Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel with spa

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Convenient, quiet hotel which meets all basic requirements
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel of character close to nearby coastal towns

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Swimming pool and nice garden
Cons: Showers for all rooms
Location: Good location for visiting nearby seaside towns.
Hotel of character - converted parsonage. Had many rooms but our room was quite dark and the doorway to the room and into the bathroom etc were quite small so we had to be careful to not bump our heads. The room had a bath but no shower and we prefer showers. The water in the room was scolding hot. Cooked breakfast was good but there was little in the way of continental breakfast. Evening meals looked pricey. Good location for visiting nearby seaside towns.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly country hotel near seaside

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Staff couldn't have been more helpful solving our very late bookings, last minute changes and guest additions- including a toddler. Loved the place, good breakfasts and excellent fresh evening menu - try the steak and ale pies. Swimming pool and gardens really nice - we will be back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east sussex

Not what we had expected and not like the photo

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed and pretty garden
Cons: A good refurb of the bedrooms!
I thought the room was very overpriced at £169 for a superior double to include breakfast. The room was not at all like the photo shown, the decor was awful and really clashed and the furniture all needed a good repaint. There were shampoo marks on the shower curtain so I don't believe this had been cleaned before we arrived. The pool was out of use due to a window being smashed. The only plus side was that the bed was comfy!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit tired

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The hotel room was a bit tired and not really up to the standard promised on the website. Our room was Premier in price but not in size or facilities. They seem to be trading on the lovely building and nice garden, but have not been investing in the little things that make it feel special to match the frankly excessively high price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Very good location

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Bed was very soft but very lovely hotel. Breakfast really good
4 out of 5
by John

Satisfied customer

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay. Staff friendly,lovely garden area. Would recommend it and definitely use here again.
5 out of 5
by Alan

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very traditional and unspoilt. Lots of atmosphere about the building. Very pleasant and welcoming staff
4 out of 5
by Cliff

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous - will be returning.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Had a wonderful weekend stay here with my partner. The room was wonderful (although too hot at night due to heated towel rail staying on - had we stayed for more nights I'm sure we could have had it switched off) and the bed was so comfortable. The pool and sauna were great and not busy at all, and our treatments by Stephanie (facial and hot stone massages) were amazing and good value. The only let down for me was a lack of choice of vegetarian meals - there was only one, cheese based, main course that I could have and breakfast was tomato, egg, mushrooms, beans and hash browns. It was all tasty and good quality but would prefer more options. My carnivore partner said her meal was one of the best she'd had. Will definitely be returning :)