Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Bad booking

Posted Aug 13, 2016
We arrived after having our booking confirmed for a late arrival and found ourselves locked out as there were no staff available to let us in and had to sleep in the car. Don't know why the booking was confirmed if they weren't going to be there and to make it worse it was paid for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely country hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: superb location, dog friendly
friendly staff, comfortable rooms, good food, plenty of places to sit and have a drink or a chat Dog friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Helpful and friendly staff....even went out of way to sort a meal for me after i missed closing time
Location: Lochgilphead is about 2 mile down road, if you need to do laundry you can wash and dry at the caravan park, Oban is 35 mile away ,ferries to islands
Stayed here as it was a last minute booking and nothing else available, it was within driving distance as to what i neededto do and wished to see , locals extremely friendly and helpful, after a big day of sightseeing and driving it is an alright place to sleep
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Lincs

Easy access to Crinan canal.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Easy accessible to our onward journey.
Cons: More staff on duty.
Location: Walking easy. Canal nearby. Plenty of woodland walks. Wildlife nearby. Plenty to explore in nature. Quiet and peaceful.
Easy access and good views of Crinan canal.4 miles + return journey both ways . Easy walking. Staff welcoming and polite, but always seem to be short staffed. ONly appear to have one chef, even on Sunday's. Waiters/waitress double up as check in. Rooms clean . Food good but not cheap. On a return visit. Will return again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Rather tired old friend but with services very much intact
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Watch for dog costs

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Hotel wasn't exactly clean in the room. We had notified the proprietor that we were bringing our dog only to charged £30 because our dog was said to be molting which caused hair to be on the bedclothes. She did have her own bed. My wife strongly wished to challenge this however I had received bad news about my poorly father and had no fight. Apart from that the rest of the staff whilst overworked due to lack of staff were nice and the food also. Blocked plugs in the room so to challenge you to charge anything. Watch for the extras dog lovers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Great location

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: we had a twin room and the beds were a little small
Location: Picturesque area. Suitable for touring and walking.
Staff very friendly and welcoming. Food very good. Rooms decent. Would be happy to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Cons: Breakfast
Staff excellent. Dinner was lovely both nights but i would not rush back for a breakfast though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a lovely area. Well worth a visit.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Great food and lots of veggie options.
Cons: Better pillows.
Good walks nearby. Nice cycling path along side of canal.
2 out of 5
by Clare from North Yorkshire, UK

Poor value for money, very impersonal.

Posted Apr 10, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Old uncomfortable bed. No hot water out of tap in morning. Poor service
Location: Hotel in good location, our room not good at all.
Room was very cold, beds very uncomfortable to the point I could not sleep. Needs a refurb Long way up to the stairs with no offer of help with our baggage. No personal touches. Felt like we were placed in a little used attic room and yet the rest of the hotel obviously not full. At breakfast we were not allowed to sit at a sunny table despite the empty dining room. Felt the hotel very over priced for the service and standard we received. Stayed in a B and B the following night for half the price and twice the service. Really disappointed and wish we had gone elsewhere.