Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Location was great and the staff were excelllent. Could use a little upgrade and new towels but overall a good place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel but the restaurant is open on Sundays

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
It is basic hotel but with a good restaurant. The restaurant is open oin Sundays which is unusual in Frane so this is why we have used this hotel many times when in France returning from our annual trip to Le Mans.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for English speaking guests!

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Location, price, and clean simple rooms.
Cons: Get staff who can speak some English, or print hotel instructions in English. Enable 24-hour access to the building and rooms by guests.
Location: This is a town for pilgrims and for spiritual retreats. Wonderful in that sense. Normandy countryside is beautiful and peaceful.
I have stayed there four times due to its convenient location and hoped for with improvement each visit. Fair price and clean room. However, the owners and staff make no effort to help English speaking guests despite the number of English speaking pilgrims and visitors. Service at dinner time in the hotel restaurant was not great at my table or at the adjacent one. Doors locked in the evening and early in the morning making it almost impossible for guests to get to their room after 10 PM or go for an early morning walk without being locked out. These issues are persistent. Other hotels and restaurants in the town are more accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

An Alright Experience

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Close to Basilica, Carmel, and Boussinet.
Cons: Better English speakers. Follow through with room reservation when made through expedia.
Location: Close to all of the Therseian sites.
The hotel provided a pleasant experience as a person staying in Lisieux for the evening. When we arrived, while I booked 3 rooms through expedia, they had only reserved one room. Thankfully they had two other rooms available for the other members of my group. They claim to serve English speaking pilgrims, but that's only if that person is available. While that made the trip somewhat challenging, overall, it was a wonderful place to stay. If I was in Lisieux again, I'd book there in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Close to the shrine

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. One of the few places with a restaurant open on Sunday. Food was very good.
3 out of 5
by Paul

Fine for a one night stop.

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
Not that I should I expect people to speak English, but their ability improved when it was time to pay. Nonetheless the check in went fine. Breakfast is too expensive for too little. If you just need a place to sleep before getting up early to see the Carmelite convent and Basilica then this is fine.
5 out of 5
by Amalia from Brasil

Excelent

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is very clean and hotel's employee very helpful and very kind.
3 out of 5
by Thor from London

Too much road noise

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed here because of the reviews. The owners seemed very nice and were very helpful. Unfortunately, the room was a bit on the small side and the road noise was too much. Luckily, I had some earplugs. Found a lot of hair that had not been cleaned on the bathroom floor, however, I would assume that this was an oversight. The restaurant in the hotel looked nice to eat, but I did not try it.
5 out of 5
by Pensioner from N.Ireland

Convenient to the Basilica

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
The evening meal was very good.
4 out of 5
by hotel terrasse from lisieux, france

terasse at lisieux

Posted Dec 1, 2013 on Hotels
i could rate it higher if only for a few things but could have been rectified...the owner does not speak english it would have been harder if i did not speak a little french. the room was a bit small but sufficient, it was hot and could not control the pipe heater so slept without a cover. i did not know where the hotel was but got direction from the train station, it was uphill going there but manageable so if with elderly companions, please take a cab. I like that everything was good walking distance to the Basilique, Carmel and L'Ermitage, and just 2 blocks down the street were nice restaurants. All in all, very pleased and would probably stay there again.