Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Nice place oozing character

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Wotif
We loved the eclectic collection of artefacts that were decorating this place. rooms not modern but very pleasant. worth the experience. Not for the business traveller.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patty from USA

Old world charm with gracious hosts

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The host and hostess made our stay in France one of the most memorable in our 2 week trip. The restaurant was fabulous with impeccable service.
Cons: The room furnishings and lighting could be upgraded but it was not an issue for us. There is no elevator.
Location: Great base for visiting the eastern Loire region. Loches is a beautiful village.
The hotel is charming with a courtyard, parking, and within walking distance to all of the sights, cafes, shopping, etc. Our windows opened out onto the courtyard with a view of a 15th century tower. It was lovely. Our hosts chilled our wine for us and sent it to our room with a delightful tray of cheese and bread. The restaurant is warm and inviting. The food was delicious and reasonable priced. It was a great value.
2 out of 5
by Judy.c from Dorset

Don't stay here

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels
I would not recommend this hotel at all, difficult to find and the first room we were offered was up some circular stone steps from a courtyard, along an outside balcony and then through French doors. We were confronted by the most awful bathroom I have ever seen, the bedroom was up more stairs and and in the roof, it was so awful I would have forgone the two nights Monet rather than sleep there. The second room which we were offered we accepted although it was on the third floor with about 60 stairs to climb. It was somewhat better and the bathroom was fine. The hotel is in need of complete restoration although parts of it are very pretty.
1 out of 5
by Michele M from Glencoe

Lovely old building in need of tlc

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels
Disappointed in the hotel, old shabby carpets smell and need to be replaced, so does the mattresses and bedding. They have lovely antiques but to many dusty ornaments, such a shame could be a lovely hotel, situated in just the right place close to weekly market and stunning old buildings.
5 out of 5
by mikethornton from u k

Beautiful classic French Hote

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels
The location is perfect. The Hotel is a classic French Hotel which means that the rooms have had to be converted to add bathrooms etc. If you want a Holiday Inn clone this is not for you but if you want to sit in a beautiful courtyard, enjoy traditional French hospitality and eat superbly - stay here. And about the food....authentic superb cuisine that proves that the French still have some of the best chefs in the world.
4 out of 5
by Lorraine W from Sydney

Fabulous historic hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels
Really enjoyed my stay. Comfortable bed and very friendly and helpful hosts. Great breakfast one of the best we had on te trip. Very confidently located.
5 out of 5
by Ms McDougall from Melbourne

Great Location.

Posted Jun 8, 2013 on Hotels
I thought staff were friendly, very helpful, behind the desk and the staff who did other jobs as well.The location is central to all places and we found the rooms were kept very clean.I really can,t find fault with anything.I hope this helps you.Regards Ms S Bogacz.
5 out of 5
by Roger and Susan from Weymouth, Dorset

Welcoming hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2013 on Hotels
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Hotel de France very much. The staff were welcoming and pleasant. The hotel is in the middle of Loches, a medieval town, but has a secure car park for customer use. The food was good, but reasonably priced. the decor in our room was a little shabby, but clean. An old building with a delightful ambience.
5 out of 5
by Penny

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels
It was a delight to stay in a hotel with so much character - unlike many that are available these days. The service was excellent and the owners and staff delightful. Their restuarant is without doubt the best I have been to for many a long while - definitely heading back there.