Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Ok if travelling near Litchfield.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Peaceful
Cons: Breakfast, shower, TV, wifi.
Location: Litchfield + @thecorner pub.
The hotel (which we stayed in a few years ago as well as last weekend) offers a very peaceful night's sleep, which was our key priority for this stay. A short drive from Litchfield, which is lovely. However, it is dated, amenities are either ancient (TV), work poorly (wifi) or are not fit for purpose (breakfast was terrible). The shower was really weak also. If it had been cheaper some of this could be overlooked, but it was not cheap. Overall this place could be so much better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2015
The place is very nice, the room and breakfast were acceptable. Kind staff and free wifi in check in area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Old and outdated

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Staff super friendly
Cons: General conditions of the inn. At least to be able to open and close windows without a struggle.
Location: Litchfield town is very close with nice restaurants and stores. Also wineries and good drives if you like to be near trees.
Staff is super friendly but the Inn is outdated, is ok depending what your expectations are. If you are looking for an affordable place to sleep that is clean is ok. If you want a nicer place this is not it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wrightstown NJ

Fun place -

Posted Sep 3, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We love Litchfield!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Location: @ The Corner: Awesome food & beer, go dressed or casual, by the adorable town green.....Peaches & Cream: awesome ice cream, walking distance.
We live about a 3-hour drive from Litchfield so we booked a room at the Tollgate as part of a hiking trip to nearby Bear Mountain. After our hike, we checked in with the owner's daughter who was just the best. Our room was bigger than expected, didn't have any special amenities, but was updated/clean and bright with TV --- a lot nicer than I expected from Inn-style lodging. And we absolutely loved the large bed with memory foam mattress after a long hike! We did not dine at the restaurant or Tavern (next time!), but the continental breakfast in the morning was great...Good quality, variety, and we sat outside on the patio which was beautifully decorated with potted flowers, and a too-cute baby bird in his nest! We had only planned to stay the night for rest, but now that we know how lovely it is, we would certainly visit Tollgate Inn and Litchfield again :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel 6 quality at Hyatt prices

Posted May 26, 2014
Wow what a disappointment. From the outside it looks cute and inciting . Inside it smells like an antique store. Our room above the restaurant was in terrible shape. Please look elsewhere
3 out of 5
by Simon from Birmingham, UK

A bit creepy and slightly confusing

Posted May 19, 2014
We checked in to find a note with a key but did not see anyone (including any other guests) until after breakfast the next morning. The room was a little 'tired' but functional. The surroundings were a bit creepy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joe from new jersey

Lots of charm!

Posted Oct 21, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in a woodland setting

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Setting
Cons: New mantras for the bed
Location: Woodland setting
Good hotel 3 miles from Litchfield. Nice woodland setting
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mike

Ok

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Location and better than other options in town.
Cons: Above
Location: Good location and within driving distance to several attractions.
2nd time here and bed was great, service good and breakfast good. Too many stairs to room awakward going through restaurant to room. Better to deal direct with inn can accmodate requests better.