Ratings based on 1,693 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Great location

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Great location ideal for our night out . Good for the money although room was very small. Would stay again if only for the location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Period hotel at the centre of Liverpool night life

Posted Aug 2, 2017
We arrived after 7 hours of travel for what should have been 3 and a half hours. We were greeted by hotel staff that simply didn't want to be there, both members of staff at reception were stony faced and not particularly friendly. We were checked in and it was explained to us where the lifts were, that was it..no mention of anything else despite being a spa hotel and having a lot of stairs and bars and restaurants available to us. The room was different to what I was expecting although this isn't a bad thing. Very big and spacious room with a separate private bathroom. The shower was surprisingly powerful and above expectation. The bed was comfortable. All in all a good stay but the staff need customer relations training and perhaps an injection of personality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Beautiful building, lovely pool

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Architecture, central position, friendly helpful staff.
Cons: The plumbing in my room was a little quirky and I couldn't use the shower. The bath was lovely though so it didn't really matter.
The hotel is beautiful. Yes it has seen better days; faded grandeur describes it perfectly. The miles of marble corridors were fabulous. Also fantastic light fittings. The room was comfortable, bedding and towels spotless. The seagulls were a little noisy but hey... the hotel staff were super helpful. I really enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Excellent City Centre Location

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The décor and the breakfast room arrangements
Location: Ideal for train stations and pubs/restaurants
This hotel is ideally situated for both main train stations and for the city centre pubs and restaurants. The hotel could do with a bit of refurbishment but was clean and everything I used worked fine. The breakfast room was very busy and probably could have done with more staff and better organisation as it was a bit of a free for all to get and keep a table. Overall a decent hotel in an ideal location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Dirty, smelly rooms in a very dated hotel. If it had been less than £50 a night you might just about expect it. But at £135 this hotel is a disgrace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A good old fashion hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Close to the railway station ,in walking distance to everything. An old fashion hotel that is worth a visit in itself.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Not good for people with allergies

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: History, grandeur.
Cons: Cleanliness, upkeep.
Location: Great location, close to many shops and 15-minute walk to the docks.
This hotel is a gorgeous but faded old beauty. The history is amazing, the ballrooms and endless sumptuous halls are a wonder to explore. But it needs serious investment both for maintenance (paint, new carpets, repairs) and for daily upkeep (I sense it is quite understaffed to keep up with what must be a huge constant cleaning job). Our room was past my comfort level in terms of cleanliness. Fingerprints and brown smudges (makeup, I think?) on doorjambs and knobs, extremely dirty windows (just don't pull the drapes), sticky bathroom floor, very dirty/stained carpet in room and hallway (I wouldn't go barefoot or touch the bathroom floor). I can live with a lot of honest dirt, like when camping, but in a hotel I don't like to be constantly thinking about how many other people have stayed in/ touched the room. (I will say, the bed and sheets were very clean.) I have medium-grade allergies (dust, pollen) and I was struggling after a day - I think the place is very musty. So I have mixed feelings about recommending the Adephi. If you can go in and tour the main meeting floors but don't have to stay overnight, you've had the best of both worlds. I hope someone can give this lovely place the TLC it requires.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fife

Adelphi Liverpool

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Break fast was good and the room was large and comfortable. Within walking distance of Liverpool Lime Street Station.
Cons: Noisy, no quiet place to get a drink
Location: Liverpool has two cathedrals and there are museums. The docks are worth a visit with plenty of restaurants there. Good Night life
Large room but access was through the main lounge/dining area. Eventually found another route but access up stairs each time which is not much fun with a suitcase.It was also noisy from function suite and from hotel machinery. Main bar was pen to public access and was both busy and extremely noisy. One bar was closed with a private function.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blackpool

Nice staff shame about the hotel.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We were so disgusted and disappointed with the two rooms we booked that we left in the middle of the night. Both our rooms were dirty the bedding was filthy Yiu needed shoes on to walk on the carpets and our room had not been cleaned from the previous occupants. Wet towels dirty cups and bath mat not to mention wires coming into the room and filthy upholstery.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
adequate stay but lenght of questionaire unacceptable!