Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Good central location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
We had a family room of a decent size. Unfortunately it lacked light only having one small window. Also it was very hot and airless by morning,the window only opened slightly. Also it was noisy due to humming of machinery. Good size bathroom. Only complaint was we were disturbed at 9.15am by room cleaning service, who told me she didn't understand when I told her later, then rolled her eyes at me as I wouldn't let her in. We used the do not disturb sign after that. They could also do with more staff on reception. However it was a very pleasant break with my grandchildren.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mitchell

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Ideal for what we needed! Rooms were adequate and the bathroom was clean and looked recently tiled!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Born in Southport but no longer a fan

On th outside, run down on the inside

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Facility is ideally located in the city and looks lovely from the outside (nice out door garden). But that is all the positive we can share. Parking lot too small to house guests if hotel is doing an event so you have to cruise the street looking for safe and convenient parking. Our room was old, outdated, and had a bad odor to it. Room was also very very hot. Checkout is 10 (an hour earlier than most other hotels in the world) and breakfast finished then but we were not advised of the 10am finish at check in (so meal was paid for but was not consumed). WiFi is in lobby and couldn't be accessed from the room. Overall, for the money they charge this hotel is not going to please guests. This hotel was a classic in its time and is now a 2 star at best. With capital and vision this place could be great, but it isn't at th moment.
3 out of 5
by Colin from Peterborough

Last minute choice - price too good to believe!

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Cheap, comfortable but very tired condition. Staff ok and live music most nights - close your eyes and great value!
3 out of 5
by maxine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, good older hotel

Posted May 16, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Lots of sit down lounge area in loby, great location in town.
Cons: Me and others were sneezing when sitting in the loby area.... dusty. Could use a good clean up.
Location: All good here, shoping and beach activities a short walk away.
Room is nice, bed very hard on my back so just ok, noisey in the morning due to doors banging and floor creaking, in need of a good clean up.
5 out of 5
by mark from wigan

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
Really good.
3 out of 5
by Glenn from York PA, USA

The delightful Prince of Wales

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
It was OK but the lift stuck and my rental car was badly scratched in the car park. The CCTV was unable to read the number plate of the culprit. No wifi or minibar in room and the TV was a miniature model but all that said this is an old hotel aging gracefully. The clientele consists mainly of coach parties of elderly folks. All rather quaint.
4 out of 5
by James

An alright place to stay.

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Room was on fourth floor, with no views except hotel rooftiles. Room became like a sauna, as only could open two very small windows. Lift constantly breaking down - had to negotiate 8 flights of stairs and top floor is like a rabbit run maze.