Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bishop Auckland, Co Durham

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Central location to city centre
Location: City Centre
We stopped two nights, and when we asked the staff a couple of questions they were very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denbigh, North Wales

Convenient location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable bar.
Cons: The central heating system. I had to be provided with a fan heater.
Location: Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King (5 mins), Philharmonic Hall & the excellent RLPO (10), Anglican Cathedral (15) and City Centre (20 mins).
Ideal location for concerts at the Philharmonic Hall and within 20 minutes walking distance of both Cathedrals, theatres and the City Centre. Because of the listed building status the hotel lacks lifts which older visitors would appreciate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No complaints

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Lovely hotel ..within walking distance from the town centre just what we wanted.Reception staff very helpful and lovely,room very clean and bed was very comfortable.Only complaint would be that we couldn't turn the radiator down as was on full blast (Uni11) so just had to leave the window open..apart from that we would definitely come back again...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by James Constantine- Reception Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Kind Regards James Constantine
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No room availability when arriving

Posted Feb 3, 2017
I booked and paid the room through Expedia, but was told there's no room available when arriving. Then I decided to cancel it and request a refund, however, I still didn't get it now. It was a unpleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very dated, no comfort

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
room: was small and uninviting - unhoovered carpet, dust covered the mirror, hair in the bed, sheets were clean but historic black spots on the duvet cover, smelt musty, cold radiator, uncomfortable creaky bed, noise from other rooms. bathroom: tiles mouldy, had been cleaned but bits of black left on the shower tray, no radiator or towel rail so very cold, old poor performing shower, no room for anything, smelt of cleaning fluid, towel rack over the toilet - one fell in. near the university which was the only plus point as visiting from London with daughter taking part in a discovery day. Was cheap so felt I couldn't complain but should have done.
3 out of 5
by LOUISE

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff a bit rude, room extremely basic, even for the cheap rate we got, but did the job, it was convenient, and visit into Liverpool was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Friendly staff , good location room clean and welcoming will certainly be staying here again on forthcoming visits to Liverpool. Parking is a bit restricted but secure and actually much less expensive than parking in the street. We did confirm parking when we booked our room and I would advise doing so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester

Nice hotel in a good location.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Only stayed for One night. But friendly staff, great room for one night and located 5mins walk from city centre. Would stay again. Only downfall was getting a parking ticket when parked in the multi storey car park after getting advice to park there from reception.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor hotel in desperate need of refurbishment

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything it really is in poor repair from décor to carpets
Location: ok
very basic room stayed in cheaper and much better hotels don't know why I had to pay for parking because it was in the courtyard at no extra expense to great western just an extra tariff to customers no remote for tv the only plus side was the staff who were very helpful you are very lucky to keep hold of them I don't know when the last time the aa done an inspection on this hotel but I don't think they would give it 3 star if they did know there was a lot of noise in the morning when the beer was being delivered and the roller shutter doors were being opened
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good for the money

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Good location as i went to a show 5 minutes walk