Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eine Nacht. Gute Unterkunft.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Cons: Kompfort
Location: Ich glaube nichts. Mitten im nirgendwo.
Kein W-LAN verfügbar, da defekt. Rundrum Nichts. Allerdings zur Durchreise super geeignet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The food!
Cons: A proper reception area - unclear where to book in etc
Only there for one night but served our purpose perfectly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Off the beaten path

Posted Aug 6, 2016
If you are looking for a true highland experience, this is the hotel! Far into the mountains, this hotel is also a local hangout. Loved listening to the Gaelic language being spoken, and the forests are exquisite. Very sweet owners, and clean, if just slightly rustic, boarding.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, Canada

Not worth the price

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The whole atmosphere of the place.
Location: The hotel is literally in the middle of nothing. There's not even a village!
We planned on staying here for 4 nights but after our first night we left. It was way overpriced, the room was very drab, the internet did not work anywhere in the hotel, the breakfast was terrible and you were stuck in a room with no windows with a bunch of other people like cattle. I would not recommend this place unless you were desperate and didn't want to sleep in your car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from asia

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Really a very quiet place in the middle of nowhere. If you are okay with pets(dogs) in your room, then it's fine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Österreich

Sehr ordentliches Inn zw. Skye und den Highlands

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: - sehr gute Küche im Restaurant - Service Bar/Restaurant ausgezeichnet und sehr freundlich - kostenloses Parken - recht geräumiges Zimmer
Cons: - Badezimmer nicht sehr modern und klein - gelbes Leitungswasser unangenehm
Location: Hotel auf halbem Weg zw. Insel Skye und Ft. William in den Highlands am Waldrand aber auch direkt an Hauptstrasse, Bahnhof fußläufig erreichbar
Positiv: - sehr gute Küche im Restaurant, die jeden Cent wert ist - Service Bar/Restaurant ausgezeichnet und sehr freundlich - kostenloses Parken - recht geräumiges Zimmer Negativ: - Badezimmer nicht sehr modern und klein - gelbes Leitungswasser unangenehm
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

A beautiful stop in a beautiful spot

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: See above! Everything!
Cons: Nothing, really. It's an easy place to park, you can drive round all sides of the building so you don't get blocked in, and it's in the perfect place.
Location: Visit Mallaig, see the silver sands, check out loch morar; the surroundings are unbelievable.
I had originally hoped to stay at the Glenuig Inn - but couldn't get a last minute spot. The Lochailort Inn is one I remember passing when I was a little boy. I am incredibly glad we got to stay there. It is such a perfect location on the route out to Mallaig (by road). I was introducing a girl to the Scottish highlands, and Lochailort was our first night's stay. She was absolutely blown away by the beauty of the surroundings. It is absolutely perfect for a young couple who are looking for something that's nice, accommodating, does good food, and isn't too expensive. The staff were wonderful and helpful and kind, as is typical of Scottish Inns! The food was great, no complaints at all. That said, we only had the brekkie! The view out of the windows on such a sunny, clear evening and morning was sublime.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very average, way overpriced for what you get

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Cons: price should reflect that it is remote and not close to anything, the breakfast could include real fruit
Location: it is 30 plus minutes to the ferry at the next town to catch for isle of skye. we did not do in advance so we had to drive 3 hours to get there.
we stayed 2 nights in 3 rooms w college kids and grandparent. there is no real reception, we had dinner at the restaurant the first evening and it was ok, the breakfast is so so, the location is right on the main road, only 1 had a decent view, they have their own water source so the water is yellow (due to too much rain and not because it is dirty) so they have a plastic water bottle to brush your teeth. was outside of town which we did not see since no one in hotel available to help guide us. it is more like a house with rented rooms. the rooms and bathroom are clean but felt odd about showering it water that was tinted.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire, UK

Friendly hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing was too much trouble for the staff ... very friendly
Cons: nothing ... all was great
Location: Mountain walking near by
Staff very welcoming. the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA, Australia

Very friendly and relaxed stop-off near Glenfinnan

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Relaxed friendly atmosphere
Very friendly hotel with surpringsingly great food.