Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Investment required

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The receptionist - friendly, chatty - a great asset to the hotel.
Cons: A 1960s time warp. Start with the bar. If you walked in there, you'd walk straight out again despite probably selling a wide range of real ales.
Location: Couldn't be more central.
Britannia need to invest in this Southport icon. On a cold night, heating was not working in the room. Got moved to another one as they had no one available to fix it. Their once great bar, the Baron's Court, is becoming an eyesore. But, I must say, for £38, great value for money
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wallasey

Centrally placed

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Room had a funny smell when we entered Booked an EXECUTIVE DOUBLE SUITE 🤔 3 SINGLE BEDS?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not for us

Posted Nov 13, 2016
hotel noisy.room by lift very noisy.needs updating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Shabby, seen better days

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Disappointing stay, the hotel is very tired & in need of updating & decorating. Receptionist was helpful & the only member of staff we saw. Parking is extremely limited & we ended up with a parking ticket!!! We didn't eat or drink anything as the location of the hotel is good so we went out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Old and tired looking

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Cons: Decor .bars at the rear all gloomy
Needs updating .decor very tired looking .bedding needs thicker quilts on now .the back bar is very gloomy .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Room was clean but in an area that was noisy both from outside and also a door in the hallway that every time it closed it shook the room at 2am in the morning it was not appreciated. On the facilities advertised it said free WiFi but apparently it was only in public areas but we tried various areas and couldn't access it anywhere. Parking was also limited but not advertised as so luckily we got into there sister hotel a few minutes walk away but if this had been full we would have had to pay. Breakfast ok and location central to beach and town
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Neil from Halesowen

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel has certainly lost its mojo.one of the big hotels in Southport it really is a disgrace.It is dirty and dusty,lifts were out of order,boards with nails in left under beds.Junction boxes left in a dangerous state,cracks in walls etc,I could go on but enough is enough.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired Hotel needs money spending on it!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Needs money spending, painting, cleaning repairing. Need to employ better staff and take a look at the food served. All of it seems to be cheap.
Location: Model Railway Village, Atkinson Museum/Library, Playground, Splash Pool, beach, pier, Botanic Gardens, Squirrel sanctuary, shopping. Lots to do!!
Main lift out of order during the whole of our stay. Had to use the service lift with an elderly relative with a heart condition and 2 children. Chairs were stacked in the corridor outside the lift making it a fire hazard and very awkward to access. Room was adequate but in need of refurbishing/repairing, not really enough room for 2 adults and 2 children. Breakfast was very basic and not varied, not much choice for vegetarians! Some of the staff were rude. The price paid was way to high when seeing the 'special offers' that were in the hotel itself when we were there. Will never got there again, very disappointed and feel I have overpaid.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southport

Terrible hotel, unfriendly unhelpful staff

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Total disaster, my partner booked to stay over night for my birthday as we have stayed in many Brittania hotels and they have all been great. We have two children under two a 22month and a 4 month so we had a double buggy. Arriving at reception my partner paid the £110 for 1 night then they decided to tell us the lift wasn't working and we was on the 4th floor but they had an accessible lift at the back of hotel. Considering I had to go upstairs to get to this lift I don't know how they could class it as accessible. Just squeezing in the lift with my pram having to hold it upwards. Reaching the 4th floor and our room the key card wouldn't work after trying for about half hour we went back down and asked if we could just have our money back as it was too much hassle. Being refused our money back we went out for the day...on return we carried our pram up the stairs to the lift where we found the bar had stacked all there extra tables and chairs all down the little corridor not leaving any passageway for any guest let alone a pram..it just got worse and worse. Well I wouldn't return and I wouldn't recommend