Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Forest of Dean

Hotel to get away from it all with excellent food

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Location and quality of food and drink.
Cons: A little more attention to detail when cleaning the room. Had to wait a while for key on return from day out as no one on reception & bar person busy
Location: Great for visiting Llangollen and would have been perfect for walking, but we were en route to a festival at Portmerion, so no time.
Sat nav took us down a quite challenging single track, but there were better routes out and we loved the setting, so not really complaining. Stunning, peaceful location. Superb food, range of beers and quality wine. A roaring fire in the bar and comfy room with fab views. Choice of bar or dining room for eating - both equally lovely. Only a stale jug of milk on the windowsill, a hair clip under the bed and some hairs in a drawer stopped me from rating it higher in terms of cleanliness, but bed and bathroom were clean and fresh. Comfy bed, breakfast staff particularly friendly and the food really is exceptional - especially loved the porridge with a touch of whiskey followed by kippers ( though I had the last lot). Would highly recommend - particularly if you want to be away from it all, but with access to excellent walking country. Another lovely pub across the road if you want variety.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Lovely room, friendly, attentive staff and great food!
5 out of 5
by Conor

Charming rural retreat

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
The Hand is a lovely quaint countryside Inn. It is in a remote but charming village, surrounded by beautiful countryside. The Inn itself is quaint and old fashioned. Be prepared that Wifi is poor and phone signal was non-existent, but if you're happy to have an off-line break then its a great spot. The room was spacious and comfortable. Our room only had a free-standing bath and no shower, which may not suit everyone but we liked the old fashioned charm of it. The bar was welcoming and cosy, and the restaurant was excellent. If you are planning to explore Snowdonia and the surrounding region then this is delightful place to rest up, eat an excellent meal, enjoy a drink and relax for the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Very nice hotel way off the beaten path.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
This is a great hotel way off the beaten path. The staff was great with everything. I really enjoyed talking with them. Dinner was amazing. The rooms are very nice as well. If you don't mind a little bit of a drive on one lane roads this is a great place.to go to. The day I went there was a pheasant out in the field and lambs playing around. A more country scene you couldn't ask for. The bit of snow the next morning could have been left out however.
5 out of 5
by Stacey

Little find

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful location. The inn was charming and the staff lovely and welcoming.
5 out of 5
by Mr Thomas

Excellent food at The Hand

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic food alongside lovely staff, wonderful pub, accommodation and location. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Wouldn't recommend for a winter visit

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Nice decor, friendly staff
Cons: Need to install better heating and have it turned on in public areas, our bedroom did not have a shower which was much missed
Location: Nice area although a bit gloomy in the winter. Our stay was overshadowed by how cold we were.
Our bedroom & bathroom were absolutely freezing. We had to ask for heaters after the first night which they gave us otherwise we were going to check out. The public areas were also cold.Food was erratic, one morning the porridge was made with milk (very nice) but the next day it was made from water (unpleasant), we also had an inedible sorbet. Staff were, however, with one exception very pleasant and helpful, hotel nicely decorated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing Food

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Cons: It's an old building, so our room was a little cold in the night.
Great hotel, lovely atmosphere, fabulous service and the most amazing food, even down to breakfast. Definitely worth a visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sightseeing in North Wales

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely pub/ hotel, with very friendly staff, excellent food, although the portions were way too large for me. A very comfortable room with stunning views, lots of tea, coffee and water in the room. It is a bit isolated but the drive through the valley is very scenic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Such a relaxing enjoyable 2 night stay.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The dog friendly hotel is amazing meeting other dogs and their owners. Log fire is so good. Food at this hotel was amazing. The haddock and poached egg for breakfast and braised steak for dinner were both exceptional meals.
Cons: No faults in this hotel. Lovely staff lovely hotel.
Location: Situated in a central place for many amazing walks. Chirk castle was worth a visit which has alot it countryside walks surrounding it.