Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice and peaceful hotel.Staff very helpful.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Peaceful, clean, and very nice staff.
A very enjoyable and relaxing stay. Restaurant also very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very peaceful atmosphere, nice courtyard garden.

Posted May 22, 2016
We were delighted with the level of service and the helpfulness of the hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Really lovely hotel (formally a convent.)

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Everything - location, staff, cleanliness & courtyard!
Cons: Can't think of anything to be honest, couldn't fault it.
Location: It's away from the main tourist drag (about a 10 min walk to the main square or you can just hop on the bus.) Quiet but lovely.
Great location, about a 10 minute walk to the main square. Hotel staff were all really helpful and lovely. Room was spacious and the breakfast had something for everyone! Lisbon is a beautiful and fascinating city with lots to see and do, will definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Nice hotel in quiet yet convenient area of Lisbon

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Location: Convenient for trains to the beaches. Pleasant area for living like a local. Has good transport links to the more touristy areas.
I would describe the hotel as styled shabby chic. The room furnishings were old solid dark wood so lots of character. Quite dark inside the hotel but in the heat that is often welcome. Large clean room, comfortable bed, plenty of sockets and decent wifi. The shower was hot and strong but a little unwieldy; I felt guilty for soaking the bathroom everyday! Breakfast was nice and plentiful. The staff were very friendly, helpful and mostly spoke excellent English. Although I didn't make enough use of it the hotel has an amazing courtyard area with beautiful plants - very pleasant for al fresco breakfast or relaxing at any time of day. Lots of steps so not the best for the less mobile (although porters are always on hand). All in all, I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best hotels. Great one. Recomaded.

Posted Aug 29, 2015
One of the best. Clean Comfort Great location I have nothing more to say. Go there !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful and characterful hotel - a real find

Posted Jun 3, 2015
I knew it was going to be a good holiday as soon as we found our way up to the lovely courtyard at the heart of York House. The room and bathroom were immaculate and well sized for a standard room. The staff were helpful and we heard good reports about the food, although didn't eat there ourselves as there are so many lovely restaurants and bakeries nearby. (This is helped by the location - easy walking distance from the centre but more residential and away from the tourist traps.) Only v minor criticism was the noise in the corridor every morning as the internal soundproofing wasn't great, although no street noise. Small price to pay for such a characterful hotel. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Beautiful Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Sense of belonging.
Cons: There could be more information about room service in the bedrooms.
Location: Near the French Embassy and close to the Bairro Alto; Santos station near by.
Lovely little place. The menu was delicious, staff delightful and everything was gorgeous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Cozy and cute. It was converted from an old convent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GOOD HOTEL QUIET AT 10 MINUTES FROM THE CENTER.

Posted Mar 19, 2013
FOR MOST OF THE SERVICES, ALL WAS SUPERD. THE MEAT AT THE RESTAURANT WAS NOT OF GOOD QUALITY...A CHANGE EST SUGGEST.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

The nicest place to stay in Lisbon.

Posted Jan 13, 2013
Pros: The staff.
Location: The Rua das Janelas Verdes can be a bit noisy on a Friday and Saturday night, particularly when the last revellers leave the clubs at about 4.30 a.m..
I've been coming here for years, and it's a real home from home. And it features in John le Carré's The Russia House - what more do you want?