Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from blackpool

very good breakfast, clean, quiet, 10 mins to town

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, pleasant staff, attractive dining room
Cons: would have been nice to have a lounge to sit in. honesty bar a good idea of with fresh milk free of charge
Location: 10 mins walk to town, nice shops most undercover. plenty of restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet location convenient to Lord Street & front.

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Fairly comfortable, but no lounge/sitting room. Off street private parking in area of small private guest houses/private homes. Close to promenade and main areas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overall a nice place to stay

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The only things negative i can say is the room smelled of damp and the ceiling had odd patches of white paint on it as did the breakfast room and there was supposed to be a fridge and wasnt so i had to throw food away i had took.but john was a lovely man,he went out of his way to please,gave me a small fridge so was able to save some food and gave us plates and cutlery when asked.the room was lovely and clean,he cooked my breakfast early as i was going to the theatre early,a really lovely host and cant fault him as a host at all,the service was excellent and martha was sweet and a joy to see in the morning as she served our breakfast,thankyou john xx
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west yorkshire

Edendale guest house

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Ebookers
The host was very helpful and friendly. My room was pleasant and the bedding was new and good quality, also a small 2 seater settee and a small bathroom. There was fresh milk available for tea making facilities which made a nice change from heat treated stuff! There was a fridge on the stair landing with soft & alcoholic drinks available at a reasonable charge. Breakfast is included in the price, served from 8.15. As I needed to leave before this time I couldn't take advantage of it, however the host did make me tea & toast which was appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

A great B&B

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: The great breakfast and John, the manager, who found the time for me with suggestions for where to visit and directions to get there.
Cons: Nothing really!
Location: Southport is a lovely seaside resort with a lot of history and things to see and do. I walked everywhere around the tourist areas and on the pier.
The staff and management were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and the facilities are excellent. Part of the hotel is in need of some repair and paint, but this is only cosmetic and is confined to the entrance and is due to the lack of available tradesmen/women. The breakfast choice is the best I have ever seen at a B&B and is cooked to perfection! A very comfortable few nights were spent here and I slept very well. Not a long walk into the town centre and the surrounding area is very pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Southport and I will be staying at Edendale House during my next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful host and excellent breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I had a lovely time and the staff were very polite and helpful..we would stay here again..many thanks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
John could not have been more helpful or attentive to our needs, the choice at breakfast was incredible,service was good and overall we had an excellent weekend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north yoks

good value

Posted Sep 1, 2016
this is a good value hotel with in an easy and pleasant walk to towns facilities. super hosts very welcoming. fab breakfast choice( they have an award for this and justly earned! )
5 out of 5
by Rob from Winchester

Family stay

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Family trip to Southport visiting an elderly relative, our party was 2 adults and 2 children, we had a family room on the top floor. The room had a separate bedroom for our kids which was very welcome. This hotel is a lovely place to stay, our only quibble was that our bathroom had no proper shower and the flow from the extension on the bath taps was rather weak.