea. Luckily we hired a car so we was able to go into the centre of Lisbon to do some exploring. The Saturday evening we was going to eat in the hotel only to find that again the restaurants closed again, the hotel staff again not very helpful. We then had to drive into the centre again to find somewhere to eat as there is nothing around the hotel. For the following morning we ordered 2 cups of tea, they brought us a jug of milk, 2 cups and a dish with honey in. No hot water no tea bags, we had to ring again to get them to bring us tea bags and hot water, they brought us 1 tea bag for 2 people and a bill for 12 euros. This hotel is a 2 star at the most, the rooms are basic, not even an iron or kettle in them, the mini bar has 2 bottles of water in hardly a mini bar and the rooms are not sound proofed. The Spa if you can help is very expensive and doesn’t open on Sundays. This hotel advert needs to be re written to give a more accurate description. I will be putting an official complaint in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great chice for Lisbon

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent - especially breakfast choices
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, great lobby area

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location. Room was a nice size ...plenty of space and storage areas.
Cons: Wash Windows on outside of hotel. This hotel has lots of glass so it is a big job, but needs to be done. Hallways are narrow and dark.
Location: Close to Metro stop, HOp On-Hop Off bus stop, Bull ring Stadium and a lovely shopping and restaurant area below the Bull Ring stadium.
Hotel needs some updating. Room was clean, but outside windows were really dirty. Bathroom fixtures (sink and shower) were very modern and sleek looking , but a pain to use. I sprayed the entire bathroom more than once. Hard to keep the water in the sink! Hotel staff gave us good recommendations for dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over Rated

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Had some friends book to stay at the hotel the same night as us. They had arrived at the hotel much earlier than we did. After checking in and touring the facilities they proceeded to check out. This so called 4 start was closer to a one star. Then I went on trip advisor to check it out. True enough, reviews on trip advisor were closer to a 1-2 star. Very few good things to say. We decided to book another hotel and never checked into the VIP Grande Lisboa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tasmania

convenient hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Convenient to 2 railway stations.
Cons: Noisy - doors slam loudly to everyone's rooms - especially late at night. Pool too cold to swim in.
Location: Location ok. Food accessible
Room was good but no tea making facilities. Reception soon rectified the problem and all was good. Pool too cold to swim in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Athens, Greece

Not Impressed

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Location and Rate
Cons: The Staff
t's funny but I was reminded by my social media this was my 29th straight week in hotels but still when I book a five star hotel I get excited. But there is a big difference between a hotel ticking boxes with facilities and a hotel that is invested in the customer experience Check in was really disappointing as there was a single receptionist checking another guest in but there were around 5 having a meeting behind the curtain and when they all came out after a wait continued to have the meeting with each other, not what you expect with 5 star. The room was dated and had a used feeling and the bed had seen many guests The bathrobes were small lady size to wear and if you could fit them then you would not be able to use the very high sided sink suiting on a standard height counter. TV picture was bad but the Internet was decent. When I asked if breakfast was included I was told not likely ! Which I guess was referring to the rate we paid. I felt so special ... I don't think. Just because I shop clever does not mean I am not a paying customer! On check out we were not asked how the stay was just told that's all The location is good and it's close to the airport but if you want the 5 star experience this is not the place based upon our short (thankfully) experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice & clean hotel, close to Lisboa Airport.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Attitude of the reception personnel (each of them).
Hotel is well located near Rua Republica, Lisboa Airport and downtown & Rossio sq. It is geared to groups and have allocated them the upper floors. So, as an individual or family, if you ask for upper floors, good luck!. The reception desk people are kind of short tempered and with an attitude. Don't know why??? We are the ones bringing them tourist income. Groups are allowed to check in earlier than 2pm. Individuals, they are very strict with the 2pm+ check in time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

average hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
bathroom door cannot close properly,double bed was two single bed put together with a big gap in between convenience for airport using metro,but not very convenience to long distance bus station if u have luggages to carry