Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Susan Gordon from Rochester, NY USA

out of the mainstream area

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel is not for anyone with any physical infirmities, or issues with walking. The entrance is up 2+ flights of stairs, a bit of detail missing from the information given in the website. We were able to deal with this fact, but others should be aware, no matter what Fodor's, or other travel sites, recommend. The room pictured in the ads did not match the room we were offered. Service was not a strong suit of this hotel. It was, however, very quiet, and we were able to navigate the old, uneven pavement of the old residential section to find our way around the city, once we were acclimated to it!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

unique charm and comfort in inconvenient location

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel is located in what was once a 17th century convent, and it still has the thick stone walls, circuitous passages, and charming courtyard. If you love older hotels with unique character, York House is for you. Our room was very nice, simple but comfortable, and exceptionally quiet, and the excellent breakfast buffet was served in the lovely outdoor courtyard. The staff was helpful, and had reasonably good English. The courtyard also provided a shady restful haven from the busy gritty city. However, the location of the hotel is a drawback, since it is about a mile from the down town center in a dockland area (near the Art Museum, but little else). An unpleasant walk, but easily accessible by bus, tram, or taxi (though one taxi driver could not find it). Also not a good choice for anybody who has trouble with steps, since one needs to climb up to the hotel from the street. I loved the York House, and would happily return, but my husband wishes that we had been closer to the historic center of Lisbon.
5 out of 5
by kathy reeves from London

Hotel with character

Posted Apr 12, 2013 on Hotels
Our stay was great, staff were lovely and the rooms are nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GOOD HOTEL QUIET AT 10 MINUTES FROM THE CENTER.

Posted Mar 19, 2013
FOR MOST OF THE SERVICES, ALL WAS SUPERD. THE MEAT AT THE RESTAURANT WAS NOT OF GOOD QUALITY...A CHANGE EST SUGGEST.
4 out of 5
by Ed from London

Very enjoyable stay

Posted Mar 16, 2013 on Hotels
Very comfortable, nicely secluded hotel. Not in the most touristy district of Lisbon, but the main sites (the centre and Belém) are easily reached by tram or bus. No metro nearby, though, and Lisbon is a very steep city, so you might want to keep that in mind if you're not able/willing to travel around on foot. Service was very good, and everything I needed was in the room. Breakfast maybe a bit expensive, but a very pleasant stay!
5 out of 5
by TM

great character, great location

Posted Mar 4, 2013 on Hotels
too short
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

The nicest place to stay in Lisbon.

Posted Jan 13, 2013
Pros: The staff.
Location: The Rua das Janelas Verdes can be a bit noisy on a Friday and Saturday night, particularly when the last revellers leave the clubs at about 4.30 a.m..
I've been coming here for years, and it's a real home from home. And it features in John le Carré's The Russia House - what more do you want?
2 out of 5
by JT

York House in Lisbon over-rated

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels
Don't be fooled, and mistake a run down hotel for charming. To reach the lobby, you have to climb two flights of stairs. There is no elevators, but a strong young man will help you. The walls are peeling, and the garden is over-run. Almost nothing worked in the 1st room we got. We got another room, which was better, but wasted time re-packing. The day time front desk lady was rude. We were offered break-fast when we checked in, though they didn't tell us it cost 15 euros a person. If you want to be surrounded by quaint artifacts, you'd do better to check into a gov't run Pousada.
5 out of 5
by Mark kneale

a short walk fom busy centr of Sintra

Posted May 23, 2012 on Hotels
Good base for visiting Sintra Parks
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Beautifully renovated convent

Posted Apr 14, 2012 on Hotels
This is a charming European hotel. The rooms are beautifully appointed and maintanined and the location is excellent, a few doors from the French Embassy and some lovely shops. Delicious breakfasts and a lovely restaurant. Lisbon is a najor city, so you have to be prepared to take taxis, trams, buses or metro.