Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Julie from Llanelli

Quaint different hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
We like to jump on the heart of Wales train line and stay in different little places. This was just the ticket. The hotel was quite different and very quaint. Room was lovely and very romantic with four poster bed. Most of the staff were very friendly, even though they were obviously short staffed during breakfast. but I think the manager could have been a little more welcoming !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful pub atmosphere. We have been here several times and will keep going back when in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Very comfortable room and good value. Helpful friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Special weekend

Posted Mar 16, 2015
We chose the Castle for my birthday weekend and weren't disappointed. Lovely room, good service and great food in a nice little town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Very well run hotel nothing too much trouble

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Mainly the staff...very professional no moaning or gossiping as is often found. We were made to feel very welcome felt very relaxed
Cons: I can't fault anything about the way hotel is run it is done so well it would be difficult to improve on...
Location: Nice village few pubs and plenty of interesting shops good location for touring
Stayed 2 nights room upgraded due to car rally so given really nice room. Staff worked very long hours but remained on the ball we did not ask for anything but heard others making special requests which they bent over backwards to accommodate. If we are in the area in the future we would definitely stay again! Room was at front on busy road so can be noisy but managed to sleep ok toiletries and tea/coffee supplies exceptional. Breakfast was very good having a good selection to choose from had full welsh one morning and smoked haddock the next all perfectly cooked. we ate in the hotel during our stay sandwiches very good evening meals good. car parking at rear overall perfect stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bracknell

More cave than castle

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The building itself was interesting and other than a few stickers on the wall everything was very clean.
Cons: Communication, the boiler, service, the beds- Most of it to be fair.
At first glance The Castle Hotel is a lovely establishment with quirky features. We arrived at the 2pm check-in time and were taken up to a room in disarray, apologies ensued and we were taken back to the lobby and given coffee as an apology. Thirty five minutes later we were finally taken to our room. My next bad experience was when i tried to shower and got only cold water, thinking it was me i left it for another time. After exploring the local area we retired to our room to watch TV, unfortunately the HDMI cable was broken on the TV and the connection to the terrestrial channels was horrendous. Settling into bed that night wasn't a comfortable experience, the bed was lumpy and the room felt cold. I woke up in the middle of the night freezing cold and checked the radiator which was also cold despite being set to the highest temperature. Breakfast the next morning was standard, nothing special but nothing to complain about. Heading back to the room i tried to shower again and was frustrated to discover the water was still freezing cold. I headed down to reception to query this and was dismayed to discover the boiler was broken, i was rather shocked i'd been there over 24 hours and not been told this. Eventually the boiler was fixed and the heating and water was vastly improved but with barely an apology from the staff. Our second experience of breakfast was very disappointing- We waited forty minutes and the Haddock was under-cooked. The rest of our stay was bearable.
4 out of 5
by stephen from jarrow

stay at castle hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
very comfortable, meals are first class and is the service .plenty of choice on menu .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Welshpool

Good value. excellent food

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: It was in the centre of Llandovery. The food was tasty and good value.
Cons: Quieter room, better view
Location: We went walking around Llandovery.
The room was a little small and there were weird ‘water noises’ above us, it sounded like we were under a very large water tank. There were other ‘pump’ noises from the kitchen below. The blinds obsured what little view we had and the toilet seat wouldn’t stay up. However we were very centrally located, free parking, excellent food and I’d stay again but ask for a different room next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fab!

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely comfortable clean bed, nice decor.Well sound proofed room. Hotel in a lovely setting. Free parking, great breakfast. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by stuart from Brighouse

long week in wales!

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels
Business stay. Stayed for 4 days and made to feel very welcome.