Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great hotel and nearby shopping

Posted Feb 26, 2017
We had a great time will return there was lots to do and places to go would recommend to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Convenient for my visit

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Just about everything
Location: The location is excellent and within 5 minutes walk of most attractions.
I did not use any of the hotels facilities as I was attending a function elsewhere. The room I was in (201) which was quite large but I would rate it as average bed and breakfast standard. The bed and the pillows could only be described as Pound Shop standard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southport

Night away

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was excellent.
Cons: The beds were not comfortable
Location: Very quiet. Places to eat and drink.
Stayed at the prince of Wales for a night with my daughter as we were booked in at Portland spa the next morning
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia.

Poor Hotel.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The breakfasts were really good with plenty of variety for guests.
Cons: Close the hotel down and revitalise rooms and fixture and fittings.
Location: Only there for 3 nights to attend a funeral so location and other facilities were not of interest to me on this trip.
This hotel needs a great deal of money spending on it to raise its profile from a tired old hotel to one that would be a pleasure to occupy. There was a chunk of wood missing from the room door, when I pulled the curtains closed a number of rings fell off and even after being 'repaired' happened again. There was a large crack across the bathroom ceiling that had obviously happened a fair time ago. Even in the car parking their was a problem. The system was grab a ticket on the way in and use it to exit, however, it was necessary to press a red button on the gate for the reception staff to remotely have the exit barrier to lift up. There was a cost to parking, 2 pounds a night. Why do paying guests have this imposition pressed on them?????? Surprised Expedia are recommending this hotel????
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

central hotel- very handy for shops, bars etc.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The food was great, bar not too expensive, entertainment was good. Rooms were comfortable. Staff very helpful
Cons: the corridors were a bit grim on second floor. Need some pictures on walls.
Location: Location was very good. Near shops, bars, train station and beach was only a short walk away
the check in was very efficient. Also the check out was painless. Staff were excellent. The tv in our room was faulty - we mentioned it and a replacement tv was received very quickly. The rooms was very clean. Overall, the hotel could do with a facelift, but somehow this adds to the character. No complaints at all (apart from the weather ). Purchased a £5.20 train ticket and travelled to Liverpool, able to access ferry, all buses, and trains for 24 hours within the southport -Liverpool area- bargain. Would recommend this hotel and would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Good central location

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: It's location and m e las available
Location: Great for shopping and within easy reach of amenities
Convenient stay for meeting family and shopping.entertainment was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016
It is a very nice hotel, the only detail is about the beds, they were not very comfortable, but all the rest was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, Lancashire, UK

Nice Hotel close to shops and town centre

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Location and character of this hotel is excellent.
Location: Close to shops, pubs, restaurants, fast food, train station and town centre.
This Hotel has loads of character and is a great location, I have visited every year for years and every time there is always some area/room updated or decorated. The staff are friendly, polite and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

VERY tired but friendly and relatively comfortable

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: The whole hotel is in some serious need of investment. We were even worried about the (rotten) window frames giving up and falling out!
Location: Good location - very central and "walkable" and convenient for pretty much anything in central Soutport.
Firstly: be warned!! This hotel is a long (long!) way past it's best and is really very tired indeed and in desperate need of some investment ad upkeep...... Don't expect the fixtures and fittings to be particularly sound or even work necessarily.... But; the staff are great and very friendly, welcoming and helpful; the location is great - very walkable and handy for just about everything - and the food and drink are pretty good and plentiful. While the room amenities could have been quite a bit better and the room better kept it worked for our short stay. Would we stay here again? Possibly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nice entrance,warm open fires,nice lounge area,bar area could do with new tables and chairs,Rooms really need updating .