Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice spot; adjust your expectations before going

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Nipa Hut is a nice spot at the end of a dirt road along the Loboc River. It feels pretty desolate and there's not a lot going on a night -- sun sets early, after which is you, the other travelers and the mosquitos! The location is actually fairly decent; it's close to Chocolate Hills, the Tarsier reservation, and Tagbilaran and Panglao aren't too far away, either. If you're looking for comfort, warm showers and entertainment, Nipa Hut isn't the place for you. If you want to get away from civilization for a little bit, then it's great. I would recommend renting one of Nipa Hut's scooters and going exploring. There are some cool little villages along the south coast. Panglao is also worth a drive for a day of beaching.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Very basic accommodation

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Quiet location and boat trip
Cons: Bathroom was pretty bad and the room wasn't that clean. The comumunal area had potential but was just tatty and again lacked some serious tlc.
Location: Quiet location but you really need a scooter if you stay here.
The place feels run down and is very basic however, it does a job and was the best place we felt on offer in Loboc. I would say you definitely need your own transport as its a good 2km walk down a dirt road from the Main Street which is also another 3km down from the main town. The little huts had a hammock and little seating area outside which was nice and it was lovely and quiet and chilled there. If you want food just let them know in advance but it was tasty and the firefly boat trip is a must, really amazing. There is no wifi and the place needs some tlc but the guy who worked there was kind and also sorted out scooter hire for us. There is also a fridge you can store stuff in which was handy.
1 out of 5
by Donna from Langley Canada

No rainbow at the end of the road

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
No access to transportation toilet inches above the floor,no food available, huts in rough shape. The only plus was the fantastic location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

One night stay by the river

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The exterior
Cons: The rooms need to be repaired, holes in the walls and lack of maintenance
Location: The Floating Restaurant $450p offers a nice ride and buffet lunch at the river.There are also paddling boat tours and night watching fireflies tours.
This is a very small town with friendly people and a beautiful sight of the Loboc river, but its important to note that the huts are precisely overlooking he river as one could think. There are however small decks on the riverside where one can have breakfast (bring your own food) there are no restaurants, markets, ATM, internet or any conveniences nearby. The room at Nipa Hut is in disrepair and small but has a" flush it yourself" toilet and good pressure shower facility (no hot water) is equipped with a mosquito net and toilet paper. Two pillows. Overall is a one night stay kinda room. Just Ok to land if you don't know anywhere else around and you wish to do river activities, Electricity can go out at any minute so bring a flash light, and be prepared to get ripped off by the locals. I arrived on a taxi from the ferry port about 30min from the destination. Archibald, the host was very helpful and willing to take me around on his bike, since distances are too far and remote to walk. He took me to in and out of my main destination: The floating restaurant, ($450p ticket for lunch and a river trip). He arranged dinner at the nearest by stay "Stand-UP" which I would recommend instead. STU has similar rates, a friendly restaurant and Wi-Fi access. Archibald was always very attentive, the only downside was the mega inflated transport arrangement $500p on a broken Tuck Tuck he cahoots with a pusher friend, but I figured that he tip himself for the rides and hosting.
4 out of 5
by Cromwell from NYC

Backpacker's Hut

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels
An exciting place to stay in if you're a nature lover and if you want to be at the center of the different tourist areas up north and down south.
4 out of 5
by jarmenkell91

great for backpackers!

Posted Feb 23, 2013 on Hotels
Satisfied, the staff are friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Chuck

Not as represented

Posted Oct 23, 2012 on Hotels
The photographs and descriptions for this property were of the parent hotel on Cebu. The Nipa Huts were much more basic than I expected and there was not really a restaurany though no-choice food was provided on request. It is a long walk from the road. For me the river and village walk was beautiful. But if you want more than basics and a convenient location, book at Nuts Huts in Loboc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

For everyone

Posted Apr 17, 2012
No towels, water hose for bathroom and shower. No running water. Lot of bugs and poorly built huts. No televisions or anything really modern. Fan in hut which is no good. Long way out in the jungle or road side. Poor cell reception by PH SUN.2G.
3 out of 5
by Laura

Good for 2 nights, not more

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
What I really liked about Nipa Hut Village was the location directly at the river in the jungle! It was also nice that they have free drinking water and you can order food there for little money. The choice is not big but it was good (they have something vegetarian!). The room was very small and luckily the bed has a mosquito net, because there a lots of mosquitos and other animals like lizards for example.. The bathroom was quite horrible, not really clean and the shower with very low pressure and even switched off a couple of times when the neighbours used the water. I don't want to talk about the toilet... You will need a motorbike because it's quite far from everything but you can rent it there for a good price. It's okay to stay for 1 or 2 nights, then you will probably be happy to change.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Groningen

Wij hebben niet verbleven in Nipa Hut Village.

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: De ligging is mooi aan de rivier maar ver weg van alles.
Cons: Het reserveringssysteem klopt niet. Op de plek is geen internet. Daardoor weet men niet wie waarvoor heeft geboekt.
Location: De locatie is authentiek en ligt mooi aan de rivier. Activiteiten in de nabijheid ken ik niet.
Omdat wij niet voor 2 nachten in ons geboekte huisje konden maar 1 nacht op de slaapzaal hadden moeten verblijven hebben wij een ander en duurder onderdak moeten zoeken. De plek is mooi maar afgelegen en erg basic.