Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south africa

Very pleasant stay, only let down by food

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Lovely setting with fantastic kid-friendly pool and easy walking access to the falls with minimal hassle. I was really pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, which rivals some 5 star places. But besides the decent buffet breakfast, the food was what really let the place down. I ate there for 3 meals outside breakfast. One of those was ok (a chicken wrap), the other two things were gristley kudu burger with stale cheese on top, and a tasteless hard and disgusting chocolate brownie. Both times I felt physically ill after consuming it. Such a shame given the rest of the qualities that the hotel has. I'd go back, but wouldn't eat there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Wonderful Hotel With Great Access to Victoria Fall

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Avani was a great place to stay near Victoria Falls, walkable to get to the bridge and across to Zimbabwe if you like. We got upgraded to a suite which was very nice. The atmosphere was also incredible with zebras hanging around right near the pool and a shuttle to go to Royal Livingstone for a cocktail or dinner if you wish. Food was solid here as well. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by pmungala, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your stay with us at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort as it’s always nice to get such feedback from our guests. I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future. Kind regards Hotel Manager AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand.

Nice family resort. Very close to Zambia falls.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Enjoyed poolside meals. Service slow at busy times- need extra waiting staff. Waiting staff lovely and friendly. Room good but small for family. Shower tiles need clean. Air con nice and quiet. Very nice environment. Shuttle to Royal Livingstone good. Livingstone side of falls low on water but close to other activities. Border crossing a pain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Caron, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests. I apologize sincerely about the slow service at the pool, this has been escalated already to our F&B Team for investigation and will be resolved, thank you kindly for letting us know. I am however happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future. Kind regards Hotel Manager AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Awesome hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We stayed in a family room which had 2 king beds. Everything from the room to the staff was great and close to the pool and reception. the falls were a 4 minute walk which was free entry if you were staying at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by Caron, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future. Kind regards Hotel Manager AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Good location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We loved our stay in August 2017. The hotel amenities were great and the staff were very attentive. It was in a great location walking distance to the falls with free entry. The breakfast was great. The cons. The rooms need refurbishement. So I do recommend this hotel. Tips. Request quite rooms away from the live music/singing at the pool side restaurant The excursions are pretty expensive so be prepared
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Caron, Hotel Management
Dear Shirhan Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future. Kind regards Hotel Manager AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel with on-site wild life :)

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Ebookers
Lovely hotel right by the Victoria Falls. Rooms were in very good condition - fresh linen, comfortable beds, good hot shower. Hotel facilities were very good - we had the buffet dinner, which was good - nicely cooked without being too overly cooked. The Crocodile Tail was really nice. Staff were very attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Caron, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future. Kind regards Hotel Manager AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Great resort. Best proximity to the falls.

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: This is the best place to stay for easy access to the falls. Superb lodging, huge buffet breakfast, reliable excursions.
Cons: The people at the excursion desk were very helpful but their information was not always accurate regarding distances, fees, etc.
Location: 15 minute cab ride to Livingstone. Easy walk to the Zambian side of the falls. Access to great excursions (Chobe Safari/extreme sports.
We were at the Avani for 2 1/2 days, 3 nights. We enjoyed most meals by the pool and a terrific breakfast buffet in the main dining area. The grounds and wildlife are amazing. The first night we walked to Victoria Falls on the Zambian side. The following day we shopped in town, visited the History museum, and walked over the bridge to partake of the falls from the Zimbabwe side. (Long walk, $30 at border, another $30 for the park entrance). Spectacular! On Friday we were taken (Bushtracks tours) on an all day safari to Chobe National Park in Botswana. This included a land portion, grand lunch buffet, and an afternoon of viewing by boat. It was unforgettably fun and exciting. We got back just in time to watch the sunset over the water at the Royal Livingstone Motel, partner and neighbor to Avani.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Caron, Hotel Management
Dear Linda Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future. Kind regards Hotel Manager AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
3 out of 5
by Rebecca

Okay stay

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was nice and cool to have the zebra's and other animals wandering around. The rooms were clean, but weren't anything special and were particularly small considering the cost of them. Location was great, being so close to the falls. Food wasn't anything to shout about, especially as we'd just come over from South Africa where the food was incredible. Overall, the hotel was very overpriced for what you get.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Caron, Hotel Management
Dear Rebecca Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us , all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests. Once again my sincerest apologies for the food quality - this has been addressed with the kitchen team. I am however happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future. Kind regards Hotel Manager AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
4 out of 5
by Heather

Great location

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
The location was amazing. The first room we went and had little bugs on the dresser. We switch to another room. The second room had no bugs But the shower stall looked to be worn out giving the overall store a nasty look. Staff was very accommodating. We broke a glass at about 10 o'clock at night and they came and vacuumed. Breakfast was good, dinner was average.Saw zebras , giraffes, and monkeys on the grounds. It was a lot of fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Caron, Hotel Management
Dear Heather Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us , all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. I apologize sincerely for you shower which you have commented on negatively - housekeeping was dispatched to your room when we received your first feedback, it has been addressed. We do have bugs in our rooms sometimes, this is how it is when the resort is situated on a nature reserve, we sometimes do experience this and deal with the situation as it occurs, but unfortunately to stop tiny bugs from entering the rooms is not always possible. Kind regards Hotel Manager AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury in Africa

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Can't tell you how great this experience was for me and my daughter. Everything about the experience was excellent...which is rare in Africa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Caron, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us , all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future. Kind regards Hotel Manager AVANI Victoria Falls Resort