Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A night in the Scottish countryside

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Hillclimbing, kayaking, (sea & freshwater), fishing, boating, sailing, golf, hunting, cycling, Glenfinnan "Harry Potter", Loch Morar Morag monster
Very pleasant hotel, staff, room, bar, extremely pleasant breakfast. Plenty car parking space, freesat TV, good reception TV & radio.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 4, 2016
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bearsden

One night stop-over in holiday trip.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Location: We were not there long enough to take advantage of the area but it is well situated for motoring.. or walking... in the direction of Morar and Mallaig
Warm welcome from staff. Very satisfactory evening meal and a fine Mallaig Kipper for breakfast! The room(7) is quite spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. This is an historic old inn which appears to have been largely rebuilt internally to great effect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Genova

Bella struttura immersa nella natura

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Ci siamo trovati molto bene, camere comode e funzionali. Colazione ottima. Il personale e' gentilissimo, e molto disponibile.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

peaceful and friendly hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: everything, especially the staff.
A lovely, friendly hotel where nothing was too much trouble and the staff were wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Personal muy amable y habitación limpia y cómoda. Los desayunos eran muy completos y la ubicación tiene encanto. Cenamos 2 noche en el hotel, la comida muy buena. En cuanto a ciertos comentarios sobre el agua marrón son exagerados y desproporcionados. Salía muy limpia. Fué una estancia muy agradable. Repetiría.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Bon petit déjeuner... et belle collection de whisky
Hotel un peu rustique mais bon accueil. Typique des auberges écossaises!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North East England

Excellent location for the Highland attractions

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Evening meals
Location: Steam trains on the line from Fort William to Mallaig, monument and national trust centre at Glenfinnon, Neptune's Ladder and Fort William.
Location good on the main road between Fort William and Mallaig with ample free parking. Rooms clean and adequate with free Wifi and TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast and evening meals excellent can't praise the standard enough.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calufornia

Fabulous in every way.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Clean bright, quiet, beautiful place with cheerful, friendly staff. We got to know everyone. Loved the Scottish bagpipe Jazz in the bar, too!
Cons: Walls might be a little thin. Not an issue if people are respectful, which they were.
We came to Lochilort to play Straigh golf course, visit Skye and see the set of "Local Hero" in Arisaig. We drove to the bridge, went to Portree, then over to Dunvegan, then to see the Old Man of Storr before heading down to Armadale, where we caught the ferry back. Fabulous drive to a grand destination.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out of the way but close to Glennfinnan

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Comfort and proximity to Glennfinan
We were limited in our choice of accommodation due to Scotland, and in particular, the Isle of Skye being all but booked out. Lochaillort was a bit out of the way but by taking the detour, it opened our eyes to all that Glennfinnan had to offer: steam train, 'Harry Potter' viaduct, Bonnie Prince Charlie monument, stags roaming free, loch and mountains. The inn was comfortable and charming especially given our notification that we would not be arriving until almost 10pm at night. Breakfast was special and we both enjoyed an American style pancakes and bacon option that we had not seen anywhere else in over 2 months of travelling in Iceland and the UK! Can highly recommend this as a quiet, lovely place to stay.