Ratings based on 1,507 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corning NY

Nice hotel close to the Syracuse airport.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: It's location close to the Syracuse Airport. Room rates are very competitive and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Cons: ...place coffee makers in the rooms...
Room was clean and ready for us. It was a VERY cold day and the room was warm and welcoming when we arrived. We are avid coffee drinkers in the mornings and would have appreciated an in-room coffee maker.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you for choosing the Knights Inn Liverpool. We are happy to read that you had a clean, comfortable, and especially warm stay with us. Our housekeeping team will be pleased to know that their work was enjoyed! We are sorry that we do not provide in-room coffee and we hope that the offerings at our free breakfast could help meet your needs. When you are again looking for a great value near the airport, come and visit us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa ontario

Not impressed

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Upon arriving back to our hotel from an entire day our room was it serviced and clean but left with no towels and garbage cans not emptied my parents room next door was missing toilet paper and we had to call front desk for them to come service the room and clean and furnish with amenities. The man at the front desk advised us that the only option we have was to change rooms and I told him it was not correct that because they did not service both rooms mine and my parents that we need to move the man came changed th garbage gave us some towels and away he went . We are not impressed of the services of this property and we are asking what Expedia will do for us in this horrible experience compensation wise for the 2 rooms booked with the 4 of us . I may also add the heat was not working properly in my parents room on what is a frigid cold spell we are now facing in North America .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel, We are sorry that an error in our housekeeping prevented you from having the experience you deserved. Although we were able to rectify the situation, you are right to expect better. We also apologize for the heating problem you identified. It is our hope that despite these drawbacks you were able to enjoy a pleasant overall visit with us. It would be an honor to have the opportunity to host you again and provide you with a stay of the quality that you deserve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

room temperature

Posted Dec 26, 2017
probabely the best value for your money. We got there late and the room temperature was set around 12 C. It took hours to get the room confortable. I was traveling with an other couple and there room was just fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It's always a pleasure hearing from our guests. Thank you for sharing how much you appreciated our competitive pricing. Please accept our apologies, however, for any difficulty getting your room to a comfortable temperature. It's not typical for our rooms to be that cold upon check-in and we hope you'll consider staying with us again on future trips to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for a stopover

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Cons: The lights by the bed were not working.
I stayed overnight on my way home. Clean room, polite and helpful staff, good TV channels, fridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for stopping over with us here at the Knights Inn Liverpool. It is a treat to read that our friendly, helpful service and well-appointed rooms were perfect for your needs! We also thank you for sharing a note regarding the room lighting. Our maintenance team will take a look! Should your travels bring you back through the area, stop in and see us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

All you need

Posted Dec 16, 2017
I've stayed at hotels costing 3 or 4 times as much and not been as happy. Front desk guy was great. Huge room that was clean and had all the amenities. Terrific internet. Only complaint was a slow draining sink, but no big deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kind words. It's always nice to know that our competitive rates and friendly staff make our guests happy, as they did with you. Thank you also for letting us know how much you appreciated our spacious, well-appointed rooms and fast WiFi. We'll ask our maintenance team to look at the sink and would be pleased to host you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utica, ny

Cheap clean place good for one night.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Overall was good . It had a slight musty carpet smell but just slight. It was hot as hell and we had to use the AC in december. The breakfast was good and staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dee, It was a pleasure hosting you for your overnight stay. We're glad our friendly staff was the highlight of your visit and that you enjoyed our tasty breakfast options. It's also good to hear that our air conditioning was useful. However, we're sorry for any lingering odor in your room and will ask our housekeeping staff to look into it. If your plans bring you back to the area, please come stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami FL

Can't beat the value!

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Very easy access to interchanges and conveniences
For me the location and room size was perfect and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was very polite, breakfast bar was very nice and the price was amazing! For a drive up to your door motel this was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marco, Thank you for the heartfelt review! It is a joy for all of us here at the Knights Inn Liverpool to hear that you enjoyed a perfect value during your visit. We're excited to see that you highlighted our rooms, beds, breakfast, and service as all being up to the standards that you expected! When you are looking for another convenient, friendly stay here in the area, come and see us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Rooms not up to date

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Room needed maintenance bad, real ugly and disgusting looking stains on all the chairs, the beds were hard, uncomfortable, had springs popping through and were very loud. The walls seemed to be built from paper as we could hear the neighbor's TV. The floors were so creaky that they could also be heard from next door. The staff and attendants were all very nice and accommodating, so that kind of made up for it. I won't be back here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Craig, We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. It's very concerning for us to learn about your disappointing visit. We strive to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay and sincerely apologize for any aspects of your stay that weren't up to our usual high standards. Your feedback will be reviewed by our maintenance team in order to improve in this regard. It's disheartening that this has discouraged you from returning, despite the attentive service our team provided. It's our hope that the rest of your travels were pleasant. Your comments are valued and we hope you'll consider returning in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2017
A nice room for the $. Staff was particularly nice and convenient to local attractions!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jenn, At Knights Inn Liverpool our goal is to impress all our guests, so we're pleased our friendly staff and convenient location were ideal for your trip. Thank you for letting us know you found it to be a great value. It would be a pleasure to host you again on your next trip to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, ON Canada

Posted Nov 30, 2017
We were there for Black Friday. The room was clean. There was no noise. We checked in at around 1 am with no issues. We were handed flyers with coupons which we really took advantage of and appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tina, We appreciate your kind and positive review of Knights Inn Liverpool! It was a pleasure to provide you with efficient service during check-in. We're glad you enjoyed our clean, quiet accommodations as well. Black Friday is the perfect time to take advantage of great savings and it's nice to know our flyers and coupons helped you do this. Many thanks for your thoughtful compliments. We'd love to host you again.