Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Clean and friendly staff

Posted Dec 1, 2017
It was grand staying there when I go over to watch Liverpool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

break included for price fab budget option

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: fab retro look as in red phone box, nice breakfast included
Cons: not really I thought worth what I paid, it is a hostel
Location: great shopping, the albert dock, the cavern club (latter not tried)
I was attending a conference, my work do not fund accommodation I searched and found this place. I was in a 6 bed dorm only 3 in use, plus easy plug access to charge the phone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Wainwtight, Alberta, Canada

Excellent location, great price for a quick stay!

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Unique aesthetic and atmosphere, friendly staff and a great morning breakfast!
Cons: In shared dorms perhaps a bit more emphasis on keeping the rooms clean/tidy for the other people staying in them as well? Bathrooms, specifically.
Location: It was remarkably central, and took me no more than a 20-30 minute walk to get to where I needed to go. Excellent location!
I had flown over to the UK from Canada for a quick weekend trip to get tattooed in Liverpool, and so I was looking for a cheap place to stay that would give me a bed to sleep in for the night and not much else. This place was priced perfectly, and actually my first Hostel stay. It was a 5 minute walk from the train station I came in to, and once I arrived I was greeted with extremely friendly staff who got me set up and into my room in no time at all. The atmosphere is really unique, and I loved the aesthetic and presentation of the lobby and hallways -- but once I walked into my room (women dorm with 8 beds) there was a bit left to be desired. Staying in a room with other people is new to me, so this could be the norm for all I know, but the room was a bit of a mess with luggage and clothes strewn about, and the bathroom cluttered with all manners of products and lotions. This is by no means the Hostel's fault that my roomates were a bit messy, but perhaps the staff could be sure to emphasize that the dorms are shared and they should be kept clean/tidy? The bed was comfortable -- for the one night I was there at least -- but any more than a few nights I think wouldn't be the greatest for ones back, so perhaps getting a single room may be a better option in that regard. The shower was tiny, but it had nice hot water so I have no complaints in that regard. Overall I would stay here again, providing its for a short trip as I don't regret booking my stay for the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Nice hotel in centre of town and close to train st

Posted Sep 25, 2017
This is a hostel. The building is Victorian and therefore if you are expecting a 5 five star hotel look elsewhere. However the staff are really friendly and the room was clean. Beds really comfy. Tea and coffee facilities not in the rooms but on tap from the bar area. Really enjoyable experience. Would go again in a heartbeat.
2 out of 5
by Charlotte

Cramped, uncomfortable

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
I'm a teen girl & was put in a small room sharing with 5 men. Very messy and uncomfortable and awkward. Wouldn't go again
5 out of 5
by Alison

Great budget accommodation

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed as a family in a 4-room dorm. The room is basic, but adequate and the beds were clean and comfy. The thick walls of the Victorian building meant the room was quiet and cool on hot days. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was generous and amazing value. The hostel is very conveniently located within walking distance of most of the tourist haunts and we parked the car at the multi storey opposite for just £4/day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from USA

Good for budget stay

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The location was nice. The included breakfast was a bonus.
Cons: The door to our room was hard to open due to how it fit into the frame. This caused us to slam our doors shut. Loud, disruptive, and embarrassing.
Location: Close to the train station; easy access to a central bus terminal; walking distance from the main shopping district and Liverpool One.
I was in Liverpool for 2 nights, specifically to see Liverpool FC, so I was looking for a budget stay due to the already pricey nature of the trip. Overall, I was happy to find a nice hostel close to the Liverpool Lime Street Station and City Center. Really, I only needed a bed, a roof, and the option for privacy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Friendly, Good Value

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Excellent location
Cons: Noise level
Location: Within easy walking distance to everything Liverpool has to offer. Visit the two cathedrals, the museums, take the ferry across the Mersey.
Staff were excellent, special mention to Luke who was very welcoming, amiable, chatty and efficient. He always took time out to acknowledge us no matter what time of day.