Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff. Was a real pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location in City Center

Posted Nov 9, 2017
The nonbusiness Hotel Union property is probably a better option as some of the business rooms are quite run down and of variable quality. Apparently the business property was the former Holiday Inn. Location can't be beat. Overall better than Slon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good hotel, conveniently located.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
A comfortable hotel situated very close to the main city sights. A wide choice at breakfast although the dining room did get very crowded. We enjoyed the swimming pool with its good opening hours and top floor view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good city stay in the middle of Ljubljana

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Location, directly linked to Grand Union Hotel, good sized rooms, decent breakfast buffet, excellent staff.
Cons: Air conditioning system is old and does not allow for individual room control, with the hotel either being on summer or winter settings.
Location: Really central, in the middle of the old town, and everything is within 30- 40 minutes walk (the zoo, Tivoli Park, the castle, the cat caffe...).
Booked hotel for a conference in Ljubljana with some extra holiday time. Location is excellent, and was affordable for 6 night stay. Didn't realise that the business hotel is actually physically joined to the Grand Hotel Union, which made things even more convenient. Room was a good size and had windows that actually opened, which was great, as the air conditioning was central and the hotel was on winter settings (i.e. too hot). Hotel staff were brilliantly helpful and had excellent English. Gym was good (though needs more ventilation!) and swimming pool was nice for relaxing, but not big enough for proper swimming. Breakfast was the same every day but with good variety and decent quality. Hotel has car parking but it's limited and not recommended for big cars. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid - NOT a 4 star, misleading information

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
This is NOT a 4 star hotel - the room was 1970s tired, the towels paper thin (shown is the bath towel - a joke!), the location noisy (there is a club near it - the windows have awful (if any) double glazing). Worst of all, we'd booked a "studio", which was twice as expensive as our previous Ljubljana hotel, as a treat. When we saw the room, it was just a normal room - no separate seating area or anything to mark it as a "studio". I called reception and he basically said they just called slightly bigger rooms "studios" - I pointed out this was misleading and false advertising, and VERY expensive for what was effectively just a normal room. He could not have cared less. Dreadful service. The adjoining Grand Hotel Union appears nice - the Grand Hotel Union Business is a different kettle of fish however - tired, dated, ugly building, brown dated furniture. The room was hot, and we couldn't get the aircon to work, so we left the balcony door open. And then we received a slip of paper telling us there was a noisy party that night and to expect noise.... Reception always seemed chaotic, with people everywhere. When we checked out, we waited in a queue and the receptionist pointed at us to move towards him. As we moved, a woman pushed in front of us and went to him. At no point did he say we were first or attempt to deal with it. It just summed the place up. I would say to stay in the "proper" Grand Union but to be fair, I wouldn't want to give them my money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect location good value for money

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: nil
great location with in few min. from local tourist places. good staff , great spa. good food
4 out of 5
by Keith

Helpful comments

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
The signs to the breakfast room and long corridor and exit signs from the restaurant were poor and we (and others) were confused on the 1st day. One of the room bath robes was very second hand- holes and frayed.
3 out of 5
by Graham

a bit disappointed.

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is well located however we found the room to be very tired and a bit smelly. The massage chair in the room was great! The room as spacious. There was a conference in the hotel and as a result (I assume) breakfast was very crowed and difficult to access. Would probably stay elsewhere if we visited again.
5 out of 5
by Annette

Best hotel ever

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
Every wish granted. Would have loved to stay longer to use all the great facilities.
4 out of 5
by dganit from near to the center

nice hotel great locationd

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
realy nice