Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick break before Xmas

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Location price , pub scene
Cons: Up date the rooms beds and furniture , and bedding
Location: Horse shoe pass , and falls , Llangollen canal and aqueduct
Great location , car parking on site , nice and tidy pub. Needs little TLC , some staff friendly some just doing their job . Good value for money , locals very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Very friendly staff

Posted Oct 31, 2017
We arrived and checked in and the staff straight away appeared very helpful. Lovely hot meals
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

everything we expected and more

Posted Oct 23, 2017
What a lovely little hotel - arrived checked in in a couple of mins no fuss. The breakfast was lovely, beds were comfy and the room was clean and comfortable - great little bar downstairs and many bars and restaurants walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Local experience

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. Felt sorry for the locals squashed into the venue to watch the World Cup qualifier where Wales lost.
5 out of 5
by Barry

A great weekend

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here for a long weekend it's a lovely hotel staff very friendly a great breakfast to start the day . The food menu is also good plenty of choice would defiantly recommend it we will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lacashire

wonderfull view

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: nice friendly hotel in good position in a very attractive town
Cons: stairs up to third floor bedrooms
Location: plenty to do and see in surrouning area for active and the not so active and those of us who like to watch
rooms small but adequate clean and comfortable front facing rooms wonderful view, friendly helpful staff food great only down side steep stairs up to rooms and they in dire need of decorating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Rooms a bit dated and difficult to get in and out of shower due to sink being in the way and doors not opening fully. Room was clean and comfortable and cooked breakfast was lovely. Would stay here again. Nice pub and food, as ate our evening meal here as well.
4 out of 5
by Lynda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Anita

Lovely village

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay but stairways and hotel rooms require a good overhaul i.e. lick of paint and a good scrub up. Didn't bother us too much as we were out and about most of the time. Breakfast was fab as was the Sunday lunch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Lovely view of river Dee from our room. Very near to town. Many coffee shops around