Ratings based on 1,062 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Wouldn't recommend to a dog!

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Dirty, old, emptying bins all night outside and the hard lumpy was impossible to sleep in! Add to this the rude manager on complaining and expedias useless customer service it equals one of my worst hotel experiences ever. Awful!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
The internet photos are too flattering. Externally, it's a lovely building, rooms haven't been upgraded in 30 years. Very old and it shows.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London


Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing!
Cons: Spring clean everywhere. Teach staff some manners and how to smile.Stop charging for 4 star when only giving 2 star service.
Location: Few minutes from main station, not very nice area, very seedy. It is convenient to public transport to get to all places of interest in Liverpool.
Reception staff straight faced and not at all welcoming, bathroom too hot and dirty, bed/sitting room was freezing and woodwork and mirrors dirty, carpet not as clean as it should be. The linen was very clean but for the price we paid everything was depressing and disappointing, very small amount of tea and coffee and not even one biscuit. Would never go again.... cheap B & B's have better rooms than the one we were given.Thank goodness it was for only one night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Totally ripped off - dirtiest smallest room ever

Posted Sep 14, 2015
I really should complain. We were put in the dirtiest smallest noisest room I ve ever stayed in. The first room they put us had just been painted and stunk so we asked to be moved. The next one was just as cramped, dirty, hot and noisy. Never again
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: The ambiance.
Location: This is Liverpool, there are thousands of things to do and see. Check out the bus tours and of course the Ferry across the Mersey.
A beautiful hotel full of character and style. All the staff were excellent and very attentive and helpful.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Full of character, great location

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Room, clean, functional. Character. Location. Great staff.
Cons: Slow lifts.
Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip. Was quite anxious after having read some of the reviews. On arrival I found the open air car park behind the hotel easily, and the check-in was very efficient. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Allocated a small (Lex) room on the 6th floor. It appeared to have been recently refurbished. Quite comfortable for me (single traveler), clean. Bathroom was clean and functional. Everything worked (TV, wifi), and the room was cleaned every day. Very happy overall. The hotel is full of character - clearly from a bygone era. I hope they are able to fully renovate all of the rooms (6 floors?) soon as it deserves to be restored to its former glory. Staff very helpfully arranged for a friend to collect some clothes I hastily left behind after checking out in a hurry. Thank you! Only negative - very slow lifts. Overall, I would recommend, providing you stay in a refurbished room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Dirtiest bathroom ever!

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Dirty and lack of maintenance in the toilet, terrible smell in the bathroom. No windows. Old furniture. Not a nice family area.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire

Nice hotel close to the city centre rail and bus.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: I like the hotel because it's very close to the Shops rail and bus stations
Cons: It needs refurbishing .
Location: There's lots close by Shops cafe's pubs museums library
I all ways stay at The Adelphi it's close to the shops rail and bus stations .it's always warm and clean, There's a good choice for breakfast . The staff are very friendly and helpfull
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay in this hotel!

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing, unfortunately.
Cons: Staff training, house keeping,
Location: It is pretty near to the main train station.
First time staying in Liverpool and felt that the staffs are extremely unfriendly and unhelpful, possibly racist towards Asians. Reception services are so slow that it creates a whole long queue on the lobby. They probably took 15mins for each guest. I was pretty shocked that this hotel was named the most famous in Liverpool, which makes me thing very badly about the whole city. Room wise, I discovered a used pantyliner in the toilet, room service was terrible as they dont seem to change bath towels and bed sheets. The room card sometimes doesn't work on our door which is annoying!! Went to the reception and the woman was telling me they don't know why it doesn't work either. Thanks alot! Hotel foods are disappointing, I have never eaten the worst afternoon tea before. Overall, my experience in Liverpool are really sad. Wouldn't come to Liverpool again. But I will advice everyone to take a day trip to Liverpool, visit the Anfield stadium as that is the only thing that is right for the whole 3 days of my trip.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Es un hotel muy céntrico con habitaciones grandes

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Buen lugar para hospedarse, esta en zona céntrica y de fácil localización... limpiaban la habitacion durante todos los días q m hospedé, lo malo esq el wifi no llega a las habitaciones por lo demás es perfecto... Si volviese a liverpool volvería a elegir este hotel.