Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Nice Hotel close to DUNE

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Cons: Please arrange to remove flies from teh pool area
Nice hotel but Swimming pool was not temperature controlled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sharjah

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: The location and the service
Very nice hotel in a good location for going out to see the dunes. Excellent staff. Food at the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
by julien alexandre

One of my favorites hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing sunset from the dunes next to the hotel, we love this hotel and came there for the second time. We had a balcony where you can lay down on the sofa and enjoy birds flying around. Great to swim in the evening in the big pool. Very funny and cute to find 2 small plastic duck in the bathtub, lovely. We had a fruit basket as welcome gift. Great location at 185 meters above sea level. A must do is to go to Tal Moreeb, highest dune in UAE, just 25 kilometers from the hotel, an advise is to go early morning as early as possible, it's beautiful and not to hot. The service at the hotel is excellent and appreciation to Ahmed at the front desk, The hotel also usually called before you check-i, good attention to details
4 out of 5
by Russell

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

An amazing place to stay while visiting the desert

Posted May 26, 2017
Room was clean and modern. Loved the balcony and pool area. Food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Al Ruwais, Abu Dhabi

A nice place to stay in the desert

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: location - it was in the middle of the desert, the reason I traveled to Liwa (to photograph the dunes)
Cons: Price could be same as quote I received when booking, that would be handy.
Location: Hotel is located in the middle of the desert (dunes are literally at the back door). There is a nice area a couple of kilometers away for shopping.
The Liwa Hotel is older than most of the hotels around UAE but it is clean, the staff is friendly, and the beds are comfortable. A great plus is the entrance road to the hotel, almost 5 km to the highway and back, and steep as you approach the hotel. Great road for a run - challenging. One issue - I got a price quoted from Expedia for the room but when I checked in was told that since I had booked using that method the room was going to be more than the quote. Not a lot but when I book a hotel, I expect the rate to be the same as what I was quoted when I booked. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by Ameen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Great rooms, nice pool, excellent service. Two Margins on which the hotel could improve: 1. greater variety at the breakfast buffet. 2. Do not allow people to go in the pool fully dressed (I do not refer here to the full body swimming attire worn by Muslim ladies, I refer to families entering the pool fully dressed in their pajamas).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth the drive!

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
A fantastic location - relaxing! Great views of desert and friendly staff who are very helpful. Four wheel biking in the vast sand dunes was amazing! The hotel itself is a little old, but it has been refurbished and is clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy

Excellent location for visiting the dunes

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Location near the dunes.
Cons: The food.
Location: The Liwa desert is one of my favorite places on earth; there isn't much to do nearby, but for desert lovers, the dunes are enough.
My husband and I stayed at the Liwa Hotel a few years ago and were looking forward to going back. This time, however, there were very few guests (in January, the high season) which meant that a breakfast buffet (very good in the past) wasn't practical for them and the guests had to order their breakfasts the night before. The food, overall, wasn't up to previous standards. The staff was pleasant and I feel they were really trying, but overall the experience was not up to our expectations and was quite expensive in addition.