Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NW England

think twice

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Location OK
Even though we booked in advance we were allocated a garet bedroom without a fan or AC on a very hot day. We asked for a meal in the evening but were told ,NO go into town.After this treatment we choose not to take breakfast here . As this is one of the best hotels in Loches we will choose somewhere else next time. We asked for a better room but were told that there was only a worse one
5 out of 5
by Vicky

Great location, charming hotel, good restaurant

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
We love this hotel, we've stayed many times- though some parts are 'shabby chic'. Restaurant is excellent and the staff were very efficient and friendly though the restaurant was very busy with most people arriving for dinner at the same time. Location excellent, in the pretty medieval part of Loches. Very close to the castle and good restaurants and interesting shops, open till 7pm and a great Saturday morning market.
4 out of 5
by Delia

Hotel with character in centre of beautiful town

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
This was a pretty hotel with character on the river bank. The room was hot (it was July!) but he upgraded us for no extra cost. The service was good and the host went out of his way for us, though we were expecting to eat in the restaurant, which was closed on that evening (Friday) This wasn't clear from the website, which said only closed in the winter. Overall, I would stay again; Loches is a lovely place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Individual hotel with a lot of character

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Dining in the restaurant with views of the river outside. The meal was good if not brilliant. Excellent breakfast.
Location: Location in the middle of town - fortunately it showed up on our Satnav. Handy for visiting the castle and church. Car park just around the corner
First point to make is, as other reviews have said, there is no lift. The stone spiral staircase is actually very difficult to navigate, particularly up to the 2nd floor, where the steps are narrow and irregular. I would certainly not recommend this hotel for anyone who has mobility problems. Once we got up there, the room was quite large, and comfortable, with views over the rooftops towards the castle.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

Historic hotel for visiting the town

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
One thing people should be aware of is that the hotel has a spiral staircase and no lift. The hotel meals are very expensive (so we can't comment on the quality). A quaint hotel well located for visiting the town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Central hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Urgent need of updating otherwise a comfortable stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stop in an historic place

Posted May 12, 2016
Good stop but a struggle up spiral stairs with heavy bags. We had an excellent evening meal from the formula menu -good value and a good buffet breakfast. Located near historic old part of town. The Expedia booking system did not make it clear that all pament would be on check-in at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by Susan from hillsdale, nj

Never on toussaint

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
The steps in this 15th century house were twisty and difficult to climb. We were there November 1, toussaint and their restaurant was closed. Their breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by Jehan from Polegate

Basic

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Basic rooms need updating. Front door was locked till 5 pm. and there was no one at reception. No light in the front entrance so had to find key lock in the dark after returning from dinner at 8 pm. Dining room good. Breakfast could have been better for the price charged.
3 out of 5
by Alan from Monpazier

Fair value

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
On the positive side: this hotel is close to the old centre of Loches, free parking is only a few metres away, the staff were very polite and the room was clean and comfortable. On the negative side: we could hear someone snoring in an adjacent room, so the sound insulation is less than perfect, and the wifi connection dropped out a couple of times, which was inconvenient but not catastrophic. Overall we would rate this hotel as fair value for money.