Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel. Lovely setting.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Spent 7 days enjoying the area around Victoria Falls and this was a good base. It's near the falls with a national park on the doorstep and not too difficult to get a cab into Livingstone.
4 out of 5
by Jan Louis

Aging but still good

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is getting a bit rundown but the service and staff are really good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Robert, Hotel Management
Dear Jan Louise, Thank you for having stayed with us and thank you for your observation. The Hotel is now in operation for 11 years and your observation has been duly noted. I am however pleased to inform you that we are refurbishing the rooms, renovating the Pool Bar and we have 40 extra new rooms under construction and almost completed. We hope you shall visit Livingstone and stay with us again as I am confident you shall be pleased with the changes you find. We are hoping to complete the above exercise by Mid next Year but some rooms will be ready by the end of the year. We once again thank you for your review and hope to host you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Far from town

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: facilities
Cons: Staff, internet
Location: Near the Zambezi
Hotel facilities are nice but it is far from town and expensive/difficult to get taxis. Hotel staff capacity is low. They can only assist one person at a time, causing long wait times, and unwilling to make change (either providing smaller bills or converting currency). Check out was quite a long process. Internet is slow to non-existent when large conferences are at facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Rima, Hotel Management
Dear Nicole, Thank you for having chosen Chrismar Hotel for you stay while in Livingstone and thank you for your feedback. We have taken note of all the concerns raised and assure you that we shall address them. We hope you will visit Livingstone and hope too that you will stay with us as we assure you that you will find a great improvement in all the areas you have mentioned. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to host you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from wales

Nice hotel, friendly staff and close to attractio

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Ebookers
The food was a let down....every thing was over fried.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Clean hotel. Not that up to date. Breakfast not great, limited options. Pool was green. Hotel staff were slow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
I won't be going at this hotel
3 out of 5
by kajilo from Swindon. Uk

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
I didn't want a cheap bed and breakfast so thought a middle of the range hotel would do. Hotel is ok but at £150 a night only has one outdoor restaurant. Breakfast is good though staff should just let the guests get on with it. I got told I was using the wrong plate for my full English breakfast! Wifi is diabolical. A bit extra will get you a superior hotel like the David Livingstone which by the Zambezi itself.
3 out of 5
by Adriaan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Overall nice experience. Very friendly staff, quick to solve any problem. Food was good too and at reasonable prices. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis but before going to bed it was necessary to make sure there were no dead bugs over it. Also there was a strong smell in the room, as if it was recently fumigated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

could be better

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
we knew it wasn't the best place in town, but it wouldn't take much to improve. The bed was tiny, made much smaller by the mozzie net, water pressure was terrible, room was hideous, bottled water was expensive and the pool was dirty. It was much more expensive than an equivalent place at home but cheaper than many in Livingstone.