Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The boat house was a great gathering spot and nice to relax in after a day of touring around the area
Location: The location is back of the main road. In the area is Oban, Kilmartin Cairns, Dunadd. The estate itself would be wonderful to explore.
This estate was brilliant. One of our favourites on our trip. The grounds where great to walk, unfortunately we missed the salmon fishing but next time we stay here, we will make sure we save time to do this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Burlington Canada

Amazing 500 acre estate, with centuries of history

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: The location on a country estate with 100's of acres of forest fields, wild game with a history dating back over 500 years, and a superb host is great
Cons: Nothing needed improvement!
Location: Great location to base sightseeing trips and hiking outings to the many lakes, historic canal and other attractions in the area, or just kick back!
The location is about 3 miles of the main road and first reaction is you are on the wrong road and then you reach the long drive up into a secluded period home on a large estate and go wow! Ross was there to greet and show us our well furnished room and the 'standalone' breakfast buildings with a fireplace great furniture and an honour bar for socializing with other guests and enjoying some music. Great choices by dinner within 5 - 10 minutes by car and the option of a night cap or two at Kirnan House after dinner with no driving involved. The Breakfast was amazing with fresh baked bread made each morning and eggs bacon and venison sausage ALL from the estate! A real treat and unique B& B experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ards Peninsular NI

Unique Rural Escape

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: It's a couple of miles off the main road, but just a ten minute drive to good bars and restaurants, ideal area for walking, fishing and shooting.
Very relaxing home from home atmosphere in a beautiful setting. The Duke of Argyll's old hunting lodge surrounded by lovely gardens and woods, comfortable rooms, great breakfast prepared by the excellent host. We were very reluctant to leave and can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Posted Sep 22, 2015
The owner was very pleasant and helpful, letting us use his telephone to contact our next B&B in England. Great breakfast with a very wide range of choices and freshly baked bread. Great surroundings and views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Quick nip up the west coast for a few days.

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Kirnan would be a great place for a longer stay if you want to check out archaeological stuff nearby. Host is a lovely man. Chickens and livestock would be so much fun for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch NZ.

Lovely setting. Set amongst farmland.

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Nice people which makes all the difference. Comfortable. Wifi didn't work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Very pleasant stay in a beautiful setting. Ancient sites nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Unique B&B in its own large estate

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Its uniqueness.
Location: Beautiful location in a highland glen. Good eating places within a few miles. excellent location for exploring the Kintyre peninsular.
A little difficult to find, along a quiet country road,but well worth the effort.A warm welcome from the owners with lots of advice about local facilities. Large,comfortable room with jacuzzi bath but personally we would have preferred a shower. A special feature of this accommodation is the large estate (600 acres) on which it is sited and the freedom to wander around and explore the estate. Breakfast is wholesome, making use of local produce e,g, fresh eggs from the hens that run around the farm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

An Overnight

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Quiet remote location, beautiful grounds, comfortable room
Cons: Took five minutes to find someone on arrival, poor welcoming and didn't receive much information about the accommodation
My wife and I were in Lochgilphead for the JoLoMo and selected Kirnan House following excellent reviews on Expedia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Base for Kilmartin

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Very well sited for the prehistoric sites around Kilmartin. Lovely place run by very nice people. Prices very reasonable for the standard of accommodation, especially as you have access to the extensive estate surrounding. Highly recommended.