Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canadian

Close to the tulip festival

Posted May 13, 2016
We checked in late and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. You need to take a bus or taxi to get there from the train station but it is in a great location if you want to walk to the tulip festival. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Overall it was a pretty good stay for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Close to flower fields

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Wifi didn't work in my room. Otherwise you can walk to Keukenhof in 30 minutes and the walk is past flower fields which is pleasant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dover, DE

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Wish the hotel was near a train station. Only option was to take a bus to the train or to drive to the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Ok hotel not a bad price

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Nice staff
Cons: A bit run down
Hotel was fine after we changed rooms. First room rundown but staff was fine with giving us another.
1 out of 5
by Steve from New Jersey

One of the worst hotels I've stayed at.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Very little.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Keukenhof Gardens marvelous, Lisse very pleasant. Other nice places for day trips.
We arrived at the Hotel de Nachtegaal for 5 days after a stay at the Ambassade in Amsterdam - an absolutely great place! The room at the Nachtegaal was OK, except they didn't clean it regularly and forgot to leave any towels one day. The breakfast in the restaurant was bad - supposedly a buffet. The hot food was cold, partially raw bacon and really awful scrambled eggs. The cold food was the normal juices, cold cuts and cereal. The coffee was left out in metal pitchers - sometimes cold - and once not there at all. The dinner in the restaurant was bad also, but not a major problem since there are nice restaurants in Lisse. The people at the front desk were pleasant, but only one seemed competent. Another promised to make a restaurant reservation for us and, of course, didn't. Overall, try to find another place to stay. The Keukenhof Gardens are wonderful - only marred by the hotel options.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Hotel near Keukenhof Gardens

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Cons: Get some new reception staff.
We thought that we were visiting a four star hotel but felt this one only ranked three stars. The rooms were acceptable and clean although quite small. We paid an additional fee for breakfast on day 1, which was appalling. The cooked breakfast buffet looked inedible and the very poor selection of bread, cheese and preserves were abysmal. Needless to say we didn't eat there on day 2. However the food served in their steak bar in the evening was ok. The reception staff were the most unhelpful we've ever experienced, we had no car with us and were asking their advice regarding buses to Keukenhof which was the primary reason for our visit. They couldn't come up with the bus times or even where the nearest stop was. The hotel has it's own mini bus for airport transfers and it wasn't until my husband asked what looked like the restaurant manager if he could help, that he very obligingly offered to take us the 1.2 miles to the gardens. (I couldn't walk that distance). Full marks to him. All in all not our best experience although the gardens at Keukenhof were fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sou'wester from West Lothian

Lovely hotel close to Keukenhof Gardens

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: staff, facilities and restaurant for dinner. Breakfast adequate but not exceptional.
Cons: Plug for wash-hand basin
Location: Keukenhof Gardens, Lisse town and Tulip museum.
Good facilities and excellent restaurant. Good value for money in my opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from East Kent, UK

Keukenhof

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Helpful and friendly staff. Clean and very comfortable
Cons: The bed
Location: Keukenhof bulb exhibition was a delight as were the bulb fields themselves. The smell of hyacinths was stupendous.
Hotel walking distance to keukenhof tulip and bulb display. So location excellent and keukenhof superb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with good facilities.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Having a pool and sauna in the hotel was a lovely addition. The restaurant was gorgeous and the food amazing but a little expensive during the evenings. It would have been nice to have an alternative to an expensive restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Stay

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: We found the staff at the hotel very helpful.
Cons: We were disappointed with the breakfast.That could be improved with few more chocieses.
We only stayed at the Hotel de Nachtegaal, Lisse for two nights which suited us.