Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carluke

Hospitality 1st rate scenery stunning relaxing

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Plenty of activities. For all age groups. Tours walks ect
Room great comfortable staff and food excellent views. Superb locals totally. Friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A night in the Scottish countryside

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Hillclimbing, kayaking, (sea & freshwater), fishing, boating, sailing, golf, hunting, cycling, Glenfinnan "Harry Potter", Loch Morar Morag monster
Very pleasant hotel, staff, room, bar, extremely pleasant breakfast. Plenty car parking space, freesat TV, good reception TV & radio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bearsden

One night stop-over in holiday trip.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Location: We were not there long enough to take advantage of the area but it is well situated for motoring.. or walking... in the direction of Morar and Mallaig
Warm welcome from staff. Very satisfactory evening meal and a fine Mallaig Kipper for breakfast! The room(7) is quite spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. This is an historic old inn which appears to have been largely rebuilt internally to great effect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

peaceful and friendly hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: everything, especially the staff.
A lovely, friendly hotel where nothing was too much trouble and the staff were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East England

Excellent location for the Highland attractions

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Evening meals
Location: Steam trains on the line from Fort William to Mallaig, monument and national trust centre at Glenfinnon, Neptune's Ladder and Fort William.
Location good on the main road between Fort William and Mallaig with ample free parking. Rooms clean and adequate with free Wifi and TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast and evening meals excellent can't praise the standard enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calufornia

Fabulous in every way.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Clean bright, quiet, beautiful place with cheerful, friendly staff. We got to know everyone. Loved the Scottish bagpipe Jazz in the bar, too!
Cons: Walls might be a little thin. Not an issue if people are respectful, which they were.
We came to Lochilort to play Straigh golf course, visit Skye and see the set of "Local Hero" in Arisaig. We drove to the bridge, went to Portree, then over to Dunvegan, then to see the Old Man of Storr before heading down to Armadale, where we caught the ferry back. Fabulous drive to a grand destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Out of the way but close to Glennfinnan

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Comfort and proximity to Glennfinan
We were limited in our choice of accommodation due to Scotland, and in particular, the Isle of Skye being all but booked out. Lochaillort was a bit out of the way but by taking the detour, it opened our eyes to all that Glennfinnan had to offer: steam train, 'Harry Potter' viaduct, Bonnie Prince Charlie monument, stags roaming free, loch and mountains. The inn was comfortable and charming especially given our notification that we would not be arriving until almost 10pm at night. Breakfast was special and we both enjoyed an American style pancakes and bacon option that we had not seen anywhere else in over 2 months of travelling in Iceland and the UK! Can highly recommend this as a quiet, lovely place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venice

Highlands getaway

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Breakfast staff.
Cons: Heating. Wifi. Clear, clean tap water.
Location: Skye. Jacobite train. Highlands Folk Museum
No wifi, but was advertised. Repeatedly asked for a connection, but told several different stories why it was not available. Very cold room. Asked for heating and or blankets but did not get either. The water came out of the tap, brown. Breakfast staff very kind and hardworking. Requested a packed breakfast as we had paid for breakfast, given very dry white sandwiches with a little bit of ham and cheese by the chef.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The food!
Cons: A proper reception area - unclear where to book in etc
Only there for one night but served our purpose perfectly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Off the beaten path

Posted Aug 6, 2016
If you are looking for a true highland experience, this is the hotel! Far into the mountains, this hotel is also a local hangout. Loved listening to the Gaelic language being spoken, and the forests are exquisite. Very sweet owners, and clean, if just slightly rustic, boarding.