Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Great post safari experience

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Excellent place to relax after bouncing around the bush Lovely room with Zambesi view ; fab food ; good spa ; friendly, efficient, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by Bevan

David Livingstone Hotel, Livingstone, Zambia

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Not as good as the Royal Livingstone, but ok. Very different character and ambience to the Royal. The not-very-extensive grounds were full fenced with an electric fence so we were unable to go for a walk, or walk to the falls. The food was better than the Royal, but on balance I think I prefer the Royal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Dear Bevan Thank you for your constructive feedback. We regret you did not enjoy our surroundings in the Mosi au Tunya National Park. Meanwhile we pride ourselves with our ever improving food standard and service and are delighted you could enjoyed our offering. We trust you have since returned home safely and would welcome the opportunity to host you again. Regards, Jacki, Reservations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Romantic stay.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Views and spa facilities.
Cons: Shuttle transport.
Location: Victoria Falls.
My husband and I stayed here for two nights 'childfree'. Despite me having phoned from the UK beforehand, no-one was at the airport to collect us, which, if you've not stayed in Africa before, could have been extremely stressful. The taxi driver they sent was lovely though and pointed out all the local landmarks on our journey to the hotel. The lady on the 'events' desk was delightful and although her colleague was a little unsmiling, she made up for this. The free shuttle transport we found to be a little hit and miss in terms of the times of pick ups and I'd recommend phoning the hotel when you are ready to return to the hotel rather than waiting. The hotel has wonderfully romantic views of the Zambezi and the sunset cruise on the Lady Livingstone is well worth the money. I had treatments in the spa and they were again fabulous. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant and considered it good value for money compared with UK prices. The room we stayed in just felt a little tired and were expecting slippers and robes for the star rating of the hotel. I'd definitely recommend for a romantic break away and for those wanting to relax.
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Memorable experience. The safari arranged through the hotel was exceptional. The hotel more than met expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Room had an opening in the doors, letting mosquitoes in, which was only partly fixed when I complained. Breakfast was routinely terrible. Location is tricky; would have rather, in retrospect, stayed in Victoria Falls. Or anywhere else, really.
5 out of 5
by Masako

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by ALEKSANDR

In room with the neighbours

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
Nice location, but rooms/service overpriced.. service very mediocre, while rooms small and offer no sound isolation to the room next door - my neighbors were talking next door till 2 am, and it felt like they are in bed with me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel on Zambezi river

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Ebookers
Great hotel in a prime location on the Zambezi river. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food excellent..... good vegetarian options. A fantastic place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Heather

Amazing hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. It's absolutely stunning -- both the hotel and the location by the lake. You can eat or swim right by the lake and the bugs aren't too bad. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
by Joshua

Friendly Staff

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the maintenance staff and ladies in the activity centre. Comfortable beds and room.size. Lot of noise from conference centre next door one night, would recommend a room on the downriver side.