Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

OK for overnight stay

Posted Dec 25, 2016
We stayed overnight which was OK but wouldn't want to stay longer than that. The room was well equipped, but bed small and uncomfortable for us. The wardrobe in our room was flimsy and the door was stiff. The bathroom was clean but I had to stand on tiptoe to use it as the vanity cabinet it sat in was too far out. On the plus side owners were lovely and the breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heswall, Wirral

Lovely place to stay.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Almost Home from home.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great pub, beach and general area.
We had a lovely welcome from Jules, the owner, and were shown to our very clean, lovely room. It is a very quiet area, just 2 minutes away from the Black Horse Pub, that served excellent food. We enjoyed our stay and very much enjoyed the fabulous full English breakfast, made with quality ingredients. Jules was on hand to help with any requests such as fresh milk for the room and was a great host. I would fully recommend this B&B to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Owners very welcoming Breakfast very g

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Very pleasant overnight business stay.suitable for business use.Quiet and relaxing with good wifi connection
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greenwich, London

Excellent accommodation with a warm welcome.

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: See above
Location: See above
Upon arrival, we were greeted by Jules and Jon who immediately came across as very friendly and helpful. It appeared that nothing would be too much trouble. Our room was extremely clean and fresh looking and perfect for our one night stay. Breakfast was excellent too and certainly set us up for the day! The guest house is about two minutes drive to an unspoilt beach at Climping and there is a good pub a few hundred yards down the lane. Derwent House is ideal for those looking for a quiet break although Arundel is only a few minutes away and Chichester, West Wittering and Bosham are all within 30 minutes drive and all worth a visit. I would thoroughly recommend Derwent House as a base and wouldn't hesitate to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

A model bed and breakfast!

Posted Oct 12, 2015
We enjoyed our spacious, comfortable and well-appointed accommodation and splendid breakfasts. Our host and hostess were most welcoming and helpful. Derwent House is thoroughly charming in all respects. We fully understand why our breakfast companions from Belgium have been coming back for many years. Highly recommended! The Black Horse Inn, minutes down the road, is a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Townsville, Australia

English village charm

Posted Aug 17, 2015
The B&B is a short walk to the beach, and an even shorter walk to the local pub. The street is quiet, and has all the idyllic charm of the quaint English village you see in the movies and on television. The hosts are warm and welcoming, and friendly. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and it was lovely to sit at a communal table with other guests. The room was spacious, and comfortable. It would be perfect for a longer stay. I will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

Nice quiet bed and breakfast in a good location.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Room and breakfast.
Location: Good country pub nearby with excellent food.
Jules was a very welcoming host who showed us to our room and explained the facilities. Very pleasant room with ensuite bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast provided in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: as above
Cons: nothing
Excellent commodation friendly couple and great food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely B&B, comfortable, quiet and welcoming

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Friendly, quiet, lovely breakfast. They thought of everything.
Cons: Shame there was no shower in the bathroom, just a bath with handheld shower attachment. However there was bubble bath so could have a relaxing soak!
Location: It is down a country lane that finishes at crimping beach. Quiet Pebble beach. The local pub does lovely food and is a very short walk away.
They thought of everything, even a little torch light attached to the keys, necessary for the short walk back from the local pub. Breakfast was cooked to order between 8-9 and the owners were very accommodating and helpful. Would definitely stay again. I even had a four poster bed in my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Byfleet Surrey

Our wonderful break

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The very warm welcome, Fantastic breakfasts, and excellent Hosts A very well appointed premises
Cons: A shower curtain
Location: Location A short walk to Climping beach Seaside town of Littlehamton nearby lovely scenery ,good walking country
This very charming little Hotel was discovered by my wife on Internet in a peaceful lane in Sussex .We enjoyed two wonderfully peaceful day's in great surroundings near the sea.