Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Beautiful place to stay! Maggie and Mick were fantastic and the breakfast was wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Picturesque and perfect!!!!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
What a lovely bed-and-breakfast… From the owners, to the rooms, to the homemade breakfast… Everything was simply wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: The owners are constantly improving the house; as it is very large; but that's part of the beauty of a historic building.
Location: Great for taking an Erie Canal Cruise or heading in to Cooperstown. The Copper Moose in town was our favorite restaurant.
We were heading to Maine for a wedding, so decided to stop to see Cooperstown on the way. Found this wonderful place and were treated to a wonderful stay. The house, the rooms, the inn keepers, the breakfast meals were a home run! I would tell anyone visiting Cooperstown to stay here and take the very scenic road that leads to the hall of fame instead of staying at the overpriced hotels there. You won't be disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Spent holiday weekend. Breakfast was leisurely and we even got a tour of this impressive home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Views, character, hospitality

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
My initial overnight was so pleasant that I arranged my return travel so I could stay at Overlook again. Mik and Maggie are thoughtful, personable hosts who are understandably proud of their inn and are applying their considerable knowledge of the mansion's history to restoring its signature character. The guest rooms are spacious, immaculate, quiet, and nicely appointed with period furnishings. And from every window, views, views, views! The open bar is a nice touch after a long day's drive, and you should be prepared for a challenge if you ask for the 3-egg omelet to start your day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Pleasant Surprise!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: It was a an old mansion with history. Very neat to stay at.
Cons: Lovely just the way it is! (Private bathrooms would be nice, especially if the house was full, but we didn't have any issues during our stay.)
Location: Quite a few local restaurants to choose from for dining. Nearby drug store & grocery store. Movie theater as well.
Our son had a wrestling tournament at a local high school and we were looking for a place to stay nearby. The local chain hotel was completely booked, so we decided to try a bed & breakfast. Never having stayed at one before we were a little skeptical to book. So glad we did! The house & owners were great! Our room was warm & cozy for a cold, snowy night. The view was fantastic! If you're looking for modern this is not the place for you. But if you want a clean, quite place to stay, with a great breakfast, this will do quite nicely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Mick and Maggie took great care of us during our stay. This is a beautiful mansion with period appointed furniture and detail. Would not hesitate to recommend or stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hidden gem, go find it and enjoy

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Relaxing comfort in a very hard time to relax, step back in time
Cons: Nothing really but wish they had a liquor license versus byob
Location: canal house for dinner, just relax
Gold room was lovely, I am not so much a b&b person nor is my wife, these owners really get it and you will unwind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Outstanding bed and breakfast

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Mik and Magie are doing huge effort to render your visit in their exiting home pleasant. The location of the hotel and its history make the stay very special. Highly recommended if you look for a unique hotel.