Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

High priced low quality

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: It was the closest to our friends party but that's all it had going for it!
Cons: I'm afraid there are many things: Energy saving lighting lighting change to LED lighting so it doesn't keep going out or coming on & the issues above.
Location: When we arrived we had know where to park as there was a function with many people & kids running around the garden screaming so we didn't get to see
The room was of poor quality for what was supposed to be the best rest. The bed was awfully uncomfortable & we harsly slept as a result. It was obvious breakfast was precooked as it arrived less than 5 minutes after ordering it which didn't allow us time to have any fruit. The toast arrived cold & by the time we realised there wasn't any on the table we had nobody to ask to get some. Basically we've stayed in far better hotels that offered better service for half the price of this one. Now I understand why payment was taken when we arrived rather than when we left! Where we handed the key into a couple of kids chatting in the corner & ignored u
3 out of 5
by carrie from stevenage

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Bathroom shower rubbish, water was a trickle running.
4 out of 5
by Sophie from Colchester

Good but could do much better in the morning

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for a business trip, when I arrived and at dinner the staff were outstanding, they could not do enough for me! I had a lovely swim and a sauna and the evening meal was one of the best steak's I have ever had, and the waiting staff were amazing. However in the morning I could not of felt more let down. The Breakfast waitress was surly and just pointed me towards a table I ordered and the food and it did arrive very fast however that was the last I saw of her. She then retreated to the kitchen and all I could hear after that was laughter and chatting, no one checked if all was ok or if I needed anything else? finally I know that it sounds petty but the bread was of very poor quality which after the food the night before was a huge let down.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pleasant little hotel in pretty Sussex vilaage

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: The character and general ambience.
Only one night spent here the food was very good although the portion size for the evening meal could have been a little larger. All in all we enjoyed the stay there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Pleasant country hotel with character.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Old world charm. Welcoming staff. Adequate parking
Cons: Central heating needs attention.
Location: ear t
Well presented by its staff and general appearance. Reason for visit was an over night stay for myself and wife to attend a local wedding. Very comfortable if a little too warm. Excellent choice for breakfast both full English and continental. Other facilities i.e. pool and fitness centre(not used) appeared to be first class.
5 out of 5
by Elaine from Staffordshire

Relaxing

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
We were there to stay whilst at a family wedding near by. Did not get to see local area but hotel servive etc was very good would stay there again. Our stay was for two nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel but shame about the room

Posted Dec 29, 2015
The main parts of the building are beautifully furnished and maintained. Unfortunately the room we were given was small and basic. The paint work was in need of a refresh and there was a noisy extractor outlet right outside our window. However, the staff were polite and helpful and I'm sure if we'd had a different room it would have been a much better experience.
3 out of 5
by Timo

nice rooms

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
nice rooms, breakfast could be better, pool and Fitness is rather small
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Terrible experience !!!

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Christmas decoration and the entrance
Cons: You need to refurbished your rooms! Carpets, furniture, beds , old Tv's
I booked the hotel to celebrate my anniversary but terrible surprise . The entrance and the Christmas decorations in the hotel look lovely and very welcoming. We walked into the room and we were disappointed by the conditions of the room, tired carpet and furniture, uncomfortable bed. As we drove all the way from London we decided to enjoy the stay and not make big deal of it. After 10 minutes there was a loud noise coming from next room (bathroom) which it didn't stop. I explained the receptionist (inexperienced girl who has not idea of "customer service") but she said that they didn't have another room and it must be the water system. After I explained her that we wont be able to sleep she went to speak with her Manager. They showed us another room but the new room was allocated just below the room that originally gave us. I opened the door but the same noise was there. I explained I wasn't happy and it will be difficult for us to rest during the night but her response was " we don't have another room and she left like she didn't care. My partner and I decided to leave the hotel and went to reception to return the key, I guess the Manager finally realise that we were unhappy and decided to show us another horrible room , it was too late ! We were disappointed by the service and their lack of response so we cancelled our booking and drove all the way back to London !!. Seriously how can you ask £129 for a room with such a noise!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
by Nicki from East Grinstead

Ok but definitely not worth £159

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Room very small and stuffy but clean. Bed was comfortable. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Bar area pleasant.