Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from burnley england

Refurb

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The hotel needs a good refurb out side of requires up dating very run downn and so are the rooms. The bold hotel has just been up dated and is wonderfull. The prince pf wales needs the same but how many times have people been saying this come on get your act together make southport proud of you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Good central location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
We had a family room of a decent size. Unfortunately it lacked light only having one small window. Also it was very hot and airless by morning,the window only opened slightly. Also it was noisy due to humming of machinery. Good size bathroom. Only complaint was we were disturbed at 9.15am by room cleaning service, who told me she didn't understand when I told her later, then rolled her eyes at me as I wouldn't let her in. We used the do not disturb sign after that. They could also do with more staff on reception. However it was a very pleasant break with my grandchildren.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mitchell

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Ideal for what we needed! Rooms were adequate and the bathroom was clean and looked recently tiled!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Born in Southport but no longer a fan

On th outside, run down on the inside

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Facility is ideally located in the city and looks lovely from the outside (nice out door garden). But that is all the positive we can share. Parking lot too small to house guests if hotel is doing an event so you have to cruise the street looking for safe and convenient parking. Our room was old, outdated, and had a bad odor to it. Room was also very very hot. Checkout is 10 (an hour earlier than most other hotels in the world) and breakfast finished then but we were not advised of the 10am finish at check in (so meal was paid for but was not consumed). WiFi is in lobby and couldn't be accessed from the room. Overall, for the money they charge this hotel is not going to please guests. This hotel was a classic in its time and is now a 2 star at best. With capital and vision this place could be great, but it isn't at th moment.
1 out of 5
by Patricia from Manchester

Rubbish

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was dated and the staff rude and surely two teacups of tea 6.50 milky and watery advertise room service but refused to deliver poor car parking had to pay on road and get up to pay again for 8am would not recommend unless your over 80 yrs of age
5 out of 5
by wayne from Cheshire

Good Value

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
hotel itself was worth the money, large spacious room. the foreign staff where hopless, with very poor customer service. but the british staff were very helpfull with better service, they must do something about the customer service from the foreigners as this was bad. loads of nightlife there and fairly noisy, Car Park was first come first serve, but overall it was good because of the room, location and was a nice clean hotel
5 out of 5
by Hilda from Manchester

Excellent

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great 2 day stay in room 124, front executive room. Booked a standard and got an upgrade.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
a bit rundown,bacon tasted cheap
3 out of 5
by ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by George from Fleetwood

Prince of Wales Southport

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Good clean and cheap hotel with friendly staff .good sized and clean room. Will definitely stay again.