Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plymouth, UK

Friendly Welcome

Posted May 11, 2016
Although our party arrived whilst decorators were painting everything in sight staff were friendly and welcoming... The rooms were adequate meeting our expectations of a 3 Star Guest House. The breakfast was good, cooked nicely and feel vered to the table by a friendly lady. My uncle forgot his spectacles which are in the process of being returned by the staff. I will recommend this hotel and use it again. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Terrible Hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Nothing to mention, The picture on the site of the outside looks ok beware when you enter
Cons: Everything. It needs completely renovating
Location: Only good thing is there is so much to do and enjoy in and around Liverpool, just find somewhere else to stay.
Possibly the worst place to stay, left after one night having paid for 4 nights ! The rooms were damp and dirty, mould growing on the walls, no toilet seat, shower all taped up, hairs in the bed, water leaks running down pipe work. The shared bath was at an angle . The whole place could only be described as terrible and Hotel from Hell. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, avoid at all costs and it should be removed from the hotel accommodation sites
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Tired Hotel in need of maintenance

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Clean comfy bed.
Cons: Adjust the room door so it opens and closes correctly without jamming. Similarly, fix the front door so the yale lock operates easily when closing it.
Very friendly, helpful and welcoming manager, but the infrastructure is very tired. Had to slam the room door very hard to get it to close, similar with the front door of the hotel. No hot water mid afternoon, took a shower but in tepid water, this is not good! Also, when stepping into the bath to take the shower, the bath panel popped out. At least the bed was clean, however, we had to ask for towels and one had a big lump of something plastic glued to it and so had it changed. Didn't bother with breakfast so cant comment either way about it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Ideal spot outside of liverpool town centre

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was amazing
Cons: The room was quite cold and abit basic, could do with a revamp of decor.
Location: There is a pub called the liver inn which did delicious food, and it was about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. There are also various shops nearby.
Me and my friend had planned to stay overnight in the liverpool town centre however, every seem to be booked so ended up having to book abit further out from liverpool. Even thiugh this hotel was abit further away from liverpool town centre, the taxi was pretty quick and only cost about £10 to get into town which I felt quite reasonable.. There are also shops and pubs nearby the Marlborough hotel literally 5-10 minute walk. Although the hotel was quite basic, it was certainly a nice pleasant stay/ experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Dirty blankets in wardrobe, no lock on shower room, no bulb in lamp, no hair dryer, cold draughty room, remote control didn't work, waited half an hour then had to knock on kitchen door to ask for breakfast. Bacon sandwich was cold and the bacon was like cardboard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Clean hotel, good size room, good location

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Clean hotel, good size room, good location would book this hotel again next time I go to Liverpool for a weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Nice large room, staff very accommodating, food

Posted Sep 16, 2014
The staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and tidy, met our requirements.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Birmingham

Reasonable hotel close to beach/restaurants

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Simple and comfortable. Proximity to the beach. Free parking.
Cons: Cleanliness and overall presentation.
Location: Beach, restaurants and bars along the high street near to the train station.
I found this hotel was pretty much value for money - it was cheaper than the average hotel I could find in the area but along with that came a level of décor and cleanliness that did leave something to be desired. Saying that the hotel staff were welcoming and I did have a comfortable overnight stay. It's worth noting as a positive the hotel's close proximity to the beach (10-15mins walk) and a high street just before that with a variety of restaurants and bars. Free parking was a bonus too.
2 out of 5
by samira from london

Never go back to this hotel again

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Me & my husband went to liverpool last weekend. This was a surprise gift from me to my husband on his birthday. The staff was ok from the hotel. I requested him to give us a nice room as my husband's birthday but the room we have given it was awefull. The toilet was very dirty as someone used it & didn't flash.then we moved to another room. That room was ok but not so good as I paid £70 for one night. In the breakfast didn't have enough choice. Anyways I am not going back to this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok nice

Posted Oct 20, 2013
The heater was not so good. But a lot of chanels on tv. Fast internet.