Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely staff shame about the hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Its proximity to the main line station and university and other amenities.
Cons: The rooms need a complete refurbishment, they are old, small and smell old and used. The staircase is old and banisters are loose.
The staff at this hotel work really hard to make your stay comfortable and are very friendly. Unfortunately the hotel is very noisy, old and in need of serious refurbishment. There is no lift. Our room was not particularly comfortable and rather small, beds were small but the rooms had everything we needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wells

Good location, very helpful staff

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast, parking.
Cons: Double glazing required
Hotel very well placed for the city centre, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the parking (at £10 per day) was very useful. However, it is situated on quite a busy road, and I was very surprised to find that it had single glazing in wooden sashes, which rattled loudly until I jammed some folded card between them (it was a very windy night), and the traffic noise way pretty loud in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LAURE-LINE

Moyen

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Sans chauffage et chasse d'eau ni pression à la douche c'est bien dommage. Vu le prix ! La chambre est bien petite mais l'hôtel est bien situé et l'accueil agréable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol from Pontefract

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good ,our room was nice and warm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset UK

Central Hotel and convenient for University

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Not a great deal other than convenience of location
Cons: Where can I start!
Location: Excellent location and the University and shps are all close.
Comfortable enough but facilities were rather dowdy and in need of upgrading. The bedroom was smaller than the adjacent en-suite bathroom! When we arrived two of the three central lights did not work; the hotel obliged by replacing them but this should have been done before we arrived. The food was fine and the dining room clean but rather dark. Parking secure at rear but costs £10/day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the University

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Had a very good time there. Really liked the secure parking (extra £10 / day). Breakfast is excellent and staff are very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by graham from Ellesmere Port

Joyce's birthday

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Close to philharmonic theatre where we saw two concerts , excellent stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good breakfast, poor wifi

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Breakfast food. friendly staff. Location.
Cons: Wifi and smoking policy
This hotel is well situated and the staff are friendly and helpful. There are two things that weren't good. The 'free hi speed wifi' rarely works. I was only there for two days and out most of the time but I had to ask them to reboot their server four times! Clearly it is a common problem. The other issue was smoking. Although the place is non smoking, they allow people to step outside the breakfast room and smoke on the little patio. This means that the breakfast room has a cold draught and smells of tobacco. Non smokers beware!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lauren from Australia

Quiet, comfortable, friendly, great value

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Spent an overnight here on a lengthy road trip. Exceptional value for money! Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Great location about 15min walk to shops & restaurants so nice & quiet around hotel. Affordable overnight lockup carpark. Highly recommend