Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Llandridrod Wells - faded glory

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
I emailed hotel to book restaurant for Dinner - when we arrived I found out we were in the Brasserie which was adjoining a very busy bar as a big group of Bikers were staying over. We were also disappointed with Buffet Breakfast - very mediocre - expected better of this hotel. Llandridod Wells itself has little to offer but I guess a good base if touring the Elan Valley
5 out of 5
by Lyn

Exactly as detailed on website - very nice

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
A nice hotel for business or pleasure. I stayed just one night on business and enjoyed the room and facilities. I used the brasserie for lunch of a jacket potato (bit pricey but expected in a hotel setting) and then stayed to work in there until the room was ready. The hotel has lots of seating either in the food area or in a lounge behind reception giving plenty of room to work or socialise. The room itself was lovely and very clean. As others have noted, the decor is a little tired in the rooms and may not be to all tastes. The bathroom was extremely modern and clean with a powerful shower. There was a nice selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room. There is a TV but it is extremely small. The desk provides room for working on a laptop with plug sockets. For dinner the brasserie was full so I walked one minute down the road to the left to the lovely Fabian's Kitchen serving curry or pasta. If you go round the corner, you can find some small shops. For breakfast there is everything I would want: juice, toast, hash browns, beans and scrambled eggs. There are also plenty of other options too and the dining room is lovely and sunny. The swimming pool was really lovely with lockers and a towel provided and I would really recommend a visit. The only thing letting it down is the late check-in from 4pm as this nearly put me off booking.
3 out of 5
by Rajeev

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by David

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
1 night in Llandrindod for business- historic hotel 5 minutes from the station.
3 out of 5
by Ross

Ok but Pictures are a bit deceiving.

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Looked good on the pics, and when I walked in I thought wow this looks brilliant as the foyer and front bar is lovely. Receptionist was brilliant, as were all the staff, the one true positive about the place. However, Room looked like something from the 1940s and the en suite was bigger. Room was comfy enough but took me 30 mins to figure the tv out. Round the hotel it was clean but a bit tired and grubby. Lots of retirees about and I was the youngest resident at 36 by a long way. Didn't try the spa, but thinking based on the rest of the residents I may have stepped into a scene from cocoon. Food was ok, my beer was flat but they changed it. An ok hotel, but if I don't think I'll be back.
3 out of 5
by Kate

Honest review

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
An old fashioned well run hotel, however I had a noisy evening/ night. Unfortunately from my room you could hear what sounded like washing machines spinning for long time late at night, and a lot of people noise from the corridor. So trying to have a quiet night was somewhat tricky. Food for the price was also wasn't great. I stay in a lot of hotels around the country with my job, and for the price I paid for my gammon meal I would have expected it to be a lot nicer, without the water running out of it and going all over the salad and chips on my plate! Breakfast was a lot better and a huge selection. Hotel staff were always polite and happy. Cleanliness was excellent. Just a shame a few things let it down. For the price I'd paid I would expect rather a lot more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly hotel with more than helpful staff

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Have now stayed here on several occasions and would recommend to anyone
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Good central location

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Spencers Brasserie was lovely ..
Cons: The main part of the hotel needs to be updated.
Location: Centrally located, walking distance to shops etc ..
The main part of the hotel is very dated and tired and the bedroom was very small, but clean. Spencers Brasserie at the front has obviously been recently renovated and it is very contemporary, serving good food ..it looks a bit out of place compared to the rest of the hotel, but the service was excellent and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Exmouth, UK

Fantastic Place

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Lovely decor and feel - great facilities - pool etc, friendly staff. Nice room. The road front lounge/patio is a great place to have a drink
Cons: I guess there are always things that could be improved - but can't think of any right now.
Location: There are great walks around Llandrindod - around the lake - walking along by the river is excellent. The annual Victorian festival was in progress..
I had, to my shame, never heard of Llandrindod Wells, let alone the Metropole and had no idea what to expect. The hotel was an excellent suprise - it is quite vast inside and is a mixture of modern hotel finesse and traditional Victorian/Edwardian seaside resort hotel which works very well. The food was excellent - our stay includede breakfast and dinner. There is a very nice pool and spa. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only very very slight negative for us was that our room (121) was opposite the linen rooms - but it was a very very minor annoyance and the staff were all great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

referb needed

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Pros: nice food
Cons: the decor
Location: centeral
needs updating , old fashioned nice big rooms, shower did not work!!!