Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Clean hotel. Not that up to date. Breakfast not great, limited options. Pool was green. Hotel staff were slow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Overall nice experience. Very friendly staff, quick to solve any problem. Food was good too and at reasonable prices. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis but before going to bed it was necessary to make sure there were no dead bugs over it. Also there was a strong smell in the room, as if it was recently fumigated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Not worth the money - sadly disaapointing

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The proximity to Victoria Falls
Cons: The bathtub on the side had tiles that were falling apart. I couldn't understand why they didn't fix it.
Location: There are elephants roaming around and you can take a dinner cruise just down the street. The local market has things a lot cheaper
I misconnected on my flight to Livingstone and I ended up stuck in Lusaka, instead of arriving at Livingstone. I called the hotel at 5 p.m., let them know I was stuck in Lusaka and would not arrive until the next day. When I arrived the next day, they told me that I had to pay for the night anyway because they have to be notified 7 days in advance if you are not going to be there as scheduled. To me this is a stipulation meant to take your money. I arrived there at 10:30 on Thursday morning and they told me that I couldn't check in because checkin starts at two and the hotel was full from the night before because they had a lot of guests. I was dumbfounded. After two room switches, I ended up in room which was in front of the pool and right next to the outdoor kitchen. In the morning, I was awoken by staff noisily banging pots and talkiing loudly. My other issue is that they begin to serve breakfast at 7 a.m. I was leaving to go to Chobe National park and I had to leave before 7 a.m. The hotel that I stayed in in another part of africa served breakfast at 6:00 a.m., so everyone who had to leave early was able to eat something before leaving. When I went to the dining room at 6:30 a.m. they told me that nothing would be ready before 7 a.m. and handed me some cereal to eat. When I came into the room on Friday afternoon, it had been cleaned, but there was a dead fly sitting on the side of the bathtub, I was grossed out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A very nice and quiet environment ....

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: - The staff is friendly, great food, and the room was clean ... thumbs up!!!! - The check-in / check-out was quick and smooth - It's a family hotel
Cons: I suggest you provide (for the guests) simple maps of the location - hotel facility so that guests know where to go without asking around
... Sometimes, what you see on the website is not really what you see on arrival. I spent only 2 nights at this hotel, and I was very impressed .... This is a great place (near the city & the falls) for the price you pay. I plan to come back for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Utah

Two nights inn Livingstone

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Location and seclusion with friendly staff. Layout was well done.
Cons: It was the non-tourist season so it was very quite with very few people around. Large swimming pool could be cleaned better. Free WiFi in rooms.
Location: Need a car to get around easily. Victoria Falls, river cruises, air tours, Livingstone museum.
Very comfortable stay with excellent staff, including the breakfast. We did not eat in the restaurant, so do not have any comments about that. Beautiful setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: The pools
Location: Victoria Falls, and walking with the lions experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Australia

Not convenient for those who want to spend time in

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Too costly to travel/ move between Livingstone and Victoria Falls. No where to go after dark. No entertainment either. Pool was a little dirty and several items broken or poorly repaired at pool area and in rooms. Class this hotel as a three star only standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy

Great Location!

Posted May 2, 2013
Pros: location, swimming pool, bar, food, original design
Cons: nets for the bugs.... They do have spiders there, amongst other things:)
Location: The craft market in Livingstone, Victoria Falls is just few minutes away, it's a must! Be ready to get some great gifts for the family!
The hotel was just what we needed! With the swimming pool just outside our door, restaurant and bar few feet away, it was very lovely in the evenings! Staff very helpful, although the bartenders could have been more friendly. The rooms we're comfortable, breakfast buffet very well organized, filled with delicious food! The food was amazing! Great place for the price! I would go back there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Hi Kathy, Thank you for the great compliments. The Chrismar Hotel Livingstone family are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the kind words. I will personally put an extra emphasis with our barmen and ladies on smiling and being friendly. It is small observations like this from guests like you that help us to improve our standards and services. Thank you again and hope you come visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for couples, single people and family

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: pool bar
Cons: menu
Location: greatly situated near the Falls
I really enjoyed Chrismar, it was a very quaint, authentic hotel and the staff were very attentive. I would definitely stay there again and i would recommend it to anyone traveling there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the credit card issue was sorted out for you. i am not sure exactly what caused the issue but the important part is that you were taken care of by our staff. we thank you for the recommendation and hope that you come stay with us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amanda from Oxford

Slightly decaying luxury

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: warm welcome from staff and pool and bar
Cons: Breakfast and dinner, some things not working
Location: About average for Livingston. You'll need taxis, but that's true of pretty much every Livingston hotel
We experienced a lovely warm welcome from the staff, who were very attentive, warm and friendly. The hotel has great facilities (poor bar = amazing!) and nice rooms, and while we were there we were pretty much the only guests. However, I'd check every facility in the room as soon as you arrive, while the staff are still showing you the room, as it quickly transpired that our phone didn't work, the shower was pretty awful and we only discovered the spa bath didn't work on our last night there when the manager had already gone home for the night - I'm sure it would have been sorted out quickly if we'd been able to ask sooner, however. If you're staying for more than one night I also consider organising other places for dinner (depends on your personal taste in food though I guess!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Hi Amanda, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I only wish i got a chance to speak with you so that i could have assisted with those issues you mentioned. Nonetheless, you review has opened my eyes to keep on my maintenance team more than i have and i will do so. We hope you come stay with us again so we can show you how we've improved because of your observations.