Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from surrey

Quirky hotel with lots of features.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: All the different features.
Cons: Maybe some new carpet
Location: only stayed one night to see some family in the evening
Helpful staff & good English breakfast.The hotel goes back to the 16th century& was a resting home for nuns before becoming a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful building

Posted Oct 9, 2017
We had a nice weekend unfortunately the first night was 70s night so we didn’t get to sleep until 1am. The next night was ok our room was above the restaurant so again lots of noise until about 11pm, so if you want a quiet night and a relaxing time best to check upcoming events. We both had treatments which where amazing, housekeeping where also lovely and approachable. The older gentleman who worked the bar/ restaurant was very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel with spa

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Convenient, quiet hotel which meets all basic requirements
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel of character close to nearby coastal towns

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Swimming pool and nice garden
Cons: Showers for all rooms
Location: Good location for visiting nearby seaside towns.
Hotel of character - converted parsonage. Had many rooms but our room was quite dark and the doorway to the room and into the bathroom etc were quite small so we had to be careful to not bump our heads. The room had a bath but no shower and we prefer showers. The water in the room was scolding hot. Cooked breakfast was good but there was little in the way of continental breakfast. Evening meals looked pricey. Good location for visiting nearby seaside towns.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly country hotel near seaside

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Staff couldn't have been more helpful solving our very late bookings, last minute changes and guest additions- including a toddler. Loved the place, good breakfasts and excellent fresh evening menu - try the steak and ale pies. Swimming pool and gardens really nice - we will be back again.
3 out of 5
by Martyn

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Ok hotel, but some way to go to be very good. I stayed in a room over the Lounge area, so you get to enjoy the radio until 10.30pm. Then you here all the goss from the staff tidying up afterwards. Both the waiting staff at the evening meal were pleasant and helpful, especially when I had several shards of glass in my Trifle. Which was not a pleasant experience, so Overall it can do a lot better.
4 out of 5
by Chris

Overnite stay

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Food and room was good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east sussex

Not what we had expected and not like the photo

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed and pretty garden
Cons: A good refurb of the bedrooms!
I thought the room was very overpriced at £169 for a superior double to include breakfast. The room was not at all like the photo shown, the decor was awful and really clashed and the furniture all needed a good repaint. There were shampoo marks on the shower curtain so I don't believe this had been cleaned before we arrived. The pool was out of use due to a window being smashed. The only plus side was that the bed was comfy!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit tired

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The hotel room was a bit tired and not really up to the standard promised on the website. Our room was Premier in price but not in size or facilities. They seem to be trading on the lovely building and nice garden, but have not been investing in the little things that make it feel special to match the frankly excessively high price.
5 out of 5
by Diane

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff and welcoming. Breakfast was very goo