Ratings based on 1,020 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel very well located

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Stayed in this hotel last week - for 4 nights. The hotel is in a brilliant location - so close to the old town area, river area, shops yet located on a quiet street - we experienced no noise in the hotel from outside. The room (deluxe room) was lovely overlooking the Main Street, very large bathroom - and very comfortable bedroom. Very clean and well set up. The breakfast was great with an outstanding choice and quality. We used a local car hire (Renty) through the hotel who were very good and reasonable cost. Recommended! I would definitely return to this hotel. If I had any issues observations - to note - - if you order a specific food choice at breakfast expect to wait a while (this is warned by the hotel) so be prepared .... but the quality will be very good. The hotel staff were very helpful. We used the hotel connected shuttle bus transfer to the airport and back - it was very good. - the complimentary drinks choice within the room (i.e. Not the mini bar!) - is a bit limited - usually only one tea bag! So asked for more at reception .... or bring a few! You won't be disappointed if you book a stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Convenient location

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Great location, comfy beds, excellent breakfast.
Cons: One of the curtains was falling down but we could still draw them. Slightly tired furnishings.
Location: Excellent location, very convenient to old town, castle, river, opera house and Christmas market.
Good location in pedestrian area very convenient to everything to see in Ljubljana. The staff were helpful and let us check in early. Room was good size for a twin and had everything that was needed. I found the room hot at night but you could open the window (although there was a lot of noise on Saturday night - with partying until about 4am). Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of hot and cold foods.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England UK.

Very good value hotel.

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Central location within five minutes of the old town. The breakfast buffet is probably the best I've had. Very helpful staff. The only small criticism is there is no business centre ie. a PC for guests to use, and there are no Internet cafes in the city. OK if you have a laptop to use the WIFI though. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time in Ljubljana

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Fabulous location, really nice hotel. Breakfast is above and beyond ..every imaginable type of food. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel close to the old town

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and close to the old town.
Cons: Air conditioning that works in October. Open the restaurant on Mondays
Hotel Slon was clean and the staff were almost tripping over themselves to make sure we were comfortable and we had everything we needed. The included breakfast was quite the spread with almost everything you can imagine. We were surprised the restaurant was closed on Mondays in a major hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Igor Časar- reservation Agent, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing a nice words and positive feedback here on Expedia. It is always a pleasure when we hear how much you appreciate our staff, and also it is nice to know that you enjoyed our diverse buffet breakfast. Regarding the restaurant, probably it was misunderstanding, because our restaurant is always open on Monday, only on Sunday our restaurant is closed and we offer to our guests our lounge bar Zvezda, where the guests can get snacks and deserts. We are sorry for inconvenience and we hope that overall you will choose our hotel on your next Ljubljana visit. Best regards, Igor Časar-Reservation Agent
5 out of 5
by Charles

Fine hotel in a beautiful city!

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel! The amazing buffet breakfast has the broadest array of choices I have ever seen. The rooms and lobby are very comfortable and the location is a short walk from the charming old town area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

perfect location, helpfull staff

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Really well located near the canal and the castle, very kind staff, mainly Nermina at the desk who gave us all the right information and help us to plan many activities. Room with no air conditioning, breakfast not very good (cold scramble eggs both days)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC, NY

Swell location, good hotel!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: GREAT location, comfortable rooms and public spaces. Nice touch: umbrella in room closet for rainy day.
Cons: Minor point but: the glass partition for the tub had a gap at the joint and water leaked through when using the shower!
Location: Every thing is near this hotel--quays, museums, sights, restaurants, the train station is near, too. The central location can't be beat!
The Slon was mentioned in Lonely Planet and we saw it on Expedia. We spent 3 nights here. The location in the pedestrian district was perfect. We could walk everywhere! We had a view from our window of the fortress on the hill! Our room was well appointed with good mattress, linens, pillows, although it was on the small side for our tastes. The bathroom had a tub with shower; we prefer showers but this was fine with water temp and pressure. Bathroom was a good size. Decent closet space. Front desk personnel were professional; breakfast staff was very helpful. The extensive breakfast was included. Nice touch was some made-to-order breakfast offerings. The hostess encouraged us to try! The cafe/bar attached to the hotel on the ground floor was open all day and lively. Lots of beverage choices and excellent (!!) cakes. Good people watching onto the pedestrian street. We are a 65+ recently retired couple traveling leisurely. This hotel was great for us--good value and a good standard for its category.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to Train station in Wien

Posted Oct 11, 2017
This morning I checked out this hotel. But unlike other hotel they did not give me invoice sheet. So, pls send me invoice sheet by mail asap. This invoice sheet will be used for expense claim to company.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great location, staff were all very friendly

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Great location, friendly, helpful staff. Spotlessly clean. Only down for me was the breakfast not to my taste. Selection of hot and cold food but hot food was not hot enough