Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Very warm welcome. Lovely accommodation

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Location: Lovely peaceful village. Short walk to the beach. Short car journey to Bognor Regis.
Would recommend this bed and breakfast. It was clean, warm and comfortable. Lovely owners. Could not do enough for you. Will definitely be going back again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Its position in Clymping and all other facilities ( except the washing Arrangements.)
Cons: Bath and shower as mentioned above. Bath would not pass health and safety regulations.
Location: We were visiting friends in the area.
I am 82 years old and my wife is 77. There were no showering facilities and the bath had no handles to grip on - hence not satisfactory. We could not recommend Derwent House in the circumstances. WE were told that the owners have just sold the business and we hope that that new owners will install modern washing facilities in order that we can return in the future when visiting friends on the area. Lovely to return home for a bath and shower!
5 out of 5
by david

Nice hidden gem

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
Superb welcome. Lovely location even if a bit isolated. Nice stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet b&b

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Quiet location, walking distance to pub and beach. Driving distance to Arundel and surrounding towns.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended B&B

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Cons: Facilities were a bit dated and could do with an upgrade.
Location: Beach up the road.
I had a lovely stay. The room was large and comfortable. Very helpful and friendly owner dropped me off at the station so I could catch my train on time when I couldn't get a cab. Would definitely stay there again. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool,UK

A most attractive country retreat

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing at all.Derwent House has it all!
Location: Derwent House is about 3 miles from Littlehampton and close to the main road leading into the town.It has a pub close by and is close to Arundel
I was greeted by a very charming lady by the name of Jules who immediately showed me to the room that I had booked.The room was spacious and very comfortable with generous facilities.It was in a quiet location accessed by a narrow country lane and the only things that I was able to hear during the night was the dawn chorus of birdsong. The breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked to order.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

This is NOT a hotel. Uncomfortable guest house

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: EVERYTHING. Do NOT charge for rooms as HOTEL or B&B.
Location: Goodwood Festival of Speed. Coffee shop (hexagonal) on the way to Goodwood from the Guest House. Crown Inn in Chittingfold is better.
We booked the weekend at Derwent House on the basis of it being a 'Top Hotel' / 4 star hotel in the vicinity of Goodwood Festival Speed, and considering the ratings and free parking, we were confident that we would be retiring after long days at the festival to a comfortable local boutique style hotel. Derwent House is an uncomfortable GUEST HOUSE. It is NOT a hotel at all. In fact, if you read the fine print under the bookings section you will see they actually say B&B but that it is not either. There is no stand up shower, the beds are short, old, full of springs and wide enough for one slim short person to sleep (loose term!). The carpet stinks of dog. We came to check in just after lunch time, but again the fine print says check in 4-8pm. The gardener was there to greet us, but seeing the house without getting our bags even to a reception area was enough for doubt to shadow our experience. The house itself is the size of a regular 4 star reception and concierge area, so we actually believed we must have got the wrong address. The other guests also cancelled their stay as they couldn't get a wink of sleep either in this noisy creeky house. I couldn't be paid to stay here again and we ended up driving daily to and from London for the Goodwood festival instead, for the want of sleep and basic amenities like a shower!
4 out of 5
by Alistair

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by eric

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
perfect for our requirement extremely welcoming helpful .Excellent breakfast
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Derwent B and B

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely stay, great localtion and hosts. Breakfast was fab overall fantastic will be staying again