Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Quality of a poor hostel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Leaving it,
Cons: Everything
Location: Close to a train stop and a McDonald's
Where do I start, the owner/check in guy was ignorant and very unwelcoming as he had to get out of the bath to answer the door and let us check in, although this was expected from previous reviews put up after I had booked, this is not a hotel or a b&b as advertised on the website and the building, It is advertised as a 4 min train journey from line St station, it actually took 20 minutes, overall I wouldn't recommend this to anyone and certainly isn't good value for money. And to make things worse than they actually were, the cleaners came in the next morning and started an extremely noisy washing machine and tumble dryer next to our room at 7 o'clock. We were up and left for 8 in the morning with nowhere open for breakfast but a local McDonald's. Rant over.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Mids

Neither cheap nor cheerful

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Could not possibly recommend this place. While it was perfectly clean, the lack of any heating control made the room unbearable. Check in was traumatic to say the least. Reception is unmanned after 5:30, so don't be late arriving. I was not comfortable leaving my car in the McDonalds car park next door. To cap it all, the cleaners turned up before 8am, proceeding to chat loudly in the corridor outside (presumably to encourage guests to check out early). They needn't have worried, as we got out as soon as possible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Basic room

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: Basically nothing apart from proximity to the train station.
Cons: Everything especially staff politeness.
Location: It is in the outskirts of L'pool so there is not much to do.
The room was basic, no towels, soap or tea and coffee facilities. Hotel entrance and view from the window totally dissappointing. Hotel staff (probably the manager) was very unpleasant and housekeeping very loud since early hours. Don't expect any breakfast if you booked it with the room, because (as the note on the door says) it's offered at McDonald's next to the hotel. Avoid at all cost.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Jul 6, 2015
You get what you pay for, very basic but clean and ideal for a one night stay :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not nice

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Very bad staf I have paid 2 duble beds 4 .I end ap with only one .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Never Made It Inside The Hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2014
I can't write a review about our experience of staying at the hotel, as we never had the chance to stay. We arrived at the hotel at 5.20 but there was no one there to check us in. After finally getting through to a staff member by ringing the hotel number we were told that the check-in time had been changed to 5.30 over a year ago and the staff onsite had gone home. We were told that our problem was Expedia. Luckily Expedia were able to put us up in another hotel close by but it was a very frustrating few hours. The website still does not reflect this the new check-in time so be careful and made sure to give yourself extra time to check in as the staff don't hang around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Bed no Breakfast

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The room and bathrooms.
Cons: A more honest description of the facilities and a friendly host.
Location: The accomoodation is over a pub and is reached via outside metal stairs at the rear. It is 10 minutes by car from the centre of LIverpool.
The sign on the outside of the pub calls it a bed and breakfast but it provides no breakfast and no towels. It also advertises free parking and free wifi. The free parking is across the road in a public car park outside McDonalds and there was no wifi signal in my room but there is free wifi in McDonalds. Having said all that, the room was clean and tidy, the two shared bathrooms were also well clean with modrn fittings which worked well. There was plenty of hot water and teh shower was good. The TV in the room was modern and worked well. The reception is only open until 5:30 (although it was advertised as being open until 6:00) and there is no provision to collect a key after this time. The chap at the hotel called me on my mobile after the booking to advise me of this and said if I couldn't be there by 5:30 I'd better not come. He wasn't rude but he certainly wasn't courteous or friendly. So, if you want fairly cheap accommodation and know what to expect it is ok. But don't expect breakfast, towels, free parking or free wifi on site. But there is always McDonalds next door.
2 out of 5
by tom from northern ireland

Unexpected T&Cs

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Hadn't realised the rooms were over a pub with karaoke. Sign on side wall of building advertised 'bed and breakfast' but notice on internal wall stated 'no breakfast provided' as one of its T&Cs. There were only shared bathroom facilities and, most disconcerting, no towels provided (another T&C)! All this we could have managed but the beds were unbelieveably uncomfortable with springs sticking up everywhere, making sleep virtually impossible. Also, one of the beds had what appeared to be a piece of gauze or some such flimsy material instead of a proper undersheet. It was the beds that made us leave after one night. On the plus side, the rooms were very warm and spotlessly clean although some may have found the smell of cleaning solutions rather on the strong side. The two members of staff we met were friendly and helpful and we would have no complaints about them.
1 out of 5
by Anonymous

what the bejeezus??

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Room size and cleanliness
Cons: The male staff member
Location: Pretty good for anfield football stadium, not to far to city if you have a car, train station 1 min walk, mc donalds/dominoes pizza directly beside it
We arrived to find the host/manager sitting in our room with his feet up watching television. There were no towels provided so I had to go buy some, so be warned in advance. There was no hot water available and my suspicions (although unfounded) are that it is purposely switched off. A woman whom was not staff walked into our room whilst my son and I slept. I had a shower only to be scared out of my wit by the host/manager banging on the door and shouting "open the door what are you doing". I opened the door with only my trusty newly purchased towel to cover me, he entered the room and was very aggressive in his tone and behaviour. He said that there was a leak and the pub down the stairs had said there was water running through the ceiling. I clearly explained that I had not noticed any leakage at all and explained that in my view it was not coming from the shower. As a tradesman I inspected the shower cubical and it showed him that there were no sign of leaks or any degredation of sealants around the cubical. I was told to exit the shower, still unwashed. This man is very scary and intimidating, as I said aggressive in his tone and manner. The noise from the pub down the stairs is an issue but it is not unbearable during the week days that we stayed. I can only advise anyone who is looking to book this B&B to be very very wary if bringing children or elderly relatives. It's cheap for a reason!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay but noisy guests

Posted Dec 2, 2013