Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
37% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by peggy

No Notice that we didn't have a place to stay

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was closed when we arrived. The neighboring B&B that took us in said the Nelson had tried to do a little renovation and asbestos was found and don't know when they will be able to open.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cosy stay

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant welcoming, cosy room, clean and comfortable. Light in bathroom didn't work and breakfast not included for £75 a night, also no car park had to park on public street outside hotel. Overall pleasant stay.
1 out of 5
by Anthony

Worst place I have ever stayed in 30 years

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
This was the worst hotel I have stayed in for 30 years ,never be for have I ever stayed in such a dump , wallpaper hanging of walls paint peeling and the shower room was so dirty there was a hole in the shower cubicle big enough for a rat to get in with you , it was a family room , people please don't take your family here ,
5 out of 5
by Angharad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Great potential

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The bedroom and beds were great.
Cons: see above
Location: Stunning views along the river and harbour and great info boards and info centre.
Lovely spacious bedroom with river and sea views. Comfortable beds with nice bedding and nice furniture, though there were small food scraps on one stool. The ensuite was very poor with hardly any space, toilet roll holder not filled and toilet roll in a precarious position. the shower curtain was too long and got in the way and there was a hole in the cavity wall. The locks on the outside door and bedroom door were loose and very difficult to operate. We thought we were locked out for the night and there was no one around. Eventually got in but could not extricate key from outside of door. did so in the end after a struggle. Then breakfast (extra payment) was not till 10am. These things could easily be dealt with then it would be a great place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of upgrading

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Checked in ok when we open our door I was shocked it was in desperate need of attention booked an ensuite room only to find the bathroom in what can only be described as a cupboard. The shower basin was disgusting there was no way I was showering in it .there was a damp patch on the cieling the curtains were hanging off the wall the window would not shut as the handles were broken the lamp shade at side of bed looks like someone's sat on it iron burn marks on carpet and the kettle would not even reach the plug socket
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The only benefit of this hotel is the location

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The Hotel is in perfect location close to all amenities and Beach but requires serious renovation or at least good look after the interior and better cleaning,
3 out of 5
by Richard

Unfortunate

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
In a delightful area, but unfortunately very tired and run down. Grubby everywhere; the room curtains didn't stop the light and were badly repaired. Bed linen shabby. Info on the place says breakfast available, BUT it wasn't!
4 out of 5
by Steve

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our stay and it was very relaxing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Clean hotel friendly staff. Will definitely return after their upgrade.