Ratings based on 1,680 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A good old fashion hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Close to the railway station ,in walking distance to everything. An old fashion hotel that is worth a visit in itself.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Not good for people with allergies

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: History, grandeur.
Cons: Cleanliness, upkeep.
Location: Great location, close to many shops and 15-minute walk to the docks.
This hotel is a gorgeous but faded old beauty. The history is amazing, the ballrooms and endless sumptuous halls are a wonder to explore. But it needs serious investment both for maintenance (paint, new carpets, repairs) and for daily upkeep (I sense it is quite understaffed to keep up with what must be a huge constant cleaning job). Our room was past my comfort level in terms of cleanliness. Fingerprints and brown smudges (makeup, I think?) on doorjambs and knobs, extremely dirty windows (just don't pull the drapes), sticky bathroom floor, very dirty/stained carpet in room and hallway (I wouldn't go barefoot or touch the bathroom floor). I can live with a lot of honest dirt, like when camping, but in a hotel I don't like to be constantly thinking about how many other people have stayed in/ touched the room. (I will say, the bed and sheets were very clean.) I have medium-grade allergies (dust, pollen) and I was struggling after a day - I think the place is very musty. So I have mixed feelings about recommending the Adephi. If you can go in and tour the main meeting floors but don't have to stay overnight, you've had the best of both worlds. I hope someone can give this lovely place the TLC it requires.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fife

Adelphi Liverpool

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Break fast was good and the room was large and comfortable. Within walking distance of Liverpool Lime Street Station.
Cons: Noisy, no quiet place to get a drink
Location: Liverpool has two cathedrals and there are museums. The docks are worth a visit with plenty of restaurants there. Good Night life
Large room but access was through the main lounge/dining area. Eventually found another route but access up stairs each time which is not much fun with a suitcase.It was also noisy from function suite and from hotel machinery. Main bar was pen to public access and was both busy and extremely noisy. One bar was closed with a private function.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blackpool

Nice staff shame about the hotel.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We were so disgusted and disappointed with the two rooms we booked that we left in the middle of the night. Both our rooms were dirty the bedding was filthy Yiu needed shoes on to walk on the carpets and our room had not been cleaned from the previous occupants. Wet towels dirty cups and bath mat not to mention wires coming into the room and filthy upholstery.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
adequate stay but lenght of questionaire unacceptable!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 4, 2017
I'll keep it short a dirty awful hotel that was probably nice in the 60s
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap last minute booking, not awful not fantastic

Posted Jul 1, 2017
We booked this hotel last minute for £37 on trivago. The exterior and lobbies look nice however the room was small and needed a severe update; peeling plaster on ceiling the toilet wouldn't flush unless you pumped it about 7 times and you can hear what's going on in other rooms. You get what you pay, it wasn't an awful stay but fitted our purpose as it was a one night stay where the hotel room wasnt important. If you're planning on staying longer than 1 night I would shop around as I wouldn't want to stay any longer than that.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy stay in tired old hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Rooms need an urgent revamp. Warn non stag and hen party guests that the hotel is a all night party venue.
Location: Good central location.
One night stay in a tired room with dated and worn decor. Scruffy bathroom with a wall mounted bottle opener as an accessory (says it all). A noisy hotel full of hen and stag party's. Excessive noise from adjoining rooms and landing until 5am. On check in staff give no info other than room number and on checkout staff didn't even bother asking if we had a nice stay. Terrible value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Tired, run down and over priced

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location, close to the train station and plenty of night life.
Cons: The whole hotel would benefit from refurbishment, it's so tired and rundown. And when charging £155 a night, I can't see why they can't afford to do
Having paid £155 for one night I expected a superior quality stay. Instead I ended up with a tired and rundown room sadly in need of refurbishment as well as a deep clean, in particular the bathroom. Whilst the room was a good size it smelt a little fusty (feint stale smoke smell). The window wouldn't shut properly so there was noise throughout the early hours. Check in took almost 20 minutes. The cost of the room did not include breakfast. The location of the hotel was ideal for what we needed, and the building is beautiful just very shabby. This break was for a family celebration, and I have to say, the hotel really let us down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge, uk

Delightful hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Loved the dimensions of all the rooms - restaurant, lobby, lounge, Crosby bar, etc. A majestic hotel with history that matches the great cityLiverpool
Cons: Polishing of brass and chandeliers. Room soap stamped with the Adelphie - this has been and should remain an important hotel of Liverpool.
Location: Both cathedrals and the waterfront are worth a visit.
Delightful hotel in an excellent location, in need of some funding from the owners to restore it to it's former glory. Excellent location, plenty of accommodation, inspired food, Staff brilliant.