Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Ingrid

Convenient

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Nice and convenient stay on our road trip in Iceland. Shared bathroom right outside the room. Good breakfast. Dinner at the restaurant was so-so; what we got was not what it said on the menu, but it was still okay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dorm Rooms

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
This isn't really a hotel it's a school with dorm rooms, bathrooms were messy, not a comfortable stay. Nothing close to this location, restaurant on site expensive. Staff were great to deal with.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth price paid

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Word of warning: do not use the hotels.com booking confirmation email map. When clicked, maps will lead you to the Edda hotel in Akureyri. Edda Strorutjarnir is 30 minutes from Akureyri. We stayed the night before the hotel was closing for the summer season. We were looking forward to the pool but it had already been closed (they also charge for entry). The room was clean but basic. No coffee/tea maker and no wifi in rooms. The only complaint was the overwhelming smell of rotten eggs from the shower and faucet. I could've been imaging it, but the taste was also unpleasant. Luckily, there was a faucet in the next building that had better tasting water. The next morning while getting ready to leave, there was a knock on my door. A young woman barged in, without waiting for my answer, and said she needed to strip the curtain off the shower for washing. She did't seem to be aware of the concept of privacy. Glad I was already dressed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tucked away in the North

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
This is a basic hotel in a fantastic location. The rooms are basic with not much to write home about. But the location is good for Northern Iceland with a great trail running opportunities close by. The restaurant is nice, a little overpriced but they can afford to be with not much else around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah, USA

Did not have some basic comforts.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: It is on Highway 1, Ring Road. Staff was friendly. It is a school for the rest of the year.
Cons: I would definitely suggest the Hotel provide at least a coffee maker in the room.
Location: The Godafoss Falls are near by which we saw before we came. We had a long drive that day and wanted to relax. Also it was bitterly cold.
The hotel is clean but did not have even a kettle/coffee maker. In the bitterly cold weather, a kettle in the room is appreciated. We were doing the Ring road and it was our 5th day on the road. We had stayed in farm houses, guest houses, and this was our most expensive accommodation and we were hoping for more comfort. In all our previous places we had coffee maker in the room or there was a kitchen we could use. Then we found out there was no hair dryer, this was the only place with no hair dryer. The hotel can provide a few basic amenities besides the bed. We were disappointed with the basic amenities.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Baltimore, USA

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
The staff at the Hotel Edda were friendly and accomodating. The rooms weren't spacious and the wireless didn't make it up to the rooms, but it was affordable and in a great area.
4 out of 5
by Patrick from Boston, MA

Clean, friendly, would recommend.

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights as we toured Myvatn and made our way around the ring road. Room was comfortable and clean, and though we would have preferred a double bed, we just pushed the 2 singles together and it was good enough. Lounge with free Wifi was great (bonus for being able to order drinks from the front desk) for staying in contact at the end of the day.
4 out of 5
by Heather

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Frances from Philadelphia

Just fine for what it is.

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was formerly a boarding school turned elementary school. So the rooms are just like dorm rooms with a sink. The hotel staff was helpful. The view out the windows was incredible and it was close to the Myvatn area. Shared bathrooms are the only choice and wifi in certain areas not in the rooms. Great breakfast though and it was included.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
The triple room with private toilet is very spacious Room is very new and very clean Wifi in room was strong Neighbourhood is quiet and very pleasant