Ratings based on 671 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from EDMONTON

Posted Jan 15, 2018
nice hotel in a beautiful location. Safe for tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Good location. Near train stations. Short walk to 上下九步行街
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elora, On. Canada

A fully renovated charming heritage hotel .

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: As I noted above, I appreciated it's heritage and character.
Cons: I really had no complaints.
Location: It is ideally situated in the designated heritage district on Shamien Island and is therefore central to pleasant walks throughout the area.
I had a very comfortable stay. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the hotel and room clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: better management review
Location: Location is excellent, close to markets, metro and shopping streets
Location was great, close to the Metro, check in was quick and easy, I was given an "Expedia" upgrade, so I hate to think what room I would have been given without it! The shops & river for ferry travel were also close, quiet area with nice walking area down to the river. The Victory hotel is actually 2 hotels. I stayed in the older style Original one. The interior is becoming tired and run down. The management standards have slipped and is shown up in the attitude of staff... some are great and very helpful, others I suspect just want to be there to collect they pay cheque and are very uninterested and would rather be talking to their friends or on their mobiles. The breakfast (although reasonable cheap) was very poor, most was cold or over held, pigs feet for breakfast was probably a "no starter" from the beginning. There was way too much food being prepared for the number of diners, also fruit juice was supermarket brought bottled type, the option of 1/2 cooked omelette was available and was probably the best choice... at least it was hot. Somedays lots of staff others only 2. No management supervision..... I think I could have even been a better manager that what they have.... Having said that the $ room rate was good and although I would not stay here again I would consider staying at the "New Victory" hotel just around the corner.. This could be a GREAT hotel, it just needs some love and MUCH better management supervision.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Old world charm

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Stayed at 4th level room with balcony. The room was modern, very clean and comfortable. A hotel of old world charm with modern comfort in the midst of a cluster of colonial buildings. A good variety for breakfast. Altogether a most satisfying stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland ohio

Nice,clean and comfortable

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Orbitz
I like to stay in this hotel , because it is not built in the inside urban city, it is looked like inside the peninsula, the area is more quiet, but it's not far from the walking street, you can eat and shop over there, very convenience.
4 out of 5
by Katherine

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable room with good breakfast buffet. Nice rooftop pool with great view of (polluted) Guangzhou. Located on Shamian island, it was a peaceful respite from busy Guangzhou. The 2 restaurants in the hotel were the biggest disappointment overall - the "western" restaurant had very little actually available, and did not serve alcohol despite bottles of liquor on show behind the bar! The Chinese restaurant was booked for a private function of each of our 3 nights' stay. I had a massage at the nearby Traditional Chinese Medicine school - which I highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice hotel close to the shop and restaurant

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Happy, I'll book a hotel with Expedia for next vacation So Much......................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location Comfort
Cons: -
Location: Beautiful location in the heart of Guangzhou
Great hotel on beautiful Shamian Island Near a Metro stop Very convenient